Activation Blues

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Activation Blues

Post by Promedia » Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:28 am

Hi guys,

I've been using SX2 until very recently, I know it's old but I get a decent workflow going and there seemed no need to change.

I tried the demo version of Elenents 7 a while back, and found it actually ran pretty smoothly on my aging Dell DAW. So I decided to bite the bullet and upgrade to Elements 8.

Try as I may, I cannot seem to activate / authorise the installed software, I have tried several times also, numerous restarts, installing the latest version of the eLicence software. I have 200Mb broadband which is really stable so I know the Internet connection is fine.
image.jpeg
Error message
(59.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Am I missing something really obvious guys, I've used Cubase for years a few all of a sudden get I'm a complete noob again.

Thanks in advance!

Kind regards,

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18561
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:02 pm

Hi,

Do you have the latest eLCC installed, please?

Did you really "upgrade" the licence, or did you buy a new license? I would say, there is no this Kind of upgrade
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Promedia » Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:17 pm

Hey Martin,

Thanks for the speedy reply, as there is no Steinberg 'upgrade' from SX2 to Elements 8 that I was aware of, I kinda guessed users would just understand that I bought a never version of Cubase (never assume right?).

Here's what I downloaded, which I believe is the latest version.

Version: 6.9.2.1179
Size: 33.3 MB
Release: October 22nd, 2015
eLicenser: USB- and Soft-eLicenser

Kind regards,

George
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18561
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:34 pm

Hi,

Yes, this is the latest update. Could you try Recover the licenses?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
DLearyUS
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by DLearyUS » Fri Oct 23, 2015 4:40 pm

you report "my aging Dell" does it have aero gfx capability? w7/8/10? you cant run ver 8 without it
Cubase v10.5 Pro / Win10-64 Pro/ Tascam FW-1884+FE8+FE8 / ART TubeOpto8 Xpander

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by peakae » Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:33 pm

Run the eLicenser as Admin, and try again.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Promedia » Fri Oct 23, 2015 6:44 pm

Thank you for all the great advice,

My main DAW is a 3GHz Dual core with 4 GB, running Win7 32Bit, I was able to run Elements 7 so I expected the hardware to be compatible.

I also have a Dell i5 laptop with 8GB set up as a DAW, I think I'll give that a go first. Incidentally, can I have Elements 8 installed on both machines? I'm guessing probably yes, but will only run one instance at a time?

Kind regards,

George
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Grim » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:24 pm

The only way to run Elements on 2 machines is to buy a usb elicenser key and move your license to this and then you can run on whichever computer it's plugged into.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Promedia » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:50 pm

Many thanks Grim,

Is the USB elicencer key expensive?

Kind regards,

George
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18561
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:22 pm

Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3850
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Prock » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:23 pm

Here is a link to purchase the usb elicenser. About $30...

http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_pr ... 09050.html

Regards. 8-)

Sorry, looks like I posted while Martin was posting.
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Activation Blues

Post by Promedia » Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:09 pm

Many thanks Martin / Prock,

Seems pretty reasonable!

BTW - Elements 8 installed on the laptop with no problem at all, think I'll leave it there for now until I get my head round the changes.

Thanks again for all your help guys!

Regards,

George
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests