Not getting split channel option

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:06 pm

while importing any audio, I am not getting split channel option..and so i am unable to create a karaoke in cubase element 8..please help

djaychela
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by djaychela » Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:26 pm

Have you over-ridden it in the preferences?

ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:23 pm

ok I see the preference option..what do i need to do there

djaychela
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by djaychela » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:49 pm

Set it to "always ask" or similar (sorry, only have a Chromebook handy so don't have access to Cubase...)

ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:43 pm

no when i import an audio..it does ask me 1 or 2 things..but splitting channel is not there..

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by Grim » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:07 pm

I'm not really sure what it is that you're trying to do.....what are the files you're importing exactly??

One of the options in that preference is to split multichannel audio files ....But I'm not sure how this has anything to do with creating a karaoke though :?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:13 pm

ok first of all thnx for responding..what i am saying here is when i import any audio file just to create karaoke out of it...i need to split the channel right..so that i can mute the solo, the singing part of it and only the instrumental part remains..but i am not getting that option to split the channel in these two parts like i have seen in so many youtube videos. .so its a single channel of that audio..thus i cannot mute it because it mutes the complete audio...i hope you are getting my point here..or you can just tell me how do I create karaoke

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by Grim » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:09 pm

Just download a free vocal remover vst plugin and prepare to be disappointed. :lol:
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:24 am

I don't know man .could it be because of the trial version?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by Grim » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:17 am

No....I think you're just imagining Cubase does something that it doesn't.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

ayushjasuja91
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by ayushjasuja91 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:40 am

ok i have seen videos how to create karaoke in cubase..
so certainly i am expecting something which it does..
could just tell me who to make one

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by Grim » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:05 pm

I'm struggling to understand why you need someone to tell you if the youtube video are showing you how to do it.

Maybe try this one....there is no splitting channels involved....duplicating and swapping of stereo and phase inversion.
This was my understanding of how it "worked" - Not that it does work very well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVGCC-PxnWg
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Photon
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: Not getting split channel option

Post by Photon » Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:36 pm

The problem: The Import Options dialog box and / or the Split Channels checkbox do not appear when importing an audio file (Cubase Pro only, I think):

This may solve the problem for the OP:

Set this:
File menu / Preferences / Editing / Audio / On Import Audio Files / Open Options Dialog (Select this)
Click OK

Next:
If you drag a wave file into a Cubase 9.5 Pro project and the dialog box does not appear, one reason could be that you previously imported the file. One solution is to delete the previously imported version from the project, like this:
delete any audio events that refer to the wav file,
then press CTRL P,
right click,
select Remove Unused Media,
click Trash.
Then right click, and
click Empty Trash.

After that, if you drag the file into Cubase, the dialog box should appear.

I hope that helps.
Cubase 9.5.50 Pro. Windows 10. Processor: Intel Skylake i7-9800x. RAM Memory: 64 GB. Audio Interface: RME Fireface UCX via USB. Hard Drive for audio: Samsung EVO SSD. Graphics card Asus Geforce GTX 1070.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests