Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mapped")

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
drmq
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mapped")

Post by drmq »

This is possible in other hosts such as Ableton or Cantabile and IMHO an absolute killer for those making live music (to slow down loops and so). It would also speed up recordings for those doing everything from a MIDI keyboard (how often do we change the click tempo when we record a new song?!). This would save us precious time. Please make that happen!
Last edited by drmq on Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Minimalist
Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow BPM to be MIDI-mapped

Post by Minimalist »

Cubase does this. Put tracks in "musical mode."

drmq
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow BPM to be MIDI-mapped

Post by drmq »

Minimalist wrote:Cubase does this. Put tracks in "musical mode."
I forgot to add "in Real-time" and it is probably clearer if I put it as "tap tempo". A use case would be: the band is playing something, you sequenced something in cubase and now you want to play it live. Instead of forcing the band to match your click, use MIDI to tap tempo to set the bpm and then click play.

As far as I know, tracks in Musical Mode don't allow you to do this, or I am wrong?

It is almost the same as this request but with emphasis on allowing MIDI to tap tempo. (When you are playing drums you don't want to be messing with a space bar...)

rob61
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by rob61 »

I totally agree, I am trying to get a simple solution within Cubase to start a song just by tapping on my foot switch (connected to a midi controller). But,unfortunately, it is not possible. Cubase pro (?) does not support this (so far I know). I will push steinberg to come with a solution. It will make live with Cubase so much more easy.
Cubase 9.5.30, UR44, Yamaha MOXF6, Yamaha P120, Yamaha Dx7s, Korg M1, Hammond XM1, Korg Tacktile,

rob61
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by rob61 »

Thanx for all your replies. But until now it is not possible to get starting Cubase by tapping your footswitch. But, it has been put on the software wish list. So, maybe available in the next version.
Cubase 9.5.30, UR44, Yamaha MOXF6, Yamaha P120, Yamaha Dx7s, Korg M1, Hammond XM1, Korg Tacktile,

drmq
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by drmq »

rob61 wrote:Thanx for all your replies. But until now it is not possible to get starting Cubase by tapping your footswitch. But, it has been put on the software wish list. So, maybe available in the next version.
Thanks for pushing it Rob. If they added just this, I would already buy the upgrade!

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1830
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by suntower »

??????

There are transport commands for Stop, Play, StartStop, Record which can be mapped via G/R to a footswitch. I've been doing it for 10 years with MIDI drums.

But as to the original request, this is related to my recent post on Jog Wheel AND on my 'Annual Request' for a VariSpeed. (Plus about a dozen other posts.)

The idea of all these requests is that one should be able to speed up/slow down the tempo of a CPR (AND individual clips) in real time using some sort of controller gizmo or automation.

Personally, I'd like to see something akin to a tempo envelope on each Event. Doesn't need to be complicated. Just a way to accelerate or spin down. If I needed anything more complex, I'd slice the event and manipulate each clip individually.

---JC
rob61 wrote:Thanx for all your replies. But until now it is not possible to get starting Cubase by tapping your footswitch. But, it has been put on the software wish list. So, maybe available in the next version.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
Minimalist
Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by Minimalist »

suntower wrote:??????

There are transport commands for Stop, Play, StartStop, Record which can be mapped via G/R to a footswitch. I've been doing it for 10 years with MIDI drums.

But as to the original request, this is related to my recent post on Jog Wheel AND on my 'Annual Request' for a VariSpeed. (Plus about a dozen other posts.)

The idea of all these requests is that one should be able to speed up/slow down the tempo of a CPR (AND individual clips) in real time using some sort of controller gizmo or automation.

Personally, I'd like to see something akin to a tempo envelope on each Event. Doesn't need to be complicated. Just a way to accelerate or spin down. If I needed anything more complex, I'd slice the event and manipulate each clip individually.

---JC
rob61 wrote:Thanx for all your replies. But until now it is not possible to get starting Cubase by tapping your footswitch. But, it has been put on the software wish list. So, maybe available in the next version.
suntower wrote:??????

There are transport commands for Stop, Play, StartStop, Record which can be mapped via G/R to a footswitch. I've been doing it for 10 years with MIDI drums.

But as to the original request, this is related to my recent post on Jog Wheel AND on my 'Annual Request' for a VariSpeed. (Plus about a dozen other posts.)

The idea of all these requests is that one should be able to speed up/slow down the tempo of a CPR (AND individual clips) in real time using some sort of controller gizmo or automation.

Personally, I'd like to see something akin to a tempo envelope on each Event. Doesn't need to be complicated. Just a way to accelerate or spin down. If I needed anything more complex, I'd slice the event and manipulate each clip individually.

---JC
rob61 wrote:Thanx for all your replies. But until now it is not possible to get starting Cubase by tapping your footswitch. But, it has been put on the software wish list. So, maybe available in the next version.

User avatar
Minimalist
Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Realtime MIDI tap tempo (was "Allow BPM to be MIDI-mappe

Post by Minimalist »

I would like and would use a tempo envelope for each part. For me midi would be more important than audio.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests