Instrument transposition

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Balka59
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:13 pm
Contact:

Instrument transposition

Post by Balka59 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:28 am

Hello,

I found how to use other languages than english for instrument names, but the transposition is always shown with english note names, so in italian the Eb Horn would appear as "Corno in Eb" that is quite awful, because in italian "E" is not a note.

Is there a way to edit the instrument name to obtain a more correct "Corno in Mib"?

Thank you in advance
Carlo

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3775
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Instrument transposition

Post by MarcLarcher » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:32 pm

I don't think so. Localization is not finished at all, I have written some reports about that for French localization, and I must say I'm happy that my clients did not complain about that. I know it will be fixed in due course, so no offense to my favorite Dorico's team!
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17109
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument transposition

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:26 am

Unfortunately there is still a lot of work left for us to do on staff labelling, which includes correct handling of transpositions in the chosen language.

User avatar
David Tee
Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Instrument transposition

Post by David Tee » Tue Mar 31, 2020 12:25 pm

Is it possible to show Instrument Transpositions along with Full Names on the first page, and only Abbreviated Names (i.e. No Instrument Transpositions) on subsequent pages?
• Dorico 3.1.1, Cubase 10.5.5
MacPro (mid 2012), 64 GB Ram, OSX 10.14.6, Stream Deck + Notation Express, Metagrid 1.5

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17109
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument transposition

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:22 pm

Yes, there are separate options for whether the instrument transposition should be included in full and abbreviated staff labels, on the Staves and Systems page of Layout Options.

User avatar
David Tee
Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:54 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Instrument transposition

Post by David Tee » Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:34 pm

My apologies Daniel - I must have looked that page four or five times. Menu blindness.
• Dorico 3.1.1, Cubase 10.5.5
MacPro (mid 2012), 64 GB Ram, OSX 10.14.6, Stream Deck + Notation Express, Metagrid 1.5

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests