Page 1 of 1

Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:54 am
by Robin Walsh
I'm thinking of moving onto a Nuage Controller. However, 4 Cue Sends are not enough for band tracking. My question is:

Will Nuendo see the addition of at least another 4 Cue Sends and will the Nuage Controller accommodate this?

If not I will have to look into another solution.

Thanks in advance,
Robin

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:41 pm
by fenderchris
Robin Walsh wrote:I'm thinking of moving onto a Nuage Controller. However, 4 Cue Sends are not enough for band tracking. My question is:

Will Nuendo see the addition of at least another 4 Cue Sends and will the Nuage Controller accommodate this?

If not I will have to look into another solution.

Thanks in advance,
Robin
This has been asked for for years, but is always ignored by Steinberg.

viewtopic.php?f=240&t=83704

viewtopic.php?f=174&t=55134

viewtopic.php?f=186&t=81139

viewtopic.php?f=194&t=28319


..and so on.

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:15 pm
by Robin Walsh
Thanks Chris.

Yip, we've been asking for years.. So, I'll skip the Nuage Controller and spend the money on a Cue system.

Any recommendations for a good Cue system?

Initially I'll add additional outputs and use the Nuendo sends.. Simple, but effective.

Cheers,
Robin

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:22 pm
by fenderchris
Robin Walsh wrote:Thanks Chris.

Yip, we've been asking for years.. So, I'll skip the Nuage Controller and spend the money on a Cue system.

Any recommendations for a good Cue system?

Initially I'll add additional outputs and use the Nuendo sends.. Simple, but effective.

Cheers,
Robin
Naively, I'm still hoping that Steinberg will eventually get it together before I'm too old to care.

Is the Nuage hardware limited, physically, to four sends or would it be configurable to handle more if they existed in Nuendo?

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:38 pm
by Robin Walsh
That's my big question. At the moment there are only Cue Buttons for 4 Cue Sends. I hope this isn't an indicator that they won't add more Cue Sends to Nuendo.

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:15 pm
by fenderchris
Robin Walsh wrote:That's my big question. At the moment there are only Cue Buttons for 4 Cue Sends. I hope this isn't an indicator that they won't add more Cue Sends to Nuendo.
The more I think about it the more certain I am that this is the reason they will not increase the Cue count in Nuendo.

Nuage is their all-singing, all-dancing control surface with full integration with Nuendo, so the users will be pretty ticked off if they cannot access all of the Cue sends in a future Nuendo version due to Nuage limitations.

I've never seen Nuage, but if I understand you correctly, it has only four physical controls for cues. This may indicate that from day one they never had any intention of increasing the number cue sends available in Nuendo!

Maybe Timo could clarify this for us?

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:26 pm
by Dog and Pony
I'm sure it would be easy to add cue sends to Nuage. For example, there are four physical buttons on Nuage for saving your mix setups (dialog, music, SFX, backgrounds) but often I want more. At NAB I brought this up to the Yamaha team and they have since added this ability to Nuage by making use of the 'shift' key; you can now store up to 8 mix configurations. No (apparent) reason they couldn't do the same for cue sends. john.

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:17 am
by fenderchris
Dog and Pony wrote:I'm sure it would be easy to add cue sends to Nuage. For example, there are four physical buttons on Nuage for saving your mix setups (dialog, music, SFX, backgrounds) but often I want more. At NAB I brought this up to the Yamaha team and they have since added this ability to Nuage by making use of the 'shift' key; you can now store up to 8 mix configurations. No (apparent) reason they couldn't do the same for cue sends. john.
That's good to know. It would be a shame if Nuage hardware were to impose limitations on Nuendo development.

All we need now is more cue sends. ;)

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:41 pm
by Robin Walsh
That is good news indeed! Now give us more Cue Sends, please.

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:55 pm
by Dog and Pony
I completely agree, more cue sends are necessary! john.

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:24 am
by XanomalieX
Not only in Music Production it's a Problem!
In times where ISDN/APTX will be killed by the telekom, we need other solutions and in a professionell Studio you have to be comaptible to nearly all of them.

So I have to switch calbes really often, because I use
- Headphone
- APTX
- Source Connect Pro
- Chrome over IP Solutions (Opus Codec)
- VST Connect
- Dante
- Telephone (Client)
- Skype (Client)

So Yes, WE NEED MORE CUES !!!!

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:26 am
by Dog and Pony
Not only in Music Production it's a Problem!
In times where ISDN/APTX will be killed by the telekom, we need other solutions and in a professionell Studio you have to be comaptible to nearly all of them.

So I have to switch calbes really often, because I use
- Headphone
- APTX
- Source Connect Pro
- Chrome over IP Solutions (Opus Codec)
- VST Connect
- Dante
- Telephone (Client)
- Skype (Client)

So Yes, WE NEED MORE CUES !!!!
Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough
Post by Dog and Pony » 31 Jan 2016 22:55

I completely agree, more cue sends are necessary! john.
Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough
Post by Robin Walsh » 31 Jan 2016 14:41

That is good news indeed! Now give us more Cue Sends, please.
Exactly!

Re: Cue Sends.. 4 is not enough

Posted: Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:48 pm
by XanomalieX
Over 4 Years later, this still is a problem!!