Device setup

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
smoothsailor
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:40 pm
Contact:

Device setup

Post by smoothsailor » Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:39 pm

I am trying to record 4 tracks simultaneously. I have the tracks going into Firepod line in 3,4,5,6. VST connections are set up alright. But when I go to VST device setup input I can't connect all the inputs. I have to choose one....either 1-2, 3-4, 5-6. I need 3-4 and 5-6. Am I missing something? I get no VU coming through.
MacBook Pro, OSX 10.13.8, PreSonus FirePod, Lexicon MX200, M Audio Speakers, Microphones: AKG, CAD, Shure.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3865
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Device setup

Post by Prock » Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:23 am

I'm not understanding...
Hard to assist by how you described your issue because it looks like you just have to assign the buses you want... 3/4 & 5/6 as the tracks input.

If you need to record 4 mono sources each connected to inputs 3, 4, 5, & 6, you would create a mono bus for each input then open 4 tracks with one of the buses assigned to each track as inputs.

If you are recording stereo sources, one through inputs 3/4 and the other through inputs 5/6, then you would create 2 stereo buses. One bus with inputs 3/4 and the other with inputs 5/6. Then use those as inputs to record on 2 tracks.

It would be helpful if you explained what you want to record. It it a drum set? Several guitars? A few mics? A combo of these? Basically provide more detail.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

smoothsailor
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Device setup

Post by smoothsailor » Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:38 am

Thanks for your help. I was doing 4 mono tracks so I did like you said and made a mono bus for each input.
I am making digital versions of analog tapes.
Thanks again.
MacBook Pro, OSX 10.13.8, PreSonus FirePod, Lexicon MX200, M Audio Speakers, Microphones: AKG, CAD, Shure.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests