Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:33 am

Thought I'd start a thread for Eucon users to discuss the features we'd like to see in a future update. I had an Artist Mix/Transport setup for about a year or so and have just replaced it with an Avid S3 which is awesome. Here are my ideas about how it could be even better....

These first two are the ones I would really love to see and would make a MASSIVE difference to the usability of the controller for me especially with big 200 track sessions:

1. Channels hidden in Cubase should not be displayed on the controller. PLEASE if you just do one thing Steinberg, make it this! :)

2. Have the Cubase mixer respond to the S3 nudge/bank buttons so the channels displayed on screen follow those displayed on the controller.

And these are some more which would be nice bonuses:

4. Have the option of changing the Record Arm buttons to control writing automation

3. For a setup with more than 8 faders, spill EQ controls across 16 knobs instead of 8 (so that you have a dedicated ‘Q’ knob for each band and a dedicated ‘Type’ knob instead of having to use the buttons to switch between functions).

6. On the S3, get rid of the level meter on the OLED’s so you can have more space for longer channel names. These meters are redundant because the S3 has it’s own LED meters.

7. Make the control knobs linear i.e. no ‘acceleration’.

Any other Eucon users out there... I'd like to hear your thoughts.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1012
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Sonik » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:01 pm

J-S-Q wrote:
1. Channels hidden in Cubase should not be displayed on the controller. PLEASE if you just do one thing Steinberg, make it this! :)
If you disable the track it gonna be hidden..
MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Studio One 4.5|Protools 2019|Cubase Pro 10.0.30|Wavelab 9.5|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Mon Apr 27, 2015 9:18 pm

Sonik wrote:
J-S-Q wrote:
1. Channels hidden in Cubase should not be displayed on the controller. PLEASE if you just do one thing Steinberg, make it this! :)
If you disable the track it gonna be hidden..
Yes I know that but then the track doesn't play so that's not a solution. I want to be able to quickly recall sets of different tracks that I wish to focus on using Cubase Visibility Configurations and have my controller display the same tracks. You can partially use layouts to achieve something similar to this but it's not anywhere near as flexible/fast/easy as it would be if Steinberg would implement the feature I'm talking about.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Raphie » Tue Apr 28, 2015 8:27 am

You can hide channel classes in the EUCON connector, like midi or outputs, that works fine. Hiding individidual channels is not possible AFAIK, would be nice indeed
I would like a clear EUCON addendum FROM STEINBERG on what EUCON functions have been implemented and what the correct KEY sequences/combinations are to get there. I discover new undocumented things every day.
I also would like to be able to overrule quick control settings with the regular remote control editor settings for VSTi's (this works for VST's)
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

User avatar
ALSTUDIOS
Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by ALSTUDIOS » Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:48 am

Raphie wrote:You can hide channel classes in the EUCON connector, like midi or outputs, that works fine. Hiding individidual channels is not possible AFAIK, would be nice indeed
Hi

Just to chime in....

There is a EUCON function called "Layouts" - at least with the MC Control it works fine.
Use it for Mixdown - GRP'S and FX's. Could be used for Inputs only as well.
Is, unfortunately, not a global set-up, so must be done for ea. project from scratch.
Ea. CH can be allocated separately to ea. fader, as desired. ;)

Cheers
******************************************************************************************
ALSTUDIOS REGENSDORF SWITZERLAND
******************************************************************************************
Win7 PRO 64bit, Cubase PRO 10.0.50 64bit,
audio-solution PC i7 960 4x3.2GHz, 24GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 720, 2GB DDR3, Dual Monitor
RME fireface 800 firewire
AVID Artist Control + Euphonix MC Mix, EuControl v 2019.5.1

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Raphie » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:21 pm

Yes but layouts is for locking channels to faders, not for preventing certain channels to appear on the controller full stop
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:29 pm

Yes, I know and use the Layouts feature but it’s not anywhere NEAR as fast/easy as what I’m talking about.

Here’s an example…

I have a big project, say 200 tracks. I want to focus on 8 of synth tracks that are scattered through the project. If I want to see them all together on my S3 I have to create a layout. This will involve opening EuControl and probably around twenty mouse clicks, scrolling through a list of 200 tracks to find the ones I want. Then I might want to show the same tracks on my Cubase mixer so I have to go and set that up as well. Probably takes about 5 minutes. Then when I’m finished, I have to go back into EuControl and unassign my tracks. By this point I’m way way quicker just using my mouse.


OR…. here’s what I could do if they implemented what I’m talking about.

I can select the MIDI or Audio parts I’m interested in and hit the ’Show Tracks With Selected Events’ key command. And then…. Done! That’s it! One button pressed (or Eucon softkey) and my controller, my Cubase mixer and my arrange page all show the tracks I want to work with and nothing else to get in my way. When I’m finished I can use the ‘Undo Visibility Change’ key command to bring all my tracks back.

5 minutes versus 5 seconds. :) For me personally, this would easily double how useful the controller is.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Raphie » Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:46 am

Agreed, or a simple EUCON SETTING: EUCON follows Cubase mixer
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:54 pm

Raphie wrote:Agreed, or a simple EUCON SETTING: EUCON follows Cubase mixer
Yes that would do the job.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

streamingtheatre
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by streamingtheatre » Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:02 pm

Raphie wrote:Agreed, or a simple EUCON SETTING: EUCON follows Cubase mixer
Yes Yes Yes :D
MacPro: 2,8 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon 5400 I RAM 24 GB PC2-6400 (800 Mhz) I ATI Radeon HD 5770 I OS 10.13.6
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13 Zoll) I 2,9 GHz Intel Core i5 I 16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3 I Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB I OS 10.14.6
RME Fireface UC / Avid Artist Mix&Transport
Cubase Pro 10.5.5 / Wavelab EL8 / Vienna Ensemble Pro 7 / Vienna Instruments Pro / div. VSL Librarys / Pro Tools 18.12 /Eucon 19.9

User avatar
Tomess
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Tomess » Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:12 pm

It's 2015 and still no sync with the mixconsole... :cry:
PC: Intel Core 2 Quad Q 9400 2,6 GHz, 8 GB DDR 2 Ram, Asus P5Q, NVIDIA GeForce 750 GTX
Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Software: Cubase Pro 8.5.2 32 Bit, Cubase Pro 9.0.3 64 Bit, Maschine 2.6.8, FL Studio 12.5, Fabfilter, TDR, NI Komplete 11
Hardware: 2x Motu 24 I/O, 2x Euphonix MC Mix, M-Audio Axiom 61, Akai MPK Mini, NI Maschine MK 2, SPL Iron, SPL PQ, dbx 166 XL, ART Pro Channel, elysia Xpressor,Urei 1176 Clone, Neve 1073 Clone, Sontec MEP-250 Clone, SSL G4000 Clone, Neumann V475 24:2 Summing Amp,
Monitoring: Presonus Monitor Station v2, Eve Audio SC208, Genelec 1030a

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:58 pm

Tomess wrote:It's 2015 and still no sync with the mixconsole... :cry:
PLEEEEEAAASE Steinberg make this happen. I beg you! :)
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by J-S-Q » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:33 am

v8.5 didn't bring us this change but hopefully it will come!
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1012
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Sonik » Thu Jan 21, 2016 2:31 pm

And the bug with mono tracks still remains.. :/
MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Studio One 4.5|Protools 2019|Cubase Pro 10.0.30|Wavelab 9.5|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Raphie » Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:54 am

did find some exciting hidden features using the long button presses:

CHAN (short) - Switch Channel Mode
CHAN (long) - Nothing

INSERTS (short) - VST Inserts
INSERTS (long) - VSTi's !!!! (VSTi Control Editor mapping! use PAGE> to flip through parameters or CHAN to splash out)

EQ (short) - EQ
EQ (long) - Quick Controls!!!!! (use PAGE> to switch from 1-8 or CHAN to splash out)

AUX (short) - Sends
AUX (long) - Nothing

PAN (short) - Balance (use PAGE> Link to link channels)
PAN (long) - Nothing

@Steinberg, why isn't this stuff properly documented anywhere?
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

soundone
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by soundone » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:28 am

We have an S3 ,dock and ipad running on windows 7, with Nuendo 7. But we have found we can only successfully run just the S3. As soon as we attached the Dock and Ipad. We can operate for a while, then we just get random crashes, for no apparent reason. We can be doing nothing, and it (Eucon) crashes. This happens so often. We have written a script to restart Eucon.
If we run just the S3, 1 maybe 2 Eucon crashes a day, which is still to many, but bearable.
Using the latest Eucon software 3.4.1 have updated all firmwares. Pretty sure the Eucon adapter is the latest, can someone confirm what is the latest version of this.
But the problem appears to be with the Dock.But to be honest we don't use them because they hold us back. So much so, they are unplugged sitting in the corner of the room. And unless they are made usable, that is where they will stay.

We have tried having all controllers pass directly through the router, I have tried the dock daisy chaining off the S3 the via a router. We have also tried (pre Ipad) running S3 and Dock (daisy chained) directly off pc ( NO ROUTER).
All work for a while, then Eucon crashes.

The pc is not connected to the internet (Company Policy now) which is going to make updating firmware an issue. Any help on this matter appreciated too. But this was a problem before we were taken of the net.

Is anyone else experiencing these symptoms? Is anyone else running this equipment successfully?
We have 2 systems, identical both the same problem.
Last edited by soundone on Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by Raphie » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:57 pm

I have no crashes with EUCON 3.4 and 2 artists, together with a Transport
I've left them on DHCP as they always get the same IP adress from the router based upon their MAC addresses.
I'm on Win10 Pro.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

soundone
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Eucon Adapter Feature Requests

Post by soundone » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:24 am

We have had Artists controls and we had no problems.
Here are the crashes can anyone understand ????
Eucontrol Crash 1.JPG
(56.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Eucontrol Crash 2.JPG
(57.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet
There is an actual Crash log. I am going to send to Avid. Not allowed to upload here.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests