Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Brandy »

I am about to build the new i7 - Win 7/64bit DAW and I am not completely done with all my research regarding compatiblity.

I will use the Asus P6T Deluxe V2.

There I have 2x PCI32 slots - well, I currently use am old PCI32bit Magma Extention with 3x UAD1 and 2x TC Powercore PCI. I would like to just use that on the new system. I don't have any info about Magma Chassis in a 64bit Win7 enviroment...

Thanks for any hint!
Brandy
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Woodcrest Studio

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Woodcrest Studio »

Hey Brandy,

Have you checked over at www.uadforums.com ?

I recall seeing a thread about magmas over there. One thing you could check is if there are drivers for the card that would interface with the magma.

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Bernard Focquet »

Hi Brandy,

I upgraded my system(s) to Win7 x64 and have no issue with my old PCI Magma interface.
As it was under XP, the Magma interface doesn't require any additional device driver to work under Win7 (at least for me).

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Brandy »

Bernard,

nice to meet you here again, well - there are things who never chance (fortunatelly) - for example you always helped me out regarding those hardware things as long as I can remember - I know that we already talked as everyone built that P4 / AsusP4C-Deluxe DAW with Raptor Raid0, later the Dual Opteron/Tyan 2895 combo.. :-) Thanks for that!

Back to topic: That is exactly what I wanted to read, thanks a lot, that made my day!

@ Tom: Thanks as well - I totaly forgot about the UAD forums - quite a good resource, I will have some reading over there as well, I am a user over there but not very active..

Cheers,
Brandy
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Brandy »

I have a question again!

Is it important to have the Magma Chassis attached during install of Win7? In XP it was like a rule to have it attached from the first moment - never tried to install AFTER I installed XP and stuff...

Background of my question: I can not allow downtime here - so I will set up the new DAW parallel - not in the studio - working on sessions during the day. That means: OS install, benchmarks, first steps in Win7 and so on should be while a lot of audiohardware is still in the old computer. It would be a great help to just add the Magma with those UAD1 Cards later.

Brandy
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Bernard Focquet »

Hello Brandy,

I do both methods with success...

For my PC A (see signature) I've installed Win7 as a dual boot of my current system all hardware installed (including the Magma chassis holding my Powercore mkII PCI interfaces) - no issue.

PC B is a brand new system, have first installed Win7 x64 without any extension, then I've added a dedicated Magma PCI interface (without the Magmam chassis) and finally I've made tests swapping the magma cable between PC A and PC B and once again no issue.

Note: I first upgraded my 'old' PC A to Win7 while keeping the original XP configuration to minimize potential downtime. In this case, it was only a software upgrade and in case of any trouble I can reboot to the the old working XP config. That's a way I found to migrate to Win7 x64 smootly without any stress.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Brandy »

Thanks, Bernard!

Yes, I am a big fan of multi-boot setups - I usually do similar.

In my case I don't think that it is a good idea to install win 7 on my old system first - but if it is possible to add the Magma Stuff later without issues it should be possible to build / install the system (inkl grafic card & sound card) in my appartment - without downtime. Adding the Magma as well as that UAD/PoCo Stuff later. Ok, some time will be needed here till all applications, plugins & settings are set up but well... There is still the night.

By the way: How does a Magma Chassis work inside windows? I never found stuff in the hardware manager. What kind of drivers are nused? What kind of device is it? I use it since years but I am not 100% sure how it works :)

Brandy
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Win7/64 bit & old Magma Extention Chassis?

Post by Bernard Focquet »

Brandy wrote:By the way: How does a Magma Chassis work inside windows? I never found stuff in the hardware manager. What kind of drivers are nused? What kind of device is it? I use it since years but I am not 100% sure how it works :)
AFAIK it's only a standard PCI(e) bus (bridge) interface recognized "as is" by the BIOS and by the OS and uses standard drivers delivered with the OS no more no less.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: os72 and 6 guests