Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
dobibo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:54 pm
Contact:

Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by dobibo »

So i watched this :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81TA5Oh78Vo
video , which shows a new feature in 8.5 where you can double click with the object selection tool in the note editor , to enter a note.

I tried double clicking with the object selection tool in the note editor , but it didn't insert any note. ?

I use cubase 8,5.

I'd like to use it because i can drag , change length , change velocity , all from one click with it .
(instead of using the pen and having to change length from the borders , or switch to object selection to change pitch etc.)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23796
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

What do you mean by "Note editor"? This double-click function is available in the Key editor nad the Drum editor, nit in the Score editor or List editor.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

dobibo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by dobibo »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

What do you mean by "Note editor"? This double-click function is available in the Key editor nad the Drum editor, nit in the Score editor or List editor.
I meant the key editor , my bad , wasn't sure of the exact name .
(the basic midi window that opens where you have a piano roll to the left , when double click a midi event.)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23796
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

OK, then it should work. Could you provide some information about your system, please?

Could you try it in the Safe Start Mode?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

dobibo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by dobibo »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:OK, then it should work. Could you provide some information about your system, please?

Could you try it in the Safe Start Mode?
Yea :

Windows 7 ultimate

Core i7 5820k

Gigabye ud4

16gb ram ddr4

nvidia 960gtx.

cubase 8.5.
focusrite saffire 6 usb (usb 1) .

will try safe mode in a sec and edit.

dobibo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by dobibo »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:OK, then it should work. Could you provide some information about your system, please?

Could you try it in the Safe Start Mode?
Ok, so perhaps my cubase is just 8? and not 8,5?

On the eLicense control Center is says my licence is for cubase 8.5

but my cubase box Says "Cubase pro 8" , and written "Free update to current version" on the box aswell.

How can i know for sure my cubase is up to date with version 8.5?

I needed to buy it?

User avatar
Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by Steinberg »

dobibo wrote: On the eLicense control Center is says my licence is for cubase 8.5

but my cubase box Says "Cubase pro 8" , and written "Free update to current version" on the box aswell.

How can i know for sure my cubase is up to date with version 8.5?

Hello,

your license was updated to Cubase Pro 8.5 for free via the Grace Period. You just need to install Cubase Pro 8.5.

You should have a full installer available in your MySteinberg account, under 'Downloads'. You can also get it here: http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/grace_period.html by entering your USB-eLicenser number.

dobibo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by dobibo »

Fabio Bartolini wrote:
dobibo wrote: On the eLicense control Center is says my licence is for cubase 8.5

but my cubase box Says "Cubase pro 8" , and written "Free update to current version" on the box aswell.

How can i know for sure my cubase is up to date with version 8.5?

Hello,

your license was updated to Cubase Pro 8.5 for free via the Grace Period. You just need to install Cubase Pro 8.5.

You should have a full installer available in your MySteinberg account, under 'Downloads'. You can also get it here: http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/grace_period.html by entering your USB-eLicenser number.

Haha i just checked . Thanks alot!

I need to uninstall my current cubase before installing 8,5?

User avatar
Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by Steinberg »

No, you can keep it installed - I would actually recommend to do so. If you want to remove it, please wait a little bit in order to verify that all is running smooth with the new version.

Cubase Pro 8.5 will install alongside Cubase Pro 8 and update the Content, ending up with two separate applications (Pro 8 and 8.5) and updated common Content.

jcbfoos
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Can't create midi notes by double click ?

Post by jcbfoos »

Hi, I know this is a super old post, but is there any way to turn off this feature? It kinda drives me crazy.
Mac OSX 10.14.x - Cubase 10.0.x - MOTU 1248 - Insane PC running VEP - lots of plugs and libraries...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests