Page 1 of 1

"e" window to show Audio out, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:40 am
by sonic74
I brought this subject before and will not die before I see it in Cubase.

You guys know, when you select an audio track and click the "e" button, the Channel settings pops up. Then you go to another track, and the Channel settings window follows your selection to the newly selected track. (If you have your project and mixer synced)

So far so good and so practical...

But if you select a midi track (tied to a rack instrument), the same window now shows the MIDI inserts/sends, instead of the VST instrument's audio settings which would make sense. :roll:

For external Midi, it surely must be the way it is. But for the rack instrument, the audio output is much more important.

So, to sum up :

On one side, we have Channel settings for MIDI that you can put Midi inserts, Midi sends, Midi volume.
On the other side, there's the Channel settings for Audio output for that track, which has way more usage benefit. (you can insert your Audio FX plugins, control your Audio Sends, you have the EQ and channel strip and routing and everything!!!)

You decide... I mean let Steinberg decide :)

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:56 pm
by buzzlegs
+1!

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:00 pm
by lukasbrooklyn
+1

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:54 am
by sonic74
thanks for the support.

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:19 am
by serenity
+1

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:24 am
by sonic74
How about an option in the preferences? ;)

Re: Odp: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI ins

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 1:15 am
by serenity
sonic74 wrote:How about an option in the preferences? ;)
Perfect.

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:30 am
by Jorge Ruiz
+1 for an option in preferences.

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:03 pm
by GargoyleStudio
+1 please

Mike.

Re: Click "e" to bring Audio out settings, not MIDI insert/s

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:53 pm
by Starsprinkler
sonic74 wrote:How about an option in the preferences? ;)
Yes. And/or we could have both alternatives at the same time, using a modifier key (Shift or Alt) to alternate between them. The preference option could say which one is preferred, and the modifier key gives the other alternative.

EDIT: misunderstood the request; this suggestion is for the e-button in the track header.

Re: "e" editor to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:04 pm
by zyguli
+1000

Under "t" key I have "open editor" command. It's annoying to have to deal with midi settings of a midi track, instead of audio channel of an instrument.

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:07 pm
by sonic74
Hi Starsprinkler. I edited the topic to better explain what I wanted to achieve.

In fact clicking on the correct "e" button will always bring the desired window to the screen. (midi or audio)

What is currently not available is having that window open all the time, and always show Channel Settings for the audio output... i.e. not switch between midi / audio depending on the track selected.

With this implemented, there will be even less use for mix console. (Also people who want to use Cubase in compact environments, such as laptops will benefit.)

Thanks.

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:12 pm
by Starsprinkler
sonic74 wrote:Hi Starsprinkler. I edited the topic to better explain what I wanted to achieve.

In fact clicking on the correct "e" button will always bring the desired window to the screen. (midi or audio)
Ah, yes, in the inspector. I was here thinking of the e-button in the track header (it will open midi).
But I now see that was not your request.
sonic74 wrote: What is currently not available is having that window open all the time, and always show Channel Settings for the audio output... i.e. not switch between midi / audio depending on the track selected.

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:37 pm
by sonic74
UPDATE: Today I bought the CMC-CH. And I am sad to report that when you're on a midi track of a rack instrument, CMC-CH fader shows and controls MIDI volume! Nooo... not again... :shock:

So when I'm on a midi track, I always see the fader at the bottom, since there's no volume input as midi. (which by the way, belongs to an era where we were using ancient midi gear)

I feel like somebody has pointed a gun to my head saying "From now on you'll never use a rack instrument! We hate them... and so will you !!"

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:29 am
by sonic74
*bump*

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:24 pm
by r.u.sirius
+1

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:49 pm
by Altostratus
+1

This proposition would complement nicely my suggested merger of audio outputs and MIDI tracks:

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 28&t=71772

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:34 pm
by steinpac
+1 to option in Preferences

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:47 am
by sonic74
*bump*

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:15 pm
by enjneer
+1

Re: "e" window to follow Audio settings, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:03 pm
by lukasbrooklyn
only makes sense doesn't it.

Re: "e" window to show Audio out, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:04 pm
by sonic74
hooray and up she rises :)

Re: "e" window to show Audio out, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:27 pm
by suntower
+1

Another of my Annual Requests.

I'll go further... I do -not- need 'Instrument Tracks'. Their -only- advantage (so far as I can tell) is that they group together the audio and midi lanes together in the Project Window. I could do that myself easily enough (and with more flexibility).

But what I -need- is a FAST way to jump from the MIDI to the audio.
I would accept if the current 'e' worked sorta like it does in MixConsole
a. one click... brings up MIDI
b. looong click... brings up VSTi window
c. double click... moves one to audio track editor.

...and this should be accessible not only from the inspector but ALSO from INSIDE the Key Editor. THIS IS THE BIGGEST THING. One needs to be able to get to the Audio and VSTi -instantly- from inside any event editor.

Re: "e" window to show Audio out, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:01 pm
by sonic74
suntower wrote: a. one click... brings up MIDI
b. looong click... brings up VSTi window
c. double click... moves one to audio track editor.
+1

...except I would prefer one click to bring audio track editor, because that's the most used here.

Re: "e" window to show Audio out, not MIDI parameters

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:35 pm
by sonic74
...trying to hold on to life and not die before I see this feature implemented...