Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
Post Reply
Mark Freegard
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:24 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Contact:

Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by Mark Freegard »

Performer can't hear the VST instrument playback my end, but can hear the audio tracks playing back. The vst instrument is going to stereo out - same as audio tracks - so can't figure out quite how this works! any clues gratefully received : )
Cubase Pro 10.5 Wavelab 10
Trash Can Mac pro 6 core 32gb 1tb ssd Catalina
Apollo 8p /Apollo Twin Quad Mk2 /UA Octo sat /UA Quad Sat x2
Macbook Pro 2016 2.9ghz i7 16gb 500gb ssd graphics HD530/Radeon Pro 460

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by fuzzydude »

Mark Freegard wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 3:36 pm
Performer can't hear the VST instrument playback my end, but can hear the audio tracks playing back. The vst instrument is going to stereo out - same as audio tracks - so can't figure out quite how this works! any clues gratefully received : )
Have you turned the 'Cue' on for the Instrument track? The one the (VST CUE Connect) plugin is added too.
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Mark Freegard
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:24 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by Mark Freegard »

Ah - thank you. Yes, cue vst connect for vst instrument not switched on.

In VST connections - Cue (VST connect) is not connected to any output or virtual channel - this is correct setting?
Cubase Pro 10.5 Wavelab 10
Trash Can Mac pro 6 core 32gb 1tb ssd Catalina
Apollo 8p /Apollo Twin Quad Mk2 /UA Octo sat /UA Quad Sat x2
Macbook Pro 2016 2.9ghz i7 16gb 500gb ssd graphics HD530/Radeon Pro 460

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by fuzzydude »

Mark Freegard wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:39 pm
.
In VST connections - Cue (VST connect) is not connected to any output or virtual channel - this is correct setting?
I know it’s a little counter intuitive, but that is correct.l 😊
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by musicullum »

Both VST Connect Input Channel and VST Connect Cue in Control Room are not connected. While that may seem counter-intuitive, when you think about it, it's such that the Input Channel 'hardware' input is replaced by the Performer signal coming in, and the Cue 'hardware' output is the signal going out to the Performer.
musi

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by fuzzydude »

musicullum wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 9:24 am
Both VST Connect Input Channel and VST Connect Cue in Control Room are not connected. While that may seem counter-intuitive, when you think about it, it's such that the Input Channel 'hardware' input is replaced by the Performer signal coming in, and the Cue 'hardware' output is the signal going out to the Performer.
Yes indeed and thank you. I only meant in regard to a typical use case for connecting ins and outs.
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Mark Freegard
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:24 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by Mark Freegard »

Thanks both very much for help - much appreciated:)
Cubase Pro 10.5 Wavelab 10
Trash Can Mac pro 6 core 32gb 1tb ssd Catalina
Apollo 8p /Apollo Twin Quad Mk2 /UA Octo sat /UA Quad Sat x2
Macbook Pro 2016 2.9ghz i7 16gb 500gb ssd graphics HD530/Radeon Pro 460

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Performer cant hear VST instrument playback

Post by musicullum »

fuzzydude wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 11:13 am
musicullum wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 9:24 am
Both VST Connect Input Channel and VST Connect Cue in Control Room are not connected. While that may seem counter-intuitive, when you think about it, it's such that the Input Channel 'hardware' input is replaced by the Performer signal coming in, and the Cue 'hardware' output is the signal going out to the Performer.
Yes indeed and thank you. I only meant in regard to a typical use case for connecting ins and outs.
sure, got it :-)
musi

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests