CP8's disgusting performance..? fixed with updates

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:26 am

Jalcide wrote:Shadow, are you using Waves plugins in the project? If so, you can try their "no context sharing" fix to see if it helps. It's easy to try.

viewtopic.php?f=226&t=78084#p446640

My other suggestion is to create the exact same project (and I mean exact), with same busses, fx, etc. between Studio One and Cubase. With no detail missed. Even a single channel or insert different between the two could show one DAW as not maxing and the other as being maxed out.

Also, make sure your audio interface driver's buffer is set the same between the two (for apples to apples).

I did this a few years ago in a massive shootout between Reaper, Cubase, Studio One and Sonar. Studio One performed worse in my use-cases, compared to Cubase and this was before ASIO Guard (which improves Cubase even more).

After doing all that, if you're seeing Studio One doing much better than Cubase on the same project, then something is probably wrong and needs narrowing down, because Cubase should be doing equal or better than Studio One.

In fact, there are some complaining on the Presonus forum that Studio One v3 is doing even worse than v2. I have v3, but have not run my tests on it yet, so I can't confirm.

This is not true with Reaper, however. Reaper will do better than any other DAW, performance-wise, by a huge margin. They've got some blackmagic under the hood. So testing against Reaper will not be a very useful test.

Also, don't be put-off by the ASIO Guard name. It's just what Steinberg is calling their approach to the "hybrid audio engine" which is something Reaper and Logic have had for years.
certainly can't afford Waves plugins and I've done what you said regarding comparing projects...

maybe I need to re affirm that my cubase projects work OK and the reason for my post is..''why the heck does the performance meter keep telling me cubase can't handle the project''?
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:30 am

smapmap wrote:Such a strange problem - your PC should be able to run a project of that size in it's sleep :D and it sounds as though you've checked out all the things I would have checked. 8-)
All I see when I turn off ASIO guard is an increase in CPU utilisation - nothing else. How are the disk meters - are they maxing out or anything or is all the load on the CPU? ASIO guard doesn't like latency set too high in mt experience. What happens if you drop this right down to 64 or 128 (I know this sounds counter intuitive!!) :mrgreen:

The only other things I can suggest would be
- What plugins are you using out of interest? Are you using any 32 bit plugs? These can cause havoc with bit bridge and can make Cubase unstable. I've had to move lock stock and barrel to 64bit
- I presume you have disabled each instrument and plugin one by one to see if they are causing the issue
- I notice you've got 2 SDD in your machine and a load of memory - have you checked to make sure this is installed correctly. Sometime you can see weird issues when memory slots are not mirrored and populated in the right order, same for the drives.

cheers

If I turn off ASIO guard I get massive distortion...had puter guy check everything out and he said no probs..I'll try dropping to 64 as you suggest..
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:36 am

My sincere thanks to you all for trying to help.. :) :)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Quietly » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:42 am

Hi Keven check this thread and not sure if it has any bearing but he has the same sound card as you. Looks like trashing preferences cured his problems. Worth a look and try anyway.

viewtopic.php?f=226&t=82289
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:44 am

Buzz wrote:Kevin - here is how to do it - mostly copied from ggc's initial post:

Windows:
GOTO: Registry Editor.
Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH\Steinberg Cubase 8 64bit
Right-click and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
Name it GraphicsAcceleration and ensure its value is set to 0.

OK did that and the meters gone down by half.. success!!! :) :) :) :)

still get distortion If I turn ASIO guard off though..

thanks again to all.. :) :)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
keyzs
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 5:41 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by keyzs » Sun Aug 23, 2015 9:03 am

Hi Kevin, there is a Registry hack you may wish to try.

However, before going further, please be aware that editing the Registry is potentially dangerous and may break the system totally; the worse case scenario is to re-format and reinstall everything all over again.

this hack was a contribution made to another forum along with many others who had started and contributed to that thread.

what this does is to disable all other HD Audio Devices in the system. Some of these are Window's stuff and other instances of corruption and or just badly written programming left over due to multiple preferences changes.... errr or just something not working right...

my suspicion is that some thing within the HD6800 HDMI driver giving problems.

upon your restart, if you go into the Control Panel and view the Device Manager, you will see a yellow exclamation mark icon over "High Def Audio Controller" - all is well.

WARNING ***** REGISTRY HACK ******

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\HDAudAddService - set Start to 4
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\HDAudBus - set Start to 4

Steps:
1. Open the RegEditor - regedit
2. Search thru the tree on the left for the two keys stated above. (they are just one above / below the other)
3. Right-Click on Start (on the right) > select Modify > change to 4 (its currently set at 3)

Make sure you do it for both keys. Then close off the Registry Window and restart the system.

******* END REGISTRY HACK ************

good luck and hope this helps. Cheers!!!
intel i7-3770, Gigabyte Z77, AMD HD6970, Kingstons 32GB, Win7 x64, UR-44, CC-121, Cubase Pro 8.0.40 (Build 623) x64

http://illuminesymphony.ddns.net/

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:02 am

Hi keyzs I'm in device manager now and there is no yellow exclamation mark over the High def audio controller..in properties it says the device is working.
the problem seems to have gone away (or been reduced significantly) by the registry addition I just performed so maybe I should leave well alone now..

cheers, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
Buzz
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Buzz » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:33 am

Glad you had some success Kevin - you can also usually disable the HDMI audio in the BIOS of your computer,
so don't have to do a registry edit. I have disabled it in the BIOS of my Asus Z87-K motherboard
Intel i5 7500/ Asus Z270-K/Built in Intel display with 3 monitors
Sound Card Behringer XR18
Windows 10 64
Cubase 9.5.21 Lots of Vintage Marshalls

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Quietly » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:40 am

shadowfax wrote:Hi keyzs I'm in device manager now and there is no yellow exclamation mark over the High def audio controller..in properties it says the device is working.
the problem seems to have gone away (or been reduced significantly) by the registry addition I just performed so maybe I should leave well alone now..

cheers, Kevin

Good news Kevin looks as though you are getting there, fingers crossed for you and do a backup while things are working well.

Gerry
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
keyzs
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 5:41 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by keyzs » Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:17 pm

Hi Kevin, happy to hear it has helped in some way. i've attached 2 screen shot as a reference.

http://keyzs.zapto.org/dl/reg_edt.jpg

http://keyzs.zapto.org/dl/ctrl_panel.jpg

Basically the Control Panel verification is just to confirm that there will be no more additional "HD Audio" drivers types being detected by Windows. And hopefully, again, whenever there is installation of new hardware or updates done.

once again hope it helps and all the best. cheers!!!
intel i7-3770, Gigabyte Z77, AMD HD6970, Kingstons 32GB, Win7 x64, UR-44, CC-121, Cubase Pro 8.0.40 (Build 623) x64

http://illuminesymphony.ddns.net/

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:46 pm

Thanks again to all who took the trouble to help me.. :) :) :)

best to everyone.Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:47 pm

Buzz wrote:Glad you had some success Kevin - you can also usually disable the HDMI audio in the BIOS of your computer,
so don't have to do a registry edit. I have disabled it in the BIOS of my Asus Z87-K motherboard

will look into this..thanks
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by matjones » Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:48 pm

Great to see you got it all sorted!
what a difference a day makes eh.... as they say lol...
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by alexis » Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:35 pm

Registry hacks can be fatal to the machine, and I can't imagine Steinberg would recommend doing them to improve system performance. Could a Steinberg engineer come to this thread please and offer some less drastic suggestions please?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:34 pm

alexis wrote:Registry hacks can be fatal to the machine, and I can't imagine Steinberg would recommend doing them to improve system performance. Could a Steinberg engineer come to this thread please and offer some less drastic suggestions please?

Intersting point :!: throughout this whole thread not a sign of anyone from Steinberg.. :roll:

I asked a question regarding Mixbus 3 on their forum and the Boss himself answered ;)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:36 pm

alexis wrote:Registry hacks can be fatal to the machine, and I can't imagine Steinberg would recommend doing them to improve system performance. Could a Steinberg engineer come to this thread please and offer some less drastic suggestions please?

so far it hasn't proved fatal to my machine..got so used to re installing from the bottom up that it doesn't really scare me anymore.. :D
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:37 pm

matjones wrote:Great to see you got it all sorted!
what a difference a day makes eh.... as they say lol...

cheers Mate..
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

Grabber
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:06 am

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by Grabber » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:35 pm

There are no Registry Hacks, only registry settings ;)

Not a problem at all if you know what you're doing. You can always back up the registry before hand, or make notes of your changes (do not change "everything" at once though).

I also have some spiking audio stutter problem in Cubase 8.0.20, with even small projects (5% peak and 40% average ASIO load). It might have something with graphic card/driver, but I think you should be able to move your mouse without hickups.
Hunting down some plugins that might do it as we speak.

Glad you sorted it out :)

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1298
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by silhouette » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:42 pm

Look I am sorry if anyone else has mentioned this but do you use Kontakt? I do and have had spike and cpu issue on certain projects. Some people say that this is a hyper-threading issue. I am not so sure as it does not happen on every project. On those where it does happen disabling Kontakt solves the problem.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

User avatar
keyzs
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 5:41 am
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by keyzs » Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:07 am

silhouette wrote:Look I am sorry if anyone else has mentioned this but do you use Kontakt? I do and have had spike and cpu issue on certain projects. Some people say that this is a hyper-threading issue. I am not so sure as it does not happen on every project. On those where it does happen disabling Kontakt solves the problem.
i can confirm this.

there are several instruments, especially those by NI themselves; huge CPU spikes occur, however nothing detrimental - playback is smooth; no clicks, pops etc... if i had not the meters open i would not have seen that and assumed all was well.

also, multi-threading on Kontakt is OFF.
intel i7-3770, Gigabyte Z77, AMD HD6970, Kingstons 32GB, Win7 x64, UR-44, CC-121, Cubase Pro 8.0.40 (Build 623) x64

http://illuminesymphony.ddns.net/

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by jamusic » Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:49 am

I'm not sure if anyone suggested this, but what about starting Cubase in Safe Mode and seeing what the meters show?

Another question for Kevin is: When you start Cubase are the meters fine before you load the project in?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Mon Aug 24, 2015 6:54 am

silhouette wrote:Look I am sorry if anyone else has mentioned this but do you use Kontakt? I do and have had spike and cpu issue on certain projects. Some people say that this is a hyper-threading issue. I am not so sure as it does not happen on every project. On those where it does happen disabling Kontakt solves the problem.
I don't use Kontakt..cheers, :) :)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by shadowfax » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:02 am

jamusic wrote:I'm not sure if anyone suggested this, but what about starting Cubase in Safe Mode and seeing what the meters show?

Another question for Kevin is: When you start Cubase are the meters fine before you load the project in?

Hi, yes the meters are fine before I load a project..but the project that was the issue had one instance of Valhalla reverb,
all other plugins were cubase's own...
two instrument tracks..Nexus and Trillion,

but it seems to be ok now after the registry thing..as I said earlier in the thread, the problem was always there on all projects but was not (to the best of my limited knowledge) affecting the actual performance..I just got sick of watching the meter full to the red all the time and wondered if I could do something about it..
anyway..the problem seems to be solved..
best, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:40 pm

Sounds like what you had was a graphics issue and the meter wasn't showing you the truth due to the issue in graphics. Doing that regedit GraphicsAccelerater 0 thing makes sense here.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: CP8's disgusting performance..?

Post by jamusic » Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:46 pm

Well it's good that you got it settled down now. For the record, myself and some others have had this where the meters were right off the charts with no project loaded in at all. That's why I asked.

The last thing I was going to suggest, was that maybe the download files were corrupt, and should be freshly d'l'd, but no matter now.

Best of luck Kevin. You're not the only one who's had this.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests