FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by MikeWK » Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:05 pm

I like WL9, but I hate it when I'm doing surround. I miss a lot of things that WL6 has (DVD-A with menus etc.). But WL6 cannot do FLAC export.

So I thought it would be a good idea to load WL6 montages into WL9. This works if you erase all text & picture tracks and
resave your montage in V9 format. The project I'm actually working has 2.0 and 5.1. I use two montage sets.

In WL9 I could export stereo FLAC, 24 bit, everything is fine without metadata. Although there is a lot of information in the montage,
marker named and so on there are no tags written. Ok, I do it manually (costs some time).

But: If I export the 5.1 montage to FLAC, it is only stereo. I've chosen "Multichannel"!
Ok, here is the workaround: export the files as multichannel WAV and convert them externally (costs a lot of time again, because is did not work with 24 bit actually).

This is bothering and makes me sometimes :evil: .

The good thing is, I could finish my work using some workarounds.

PS: Using WL 9.1. I would update for more surround capabilities.
SW: Cubase 9 (9.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 9 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 32GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by MikeWK » Sat Mar 02, 2019 8:53 pm

The good thing is, I could finish my work using some workarounds.
Unfortunatley my workaround does not work correctly. No one else having this problem? :?: :?: :?:
SW: Cubase 9 (9.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 9 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 32GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by bob99 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:08 pm

MikeWK wrote:
Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:05 pm
Ok, here is the workaround: export the files as multichannel WAV and convert them externally (costs a lot of time again, because is did not work with 24 bit actually).
PS: Using WL 9.1. I would update for more surround capabilities.
I agree Wavelab should support this, but, in the meantime:

What part of your workaround doesn't work? Something to do with 24 bit? If it has to do with 32f, FLAC doesn't support floating point afaik.

Foobar, MediaHuman, Wave Agent, and Audacity all convert 5.1 multichannel WAV to multichannel FLAC, with or without metadata, if I recall correctly (I might be mistaken about one or another). And they're all Free.

Or, you have Cubase and Nuendo. Do they not do this convert?
Last edited by bob99 on Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by bob99 » Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:51 am

bob99 wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:08 pm
Foobar, MediaHuman, Wave Agent, and Audacity all convert 5.1 multichannel WAV to multichannel FLAC, with or without metadata, if I recall correctly (I might be wrong about one or another). And they're all Free.
I guess I'm wrong about Wave Agent. Not finding a way to convert to FLAC with that. But the others should be fine. MediaHuman and Foobar are especially easy, but Audacity requires an Export settings change in Preferences.

Rat
Member
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by Rat » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:33 am

Could I ask ... out of genuine interest ... what the application for this would be? That is FLAC rather than BWF
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by bob99 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:49 pm

Rat wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:33 am
Could I ask ... out of genuine interest ... what the application for this would be? That is FLAC rather than BWF
Hi Rat. I don't know what MikeWK's specific need is (hopefully he'll describe it), but to me it's more of a "why not", if FLAC is available for stereo, why not multichannel. There are free swiss-army knife programs like Foobar (Windows), XLD (Mac), and MediaHuman (Win and Mac) that convert back and forth nearly every file format and configuration, with automatic (or configurable) tag mapping (!) for all different metadata types, and WAV handling for RIFF and ID3.

Wavelab has an incredible metadata section, but doesn't deal with certain things that have been requested, like full support for AIFF and ALAC metadata and more multichannel support. I just don't understand how these Free programs can handle virtually 'everything', including legacy AIFF and ALAC with metadata which would always be needed for restoration from certain archives, etc. Yet Wavelab can't.

I don't think Wavelab is alone among DAWs in this respect, but even so, these FREE programs do it all somehow.

Rat
Member
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by Rat » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:25 am

bob99 wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:49 pm
I don't think Wavelab is alone among DAWs in this respect, but even so, these FREE programs do it all somehow.
Yes. ProTools, for example offers no support for FLAC ... it won't even import it (requires conversion to BWF). In PT land, it's been suggested that the reason for lack of support generally revolves around legal ramifications to inserting GNU or BSD code into a paid for program. It's not my field.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by bob99 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:05 am

Rat wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:25 am
Yes. ProTools, for example offers no support for FLAC ... it won't even import it (requires conversion to BWF). In PT land, it's been suggested that the reason for lack of support generally revolves around legal ramifications to inserting GNU or BSD code into a paid for program. It's not my field.
Thanks for the info Paul. I didn't know that FLAC, or just anything GNU, was controversial. I thought it was only about MP3.

User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by MikeWK » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:45 pm

Hello everybody, meanwhile I converted my wavs using foobar. I had to configure foobar to 24bit and not autodetect. Audacity can convert wav to flac too? I'll give it a try.

But: everything looks configured right in wavelab, got no warning, it simply does not work correct. This is what I hate. You try hours for hours getting not the result that you expect.

I produced an "old fashioned and outdated" DVD-A from an older project and want to have 4424, 5.1 flacs for media players too.

Because threre is no affordable (and available) solution for making highres and multichannel discs I've to stick with the combination WL6+WL9(+foobar).
But this is a different topic.
SW: Cubase 9 (9.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 9 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 32GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

User avatar
MikeWK
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by MikeWK » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:15 pm

How to configure Audacity for 5.1 output? Seems that it does not work, so I stick with foobar + ASIO.
SW: Cubase 9 (9.5) / Nuendo 8 / Wavelab 9 / Win10-64
HW: i7820X, 32GB RAM, X299 chipset, M2.PCI, SSDs, some HDD drives, GTX1050TI 4GB
Audio: RME UFX; Steinberg Midex8 (Win10: YES it works!)
NI Komplete 8 Ulti., Waves 10, Arturia V, EW-Ghostwriter, Sonnox Broadcast, Eventide & many more

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Multichannel (5.1, Surround) export does not work in WL9.1

Post by bob99 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:27 pm

MikeWK wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:15 pm
How to configure Audacity for 5.1 output? Seems that it does not work, so I stick with foobar + ASIO.
For the conversion part, you might want to try MediaHuman audio converter. It's by far the easiest, it's on Windows and Mac, and it's Free. Easy to convert multiple multichannel wav files with metadata to multichannel flac files with metadata in one go. But no multichannel playback afaik.

Audacity works converting multichannel wav to multichannel flac, but you need to go into the Audacity Preferences first and change the Export preferences so they're not restricted to stereo export. Then convert files one by one I believe, so it's not nearly as easy as Media Human, unless I'm missing something. But you're right, no multichannel playback there either afaik.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest