Page 1 of 1

Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:06 am
by Sunny7
Hi I recently bought Cubase 8.5 boxed version I have registered/Activation with series number on Cubase8.5 Steinberg site but when I open the software it keeps asking me to register the software every time, on the Steinberg site (my products) when it already has been registered.
I have installed the following plug-ins includes in cubase8.5 box:
Halion5/ Halion Sonic2 Trial
Groove Agent4 Trial
The Grand 3 SE Trial
Padshop Pro Trial

I got all of their activation code inside the box.
When I registered my Cubase I only entered the Cubase activation code it not ask me for the activation codes for all the other plug-ins so I don't know how to register the other plug-ins. Kindly can someone tell me how to do this step by step or if someone can do it for me online and activate it on my PC.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:18 am
by MrSoundman
stand2base wrote:when I open the software it keeps asking me to register the software
Yes this is confusing; "registration" and "activation" are two different things, but in fact you can't activate without first having registered, so that notice on first starting Cubase is redundant. It's been there for years and I guess they just forgot to remove it from the code. In any case, it only appears the first time you run it after installation and once you click "Already registered" it goes away permanently.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 11:40 am
by ggc
Hiya bud

Ok.. I will try to help you out (activating etc is not something i do very often:p)

1. attach your dongle to your internet machine and start up the elicenser control center
2. select your dongle in the list on the left
3. press the green button with the downwards arrow above the list of elicensers
4. enter your code(s) so they are activated on your dongle
5. go online into your steinberg account and activate your products in the "my steinberg" section (register elicenser/software / enter download access code) by entering your activation codes.

I think thats how it works...

Njoy:)

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 3:06 pm
by Sunny7
I do but i don't know is Activate or not ? when i open Cubase then again asking Register...
Image

Image

Image

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 3:36 pm
by ggc
Click on your usb dongle in the elicense control center and send a pic please..

Can you move licenses to your dongle?

What happens when you click on "already registered?"

(Brb, need to sleep some)

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 4:21 pm
by Sunny7
Thanks for your interest and I am very upset to see that after spending such a heavy amount of cash the plugins are only for a set period of time thats just not right!
Kindly tell me have all softwares been properly activated and do I need to do anything else right now?
Image

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 5:38 pm
by MrSoundman
According to your screenshot, everything is correctly activated. The next time you open Cubase, click "Already registered".

The trial versions of the four VST instruments are included on the boxed DVDs and are exactly that -- trial versions. They are not required for Cubase (which has its own plugins included) and are optional additions. If, after the trial period you decide you would like to keep one or more of the optional VST instruments, you can purchase an activation code online which will grant permanent use of the already-installed instrument. If you do not wish to keep the VST instruments, you can just uninstall them and Cubase will continue to work.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 12:22 am
by Sunny7
OK now I understand Thanks for nice guide. something is mistake please see pic my Cubase ok or ?
Image

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 3:25 am
by ggc
Should be ok.

-Right click the cubase icon on your desktop and select "properties"
-Select the "compatibility" tab
-Remove any checked boxes in this tab and press "ok"
-Start cubase

Njoy:)

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 11:58 am
by Sunny7
Hi Thanks you have really been a great help and my problems are nearly gone.
Now I want to install my Native Instruments komplete-10-ultimate kindly tell me which folder I need to install it so Cubase can recognize it and works without any problems. Do I need to install it in one of the following folders? - VST Sound, VST3 or VSTPlugins :?:

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 12:45 pm
by peakae
Really anywhere you want to. Just set the path in the plugin manager afterwards.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 1:01 pm
by Sunny7
thanks for replying I am very sorry but as I am not a pro I don't really understand what you mean could you explain it to me step by step please.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 1:11 pm
by ggc
C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins is usually a good place to install plugins..
(Many plugin companies default to this location when installing)

You can put the vst data (libraries, soundfiles, samples etc) in a different location.. (Different partition , different drive or wherever)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJD0kfbfOgY

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 7:03 pm
by Sunny7
Hi Thank you for all your help Cubase installation is almost complete
Actually I have Moxf8 this is my controller and sometimes I use its own sounds in Cubase. I am having problem with syncing I feel that it’s not syncing properly with the tempo, before I have Cubase5ai It worked perfectly with that so tell me do I need any specific settings to sync the tempo? One other thing please look at the screen shot , UCX is my interface and I one to use Cubase with my UCX but when I open Cubase, then Cubase stops working with my UCX and connects to my Moxf8 input output then I have to go to device menu and change the settings so that Cubase works with UCX not Moxf8.
Image

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 7:43 pm
by ggc
Check these two boxes in your device editor..:

Image
image.jpeg
(490.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 8:08 pm
by MrSoundman
stand2base wrote:UCX is my interface and I one to use Cubase with my UCX but when I open Cubase, then Cubase stops working with my UCX and connects to my Moxf8 input output then I have to go to device menu and change the settings so that Cubase works with UCX not Moxf8
ASIO (the special audio driver that Cubase needs for best performance) can only work with one interface at a time. If you have more than one ASIO device (and therefore driver) you must choose one of them, and if you switch to another Cubase remembers this between sessions. One workaround would be to connect the analog outputs of the MOXF8 to the analog inputs of the UCX and use only the UCX ASIO driver.

You don't appear to have the ASIO driver for the UCX installed.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 8:37 pm
by Sunny7
I simply want my MOXF8 to follow Cubase tempo how can I do this?

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 8:41 pm
by MrSoundman
I'm not familiar with the MOXF8 ... do you mean, you want an internal sequencer in the MOXF8 to sync via MIDI with Cubase being the master?

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 8:46 pm
by ggc
Transport-> project synchronization setup -> midi clock destinations -> choose your moxf8 in the list

Also check ->" midi clock follows project position " and "always send start message"

Enable your moxf8 for receiving midi clock...

Good night:)

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 9:05 pm
by Sunny7
sorry I think I may not have explained myself properly want I want is when I change the Cubase tempo my Moxf8 recognizes it automatically for example I record in Cubase Moxf8 arpeggio pattern so if cubase tempo is 120 moxf arpeggio patterns follows the cubase tempo.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 9:14 pm
by MrSoundman
What gcc said.

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 9:52 am
by Sunny7
Hi, Thanks for nice help my Cubase8.5 installation & Activation chapter is now successfully complete. I really appreciate your help!
I have created a new topic (Extra settings) please click on the link thanks.
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=96794

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sat May 21, 2016 1:24 pm
by Paul ONeill
I have just bought a new pc running Windows 8 to replace my old Windows 7 machine - both 64 bit. Have a USB Dongle, registered with Steinberg, and licences for Steinberg software including Cubase 8.5. Am having terrible problems trying to install Cubase 8.5 on my new pc (haven't even bothered trying to install any other Steinberg software yet). Downloaded the Cubase 8.5 software from Steinberg website and installed. Downloaded elicenser software and installed. Put in my activation code but get message that I have no licence. The elicenser software sometimes reads and displays my licences, sometimes just comes up with an error message USB Device OS - Finish expected but received. Have run maintenance routine but that too gets interrupted by the same error message. Driving me nuts!!!! What is worse, Cubase 8.5 and the elicenser are working perfectly with the same USB Dongle and the same latest version of elicenser on my old pc. Anyone got any ideas?

Re: Registered/Activation

Posted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:12 pm
by MrSoundman
Paul ONeill wrote:Anyone got any ideas?
As this doesn't have anything to do with the subject of this thread, I'd suggest you start a new topic. Logic would suggest that your new computer might have some serious hardware problems so perhaps you could start in the Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup? Concentrate on getting your USB issue fixed first because without a functioning eLicenser, nothing will work.