Excess space under mixer window

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
HabaNero
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Excess space under mixer window

Post by HabaNero »

Hello,

This has bugged me since 6.5 and it's still present in v7 - when opening a mixer window, there's always extra black space underneath the faders which I cannot get rid off, whether trying to adjust the window or fader height. Is there a way to fix this somehow?

Thanks!
HabaNero

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by MattiasNYC »

I'm not seeing this here.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

HabaNero
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by HabaNero »

This is a quick screen cap of a mixer window I get when pressing F3.
Attachments
Screen-Shot.jpg
(273.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
HabaNero

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2648
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by Fredo »

Strange ...

Fredo

HabaNero
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by HabaNero »

I alternate working on laptop (1650x1050) and studio screen (2560x1440) and do not have any workspace setups, I just scale the project window to fit the screen when working in studio. I don't know if this could be the issue, but I still think this black area is totally useless, just like it was in v6.5.

Funny thing - if I change the F3 key command to another mixer window, it'll open looking and behaving just right. But if I remember correctly, visiting the other screen will corrupt this window and it'll end up having this black area underneath. I have now corrupted two mixers. MixConsole 3 looks fine now, but probably not when I visit the studio. And the windows will retain this behaviour regardless of project.

Any ideas?

Btw, this is Yosemite OSX, Nuendo 7.0.20 with NEK.
HabaNero

kendalosborne
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by kendalosborne »

Weird...Didn't happen to me on 6.5 or 7. I can see where this would be very annoying. How are your screens set up? Are they both plugged in at the same time and you're just alternating with a command or program? Correct me if I'm wrong but that black bar might look like the difference between 1050 and 1440...just a few hundred pixels. Eh?
Kendal Osborne
Engineer / Mixer
Recording Lounge Podcast Host
Guinness Drinker

Windows 10 64 Bit / Intel i9 4GHz PC / 32GB
Nuendo 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 / Pro Tools / Cubase

HabaNero
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by HabaNero »

In the studio, I want to get further away from my laptop because of the noise and only use it lid closed via thunderbolt cable to external screen. So, it's not a dual screen setup, there's only one screen with higher res.

Now that you mention it, the black area looks the like vertical pixel difference between resolutions. But all the other windows, like project window or mediabay scale properly, there are no extra empty pixels. So why MixConsole gets so confused? A bug?

While waiting for possible patch, could this be avoided by creating a special workspaces for both resolutions or are they only used for placements of windows, with no reset on sizing or anomalies like this black area? I haven't used workspaces really much at all.

Happy to hear any suggestions to try out next!
HabaNero

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 929
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by Luis Dongo »

Hi HabaNero,

try this and see if it helps:

- Open your MixConsole
- Press the "Alt" key on your keyboard and keep pressing it
- Click on the "Funtions Menu" button on the upper right corner (still pressing Alt)
- Lastly click on "Reset MixConsole Window"

Does that work?

Regards
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

HabaNero
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Excess space under mixer window

Post by HabaNero »

That does it, now it looks just like it should! Big thanks for helping out!
HabaNero

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest