Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3402
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by jaslan » Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:33 am

Sorry. I have no need for this and don't want to pay the certainly exorbitant price Apple would extract for it.
-1
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by enjneer » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:02 pm

Headlands wrote:Since Cubase is considered a pro application, the ability to import Apple files is a gigantic necessity in a world where literally almost everyone I work with in both the post and the music world are on Macs (I'm in Los Angeles). Yeah there are workarounds, but in an expensive, pro app like Cubase 8 Pro, the ability to import ANY kind of audio file is very highly important.

This has been a longstanding issue...please remedy as soon as possible. Thanks!
+1. I see m4a's on an increasingly frequent basis.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

Niels
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by Niels » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:35 am

+1 I also see m4a files more often.
Cubase 10.5 Pro - Windows 10 (1803) - Intel Core i7-4930K - 32GB RAM - ASUS X79 Deluxe

JohnMcAndrew
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by JohnMcAndrew » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:19 am

+1 Totally agreed, working between Logic and Cubase because of the M4A thing is becoming increasingly more annoying.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3947
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by Prock » Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:55 pm

+1 Maybe this could be offered as a patch purchased through the Steinberg Online Store for those who want it.

The few times I needed it I have used a free "adware" software on my laptop to convert an .mp3 to an .m4a file. Yes, of course the ads suck but... whatever. I have not used it enough (yet) to want to pay for it but if Steinberg offered it for a reasonable price, then yes, I would purchase it.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.10, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Ivan_IGroK
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:54 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by Ivan_IGroK » Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:49 am

+1 and exporting in aac, ac-3 and m4a

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1805
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by suntower » Sat Oct 10, 2015 12:46 am

Just curious: do M4as and AACs require the same software license royalty as MP3? I coulda sworn that while MP3's were owned by Fraunhoefer, AACs were PD.

Although I gotta say... this is the kinda thing that should be in Wavelab and not so much Cubase (WL is still not great at various common imp/exports). And then Cubase users should be able to get a WL-Lite for like $39.95.

I've always wanted WL to be -integrated- into Cubase. Let WL do what it does (file manipulation) and keep Cubase to its core mission.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

IMAWriterRobJ
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by IMAWriterRobJ » Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:03 pm

enjneer wrote:
Headlands wrote:Since Cubase is considered a pro application, the ability to import Apple files is a gigantic necessity in a world where literally almost everyone I work with in both the post and the music world are on Macs (I'm in Los Angeles). Yeah there are workarounds, but in an expensive, pro app like Cubase 8 Pro, the ability to import ANY kind of audio file is very highly important.

This has been a longstanding issue...please remedy as soon as possible. Thanks!
+1. I see m4a's on an increasingly frequent basis.
+1
iMac 2018 I7 Quad Core 4.2 gig processor 32 gig Ram (OS 10.13.6) UA Apollo x8
www.robertjason.com

keyma76
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by keyma76 » Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:31 pm

Hey guys, it's just: we work with Cubasis on Ipad when on tour. Then just export some audio and send it directly to the studio where we work with the bigger brother Cubase Pro 8.5. However, we have - for each file(!) - to open the FREE audio software AUDACITY which is capable of converting the m4a to a WAV-file or whatever. This is really annoying. How come, that an open source tool can do the job, but the so called "pro" software can't? :ugeek:
--
| Cubase 10.5 PRO| 64bit | Windows 8.1 |

bahama
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:44 am
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by bahama » Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:39 pm

I also encounter this problem more often the last couple of years. More and more people record little ideas on their iphone memo recorder which does the job perfectly, but to import that into Cubase is a drag. Dear people at Steinberg, is it really that hard to find a way to include the conversion of m4a files ? This has been adressed quite often now and it's sad that there is no official response yet.

dhyowi
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:25 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by dhyowi » Tue May 31, 2016 3:52 am

I have discovered that m4a files can be opened by using the import audio from video file. There's no need to convert anymore.
AMD A6-3670 16Gb RAM, Dell Inspiron 14" 7447 i5, Windows 10 64bit, Cubase Pro 8.5.3, NI Komplete Audio 6, Korg Triton Le, 01/W Pro

heideldrum
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by heideldrum » Tue May 31, 2016 3:14 pm

dhyowi, you made my day!!! Thank u! It's working!

sdmfdude
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by sdmfdude » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:06 pm

+1
other DAW's can already do this
Cubase 10 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Intel i7 4790k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3 2400MHz RAM, Samsung EVO SSD, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1070, Razer Blackwidow Keyboard, Razer Mamba Mouse, Steinberg UR242, Fractal Audio Axe-FX II XL+, Fractal Audio Axe-FX III

sdmfdude
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:09 pm
Contact:

Import m4a files etc...

Post by sdmfdude » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:09 pm

Please the ability to import m4a files etc..

Other DAW's can already do this.
Cubase 10 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Intel i7 4790k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3 2400MHz RAM, Samsung EVO SSD, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1070, Razer Blackwidow Keyboard, Razer Mamba Mouse, Steinberg UR242, Fractal Audio Axe-FX II XL+, Fractal Audio Axe-FX III

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Import m4a files etc...

Post by peakae » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:56 pm

As someone said in the other thread, Cubase already can.
Use file/import/audio from video file...
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Aussie
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Import M4a, AAC files, etc. VERY much needed!

Post by Aussie » Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:45 am

+1
All it takes is one song to bring back 1000 memories
Mac Pro 2008
MacBook Pro 2012 (16GB)
UR28M
Presonus ERIS E66
Presonus FaderPort
Cubase Artist
Zoom R24
RODE mics
Behringer mixing console...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Import m4a files etc...

Post by -steve- » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:52 pm

dhyowi wrote:I have discovered that m4a files can be opened by using the import audio from video file. There's no need to convert anymore.
This is a very nice tip! It's also the most well hidden function available, or not available I should say, in Cubase. Note, you also have to set the file extension filter in the open file dialog to "Any Type"

It does work though.

There is also a utility called dBpoweramp in it's freeware version it will convert m4a, aac etc.,. It will convert multiple files in one go too.

+1 for including these Apple file formats in the regular import audio function. (But there might be a licensing or other issue that prevents it)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest