Page 1 of 1

Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:07 pm
by laimon
I am quite sure I saw something like this some time ago, and yet now I can't find it: there was a way automate "relatively" to the fader's position, meaning that you can, e.g. draw a volume automation to go up 10 db and then back down, without fixing the volume the level before the automation. Did I just imagine this?

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:07 am
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

VCA Faders? Or Trim?

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:21 am
by laimon
Uhm, no, that wasn't it. You know when you look at the automation visualization, so with all the points and lines connecting them? Normally there is always a line between point, but here you had the beginning and ending point of the automation bit just "floating", and all the points in between would represent offsets with respect to the current value of the fader.

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:29 am
by Prock
I don't remember seeing that. Basically, the first automation point added moved the line to the left of it to that level. And the last point added was the value to the right.

Why do you want/need this? Maybe that will spur some suggestions for you.

Maybe you remember seeing the line that represents where the fader is set?

Regards. 8-)

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:56 am
by Martin.Jirsak
Do you mean Virgin theory?

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:12 am
by svennilenni
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:56 am
Do you mean Virgin theory?
Territory

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:18 am
by Martin.Jirsak
svennilenni wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:12 am
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:56 am
Do you mean Virgin theory?
Territory
Right :-D

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:45 am
by laimon
I don't know, I went through all the latest "what's new in Cubase X.Y" videos and couldn't find it. Must have imagined it :(
Still, I think it'd be awesome. Sometimes you need to readjust main levels and you just don't want to work on the whole automation track...

Re: Automation relative to main volume

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 1:42 pm
by Prock
Well... there might be different methods to do that but, I am used to using the "Info Line" and changing the gain level there. Meaning, I just type in a +/- value in the "volume" field on audio tracks (can't remember the name of the field on instrument or midi tracks). This changes the "master" volume of the highlighted event.

Maybe you can use this method?

Regards 8-)