Channel visibility option to include new tracks

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
Jeera
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:04 pm
Contact:

Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by Jeera »

It would be very handy to have a preference to give the option of automatically adding new tracks to pre-existing visibility presets.

Currently the behavior is visibility presets in the arranger do not include new tracks added AFTER the visibility preset was created. Conversely, visibility presets in the mixer include ALL new tracks added after the visibility preset was created.

Perhaps I should call it inheritance? If I have a folder called 'drums' and an arranger visibility preset called 'drums only' with that folder flagged as visible, we should have the option that the contents of that folder are automatically included in said visibility preset even if the contents were created after the visibility preset. Conversely, a mixer visibility preset called 'drums only' should ONLY show the contents of the 'drums' folder that is flagged as visible.

Even though I've created a template with folders and visibility presets for different types of tracks (bass, drums, synths, etc) I have to do a lot of clicking for the visibility agents to work well. Select the mixer preset, deselect all the new tracks I don't want, update the preset. Select the arranger preset, select all the new tracks i DO want, update the preset. If the visibility presets were more intelligent about handling folders, no extra clicking would be needed as both the arrangement and mixer visibility presets would automatically update.

zygmunt
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by zygmunt »

+1

Visibility works OK, until you start adding new tracks after you've already set up your visibility groups...
Cubase Pro 8.5.15
Mac Pro 2013 Xeon 6 core
Yosemite 10.10.5

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by mozizo »

+1 ..
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by indiescore »

+1. Well said , as it functions now it's useless , especially in a professional work environment
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by claesbjo »

+1 , it´s a mystery why such an obvious function is not there already
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by giankam »

++++++1
In my opinion this is essential for a clean workflow.
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by giankam »

Anybody knows if this has been changed/fixed in C8.5?

Many thanks
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by JHP »

Is this what you mean?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[FR] Newly created tracks should not be added to the existing visibility preset

1. Create 4 Audio Tracks "a, b, c, d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "abcd"
2. Hide track "c, d"
3. Create Visibility Preset called "ab"
4. Add two tracks "e, f"
5. Select the visibility preset "ab"
Problem: Even though you select the "ab" preset still the tracks "e" and "f" are shown in the preset.

The feature request implyes that the tracks "e" and "f" are not added to the visibility preset. So when you select the visibility preset "ab" the newly added tracks "e" and "f" should again disappear and you should only see track "a" and "b".
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

We will investigate.

Greetings,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by giankam »

Hi Jan,

my problem with c8 is the following:

1. Create "Drums" folder: that includes tracks "a,b,c,d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "Drums"
3. Create a new track "e" inside "Drums" folder
4. Create a new track "f" outside "Drums" folder
5. Select the visibility preset "drums"
Problem: all I see is "abcd" and "f".

What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"

Any suggestion?

I know I could update the visibility preset with the new track but dealing with very busy projects this is something I can't handle and I'd like the software to update the presets for me.

JHP wrote:Is this what you mean?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[FR] Newly created tracks should not be added to the existing visibility preset

1. Create 4 Audio Tracks "a, b, c, d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "abcd"
2. Hide track "c, d"
3. Create Visibility Preset called "ab"
4. Add two tracks "e, f"
5. Select the visibility preset "ab"
Problem: Even though you select the "ab" preset still the tracks "e" and "f" are shown in the preset.

The feature request implyes that the tracks "e" and "f" are not added to the visibility preset. So when you select the visibility preset "ab" the newly added tracks "e" and "f" should again disappear and you should only see track "a" and "b".
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

We will investigate.

Greetings,
JHP
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by JHP »

Thanks for your Input :)
giankam wrote:Hi Jan,

my problem with c8 is the following:

1. Create "Drums" folder: that includes tracks "a,b,c,d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "Drums"
3. Create a new track "e" inside "Drums" folder
4. Create a new track "f" outside "Drums" folder
5. Select the visibility preset "drums"
Problem: all I see is "abcd" and "f".

What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"

Any suggestion?

I know I could update the visibility preset with the new track but dealing with very busy projects this is something I can't handle and I'd like the software to update the presets for me.
You repro conclusion is not correct....
Problem: all I see is "abcd" and "f".
What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"
Should state
"Problem: all I see is "abcde" and "f".
What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

giankam
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by giankam »

Yes exactly as you wrote.
In my case I'd love to have a folder visibility preset so that I can tie a preset to one or multiple folders instead of tracks.
JHP wrote:Thanks for your Input :)
giankam wrote:Hi Jan,

my problem with c8 is the following:

1. Create "Drums" folder: that includes tracks "a,b,c,d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "Drums"
3. Create a new track "e" inside "Drums" folder
4. Create a new track "f" outside "Drums" folder
5. Select the visibility preset "drums"
Problem: all I see is "abcd" and "f".

What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"

Any suggestion?

I know I could update the visibility preset with the new track but dealing with very busy projects this is something I can't handle and I'd like the software to update the presets for me.
You repro conclusion is not correct....
Problem: all I see is "abcd" and "f".
What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"
Should state
"Problem: all I see is "abcde" and "f".
What I would like to see is "abcde" and no "f"
I7 3930k | Asus P9X79 | Fireface UFX | 32 GB DDR3 | Win 7 64 | Cubase 8.51 64 | UAD OCTO | Asus GT 750 4GB

User avatar
da10us
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by da10us »

I did buy v8 because of the visibility option. From the start it didn't work as expected:

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 28&t=78714

I found a workaround with the PLE, but it only works with Rack Instruments (nowadays also a known bug).
|i7-6800K|Win10 pro x64|Cubase Pro 9.5.41|Vienna Ensemble Pro 6|RME Fireface UC|UAD2 Octo|

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by Puma0382 »

JHP wrote:Is this what you mean?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[FR] Newly created tracks should not be added to the existing visibility preset

1. Create 4 Audio Tracks "a, b, c, d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "abcd"
2. Hide track "c, d"
3. Create Visibility Preset called "ab"
4. Add two tracks "e, f"
5. Select the visibility preset "ab"
Problem: Even though you select the "ab" preset still the tracks "e" and "f" are shown in the preset.

The feature request implyes that the tracks "e" and "f" are not added to the visibility preset. So when you select the visibility preset "ab" the newly added tracks "e" and "f" should again disappear and you should only see track "a" and "b".
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

We will investigate.

Greetings,
JHP
+1
Hoping some good comes from this..!
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by indiescore »

JHP wrote:Is this what you mean?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
[FR] Newly created tracks should not be added to the existing visibility preset

1. Create 4 Audio Tracks "a, b, c, d"
2. Create Visibility Preset called "abcd"
2. Hide track "c, d"
3. Create Visibility Preset called "ab"
4. Add two tracks "e, f"
5. Select the visibility preset "ab"
Problem: Even though you select the "ab" preset still the tracks "e" and "f" are shown in the preset.

The feature request implyes that the tracks "e" and "f" are not added to the visibility preset. So when you select the visibility preset "ab" the newly added tracks "e" and "f" should again disappear and you should only see track "a" and "b".
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

We will investigate.

Greetings,
JHP


Hi Jan, any progress on this issue? In another post I have suggested options, add new track to current visibility project configuration only, add new track to all visibility project configurations , or add new track to project only ( will not show in any visibility configuration but will always show at top of project until added to a visibilty configuration like the tempo track for example )
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

Cuzzin Chizzy
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by Cuzzin Chizzy »

+1

Definitely a feature I would use all the time if implemented with ease of use in mind.

New tracks being added to all configurations ruins this otherwise awesome idea.

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Channel visibility option to include new tracks

Post by indiescore »

Cuzzin Chizzy wrote:+1

Definitely a feature I would use all the time if implemented with ease of use in mind.

New tracks being added to all configurations ruins this otherwise awesome idea.

Yeah let's bump this thread,however the thread
title is confusing...... I don't understand how a feature advertised as track visibilty, doesn't save the integrity of the visibilty setting when a new track is added to a project.

For example if I add a violin midi track in my orchestra visibilty setting, the violin track appears in all 8 visibilty settings......not as advertised please fix .
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests