new iMac Pro - can I run N7 on this?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
goodbyenine
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:10 pm
Contact:

new iMac Pro - can I run N7 on this?

Post by goodbyenine » Wed Dec 20, 2017 2:44 pm

My topic is the question.

I would really value an official position on this from Steinberg. I need to move my studio forwards (and I am not considering going PC) and there is an opportunity with he new iMac Pro.

I am sticking with N7 at the moment. I see the new 7.1.40 is ready.

The new iMac Pro presumably comes with High Sierra installed. No way to go back to anything earlier.

Can Nuendo 7 (or 8 for that matter) run on this? What issues might I expect to face?

Steinberg, please answer this. I need authoritative information not speculation of guesses please.

Thx.
Late Mac Tower based studio (10.8.5) with N6.5 and 2nd N6.5 (10.8.5), RME Madi via 648, Nanoclock, M3000 x 4 Ext FX, Video via BM Decklink on MP, composition workstation Single Hexacore MP. Sync: MMC N6.5>N6.5. VE Pro 5 always online via slaves. UK TV Music production at 25fps 48k at all times. Softriad Raid management. Powercore 4 running via VE Pro slave, Altiverb hosted on slave as bank of Ext FX. Waves and other plugins. Kontakt 5 central to workflow.

JoshCk
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: new iMac Pro - can I run N7 on this?

Post by JoshCk » Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:40 pm

Looks like they're still going through testing. I could be wrong though as there isn't a date stamp on the page.

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... patibility

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: new iMac Pro - can I run N7 on this?

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:09 pm

Well, if you fancy rotating fans and (possibly) hard drives next to your ears, I do not see why it should not work.... :lol:
Seriously, if you want to concentrate on what you hear this thing is pretty much useless in an audio post workflow imho.
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, PT HD 11, macOS 10.13

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest