Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:15 am

I recently upgraded to the new Macbook Pro with the latest OS. Now even though my other audio programs don't seem to have a problem finding the headphone output, for some reason often times Wavelab plays out of the laptop speakers and doesn't even see the headphone output. This is regardless of if I have other DAWs running or if I stop and restart wavelab. I'm going to go reboot my computer now and see if that helps...
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:28 am

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 10.27.26 PM.png
(848.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Wow-yeah...ok, this is totally messed up now. Wavelab is not seeing the headphone output anymore. All the other programs (Cubase, PT, Ableton, etc, etc) see the headphone output and I can switch to it. I plugged in my Babyface Pro and it recognizes that and lets me switch to that, but "Built In Audio" only has the stereo output for the speakers. Even if I have the system preferences set to headphones it's not changing.
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:47 am

No clue huh? Well right now I'm using Loopback to route my audio from wavelab directly to my headphones to be able to work...

Does anyone know if I completely reinstall Wavelab will I lose my presets (like Master section preset)?
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by PG » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:54 am

You should use this procedure, I think:
https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... vice-OS-X-
Philippe

mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:47 am

PG wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:54 am
You should use this procedure, I think:
https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... vice-OS-X-
Sorry for the confusion. I'm not trying to create an aggregate device. I'm trying to use the built in headphone output on the mac. Wavelab is for some reason not switching to the headphone anymore. I am using Loopback as a workaround because of this issue.

EDIT: ok, I guess the new Macs handle the audio differently and have the two different outputs as independent out, so indeed the solution people are having to do is create an aggregate device.

Specifically, you need to set it up like I am in the picture-by putting the headphones first followed by the speakers. Then when the headphones are not plugged in it will default to speakers but when plugged in the speakers won't play.
Screen Shot 2019-08-18 at 3.18.06 PM.png
(703.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by PG » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:38 am

Sorry for the confusion. I'm not trying to create an aggregate device. I'm trying to use the built in headphone output on the mac.
I was told some people in the same situation as you, had to go through this aggregate device procedure.
Philippe

mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:06 am

PG wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:38 am

I was told some people in the same situation as you, had to go through this aggregate device procedure.
I do want to be sure you understand that there is still a specifically Wavelab issue. Wavelab is not seeing the Headphone as a separate audio output. In all my other DAWs I can see the separate output. So while creating an aggregate device facilitates the switching, there is no way for me to NOT use an aggregate device and use headphones in Wavelab while in every other DAW I can do that. I hope that makes sense.

Ableton:
Ableton.png
(55.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase:
Cubase.png
(564.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Pro Tools:
Protools.png
(402.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

mbira
Member
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab doesn't switch to headphones automatically with new MBP

Post by mbira » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:06 am

Wavelab (no ability to choose headphones):
Wavelab.png
(237.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests