Recording a vocal track without music

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hypergenesis
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:40 pm
Contact:

Recording a vocal track without music

Post by Hypergenesis » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:30 am

Hello :)

How do I record a vocal track with only vocals while playing back an instrumental in a separate track?

I am using a mac computer with a UR22MKII interface connected to a behringer SX3242FX mixer.
The mixers 2-TR out is connected to the interface's line inputs, while the interface's outputs are connected to a channel strip on the mixer. The mic is connected to a channel strip, I also have a USB mic connected.

I've literally exhausted all of my options and ideas for making this work.

Many thanks in advance, all help and feedback is appreciated.
Cubase Pro 10

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3578
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording a vocal track without music

Post by svennilenni » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:55 am

Hypergenesis wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:30 am
Hello :)

How do I record a vocal track with only vocals while playing back an instrumental in a separate track?

I am using a mac computer with a UR22MKII interface connected to a behringer SX3242FX mixer.
The mixers 2-TR out is connected to the interface's line inputs, while the interface's outputs are connected to a channel strip on the mixer. The mic is connected to a channel strip, I also have a USB mic connected.

I've literally exhausted all of my options and ideas for making this work.

Many thanks in advance, all help and feedback is appreciated.
Connect the Mic to the mic in of the UR 22.
Or use a send from the Behringer and monitor via the Behringe.

User avatar
Hypergenesis
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording a vocal track without music

Post by Hypergenesis » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:16 am

Ah, thanks alot for the suggestions. Honestly what I didn't mention, is that I have the UR22 routed into a patch bay, then going into the mixer (but doesn't make a difference for stating my issue), the reason for this is because this way I can just patch my mic into the UR22 from the patch bay, it works, I just wanted a solution without having to do all of this, so that I can free up two inputs on the patchbay. Thanks again, I will see what I can do with your other solution
Cubase Pro 10

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests