Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
dmbaer
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by dmbaer » Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:54 pm

+1
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5442
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Centralmusic » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:28 pm

+ 1 !
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4000
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by raino » Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:06 pm

peakae wrote:Ehh i did not see anything regarding renaming in any post.
Anyhow I would really like another column beside the plugin name, call it "alias" and any name in this would be used, if left empty the original name gets used.
That would make it easy to view original names and the new ones at the same time, and make it easier to come up with new names that haven't been used already.
Yes, like this
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Simon Barden
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Simon Barden » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:57 am

+1
I am 'Wonks' on the SoS forum. i7 PC, 16B RAM, 3 x SSDs Win 10, Cubase pro 8.5.15. 2 x UAD2 PCIe Quad cards. MOTU Traveller Firewire.

Frozenwave
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Frozenwave » Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:06 pm

peakae wrote:Anyhow I would really like another column beside the plugin name, call it "alias" and any name in this would be used, if left empty the original name gets used.
Nice idea !

RealRaven2000
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by RealRaven2000 » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:55 am

+1 by me and here is another place where it is annoying:

Image

either manage the "aliases" separately or add some rule to abbreviate differently. e.g. have the ellipses at the end instead of the middle:

Roomworks... instead of Roomw...SE
AIRMulti-C.. insteadf AIRMul...64
AIRMulti-D.. insteadf AIRMul...64

at least I get a chance to see whether I am dealing with Chorus or Delay :)
Cubase 9.5 Pro | Win 7 | i7 6700 Quad Core | MSI B150A MS-7978 | 16 GB DDR4-2133 | Steinberg UR824 | M-Audio Delta 1010 | nVidia GeForce GTX 960
Using mainly Waves / iZotope / FabFilter / IK-Multimedia Plugins.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by mozizo » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:50 pm

+1
can help a lot .. in my case its T-racks for every plugin by ik-multimedia
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by cinematree » Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:22 am

+1 Yes please
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

beerbong
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by beerbong » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:41 am

As well to change the search strings.. I have some plugins that won't show up if I type the 'logical' name.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by folkfreak » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:54 am

Blackout wrote:good news! now that Guillermo from $teinberg has posted that they are going to listen to us, the users, it means that this function will be finished and this will be done apparently by the end of Jan!

nice work Guillermo and thank you! now...over to you...we are waiting...
Nothing but hot air, as usual.

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by atze100 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:59 am

+1
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Loop Breaker
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:52 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Loop Breaker » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:31 pm

+1

I've started, inadvertently, a 2nd thread for this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=228&t=102131

Best Regards

User avatar
sidfrancis
Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by sidfrancis » Thu Sep 29, 2016 6:49 am

+1
Liebe ist das Zentrum der Musik. Ist keine Liebe darin handelt es sich um ein Geräusch

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by LarsErik » Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:42 pm

+1

Oh f**k yes. Being able to set a global alias name for a plugin would be so great.
Cubase 10.5 Pro, WaveLab Pro 10, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by jjjooonnn » Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:26 am

+1

User avatar
UaTem
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:01 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by UaTem » Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:07 pm

+1
Regards,
Artem

P.S. My English may not be perfect (but I try really hard)

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests