Studio pics!

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by BriHar » Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 pm

You mention not being soundproof; that doesn't surprise me as you have no mass. Insulation alone will not soundproof.
For many however, soundproofing is not necessarily a major issue, it's often acoustic treatment (taming the sound in the room) that's important, and this would appear to be the issue in your case so if it works for you then that's good.

http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/viewt ... 60#p119041
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Patanjali » Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:23 pm

BriHar wrote:... not being soundproof; that doesn't surprise me as you have no mass. Insulation alone will not soundproof.
I knew I did not have enough mass, and I wouldn't have had the ability to make something that would, as my breath would have conked out just handling it.

But I did a test beforehand. I made up a 100cm cube (60cm internal) of the intended structure, put a mic inside, with a sister mic from the batch as a reference outside, fed frequencies from one of my Tannoys, equidistant from both mics, and measured how much attenuation I got.

Was good enough for us for me to go ahead and use the construction for the studio. However, I don't know where the measurements are now.

Funny thing was that we get planes going overhead several times a day, and the sound wake is quite noticeable. However, with that structure in the middle of the loungeroom, it must have absorbed enough that I never noticed the planes again from the other side of it, nor inside, but only when at the window in front of it.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Strophoid » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:26 am

So, I redid the whole room, because the dinosaur wallpaper kinda had its time, and I needed space for my latest acquisition, a CP5!
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also got a tablet holder for my Surface 2 next to my drumkit, which is great for playing along with tracks or sheet music!

I'm really happy with the result, as I've got a lot more space now. Especially the drumkit is set up a good 40 cm wider than was previously possible. I still need something nice to put on the wall, any suggestions?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Philip888
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Philip888 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:51 pm

Strophoid wrote:So, I redid the whole room, because the dinosaur wallpaper kinda had its time, and I needed space for my latest acquisition, a CP5!
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also got a tablet holder for my Surface 2 next to my drumkit, which is great for playing along with tracks or sheet music!

I'm really happy with the result, as I've got a lot more space now. Especially the drumkit is set up a good 40 cm wider than was previously possible. I still need something nice to put on the wall, any suggestions?
Hey Strophoid,

Looks like a great place to spend the day! Sorta like a man cave :lol:

Maas
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Maas » Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:10 am

Quick pic of my setup. Having loft converted next month so will be moving up there but setup will remain pretty similar. Will attempt to build a small vocal booth so the neighbours dont suffer too much.
IMG_1992.JPG
(1.15 MiB) Not downloaded yet
3770K, Asus P8Z77-V, 32GB, 120Gb SSD, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD (7200)
Cubase 9.5 Pro Halion 6,Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 4, Omnisphere2.5, Neo Keys, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance,PadShop Pro,Korg VST Instruments, UR44, CMC 6 Pack,Ipad Air/Cubase iC Pro, Ultimate 10, S61mk2 Komplete Keyboard, S-EX1 Mic, TC Helicon Voiceworks Plus.

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:09 pm

2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
EtnoRazz
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by EtnoRazz » Thu Mar 05, 2015 9:37 pm

Here is a few pics of the current Etnoscope studio..

Starting with a Panorama of the studiotable...
Image

StudioTable Leftview
Image

StudioTable Frontview
Image

StudioTable Rightview
Image

the Guitarwall
Image

parts of our Percussioncollection
Image


and a screendump from the screens:

Image

Sorry for the quality of the pics but getting decent pictures in this studio,
is almost impossible due to black walls and only lowlight halogen light sources.

I used to have way more gear installed but i've streamlined the workflow now.
Using only the gadgets i cant live without.

Should mention that the lower screen is multitouch and i use it all the time with cubase,
the ability to start tweaking with fingers on any effect or synth is AWESOME.
Though the touch capability was reduced in pro8 (compared to C7.5),
so i've made a few custom functions using autohotkey for more touchcontrol.
Software: pro8.64bit, Renoise 2.8, Live9.1, Soundforge9, Win7(ult),So many ScriptTweaks
DawHardware: i5-4690 (4c@3.5ghz) 8gb,evo ssd, Uad1, Emu 1212, Line6 ux2,Behr.ua-202
Ctrls: HannesG23", ipad2, Maudio Triggerfinger,Behr.bcn44, 2*iphone3gs,CustomKeyb.

Outboard: Digitech Studioquad, Samson 4s, Roland SpaceEcho, TC Electronics M-One ,
Behr. Modulizer+Sharc, Zoom 1201fx, + assorted fx and mixers.
Synths: Maudio Venom,Waldorf Blofeld,Clavia Nordmodular,Korg Er1, Syntecno Teebee mk2,
Korg Ms20(old ver),Yamaha Cs10, Yamaha An1x, Roland u20

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:53 am

Installed a DIY punchlight in my drum room to compliment the one in the vocal booth.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 6748_o.jpg
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by BriHar » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:43 pm

How have you got it triggered?
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:12 pm

I've go two. The one in the vocal booth is the Punchlight USB which comes with a utility you run on startup and you setup in Cubase as a remote device on MIDI port 2 and its basically plug n play from there. The one in the photo (live room) is connected to my digital mixer's GPI port and is triggered by the board itself.
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Patanjali » Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:08 am

EtnoRazz wrote:Should mention that the lower screen is multitouch ...
Is it working in full multi-touch mode within Cubase? That is, is it using a special driver or mode that enables it to operate like iC Pro and give you true multiple touch foci so you can operate multiple faders at once?

Or is it just giving you what Windows 8.x gives to any non-touch program like Cubase? That is, a single touch that pinches the mouse focus -- the cursor disappears while touching, but reappears at the last touch point when the mouse is moved.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Patanjali » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:10 am

BriHar wrote:You mention not being soundproof; that doesn't surprise me as you have no mass. Insulation alone will not soundproof.
The problem is that I have too much mass, but I would rather you not bring up my personal issues! ;) ;) :lol: :lol:

Insulation is a combination of mass, stiffness and absorption, and it changes with frequency. Also, given some of the wavelengths involved, as with Faraday cages, things don't have to be solid and uniform to be relatively effective. The metal grid, which is heavy, effectively provides some stiffening and merged weight with the foam. That combo is less effective at higher frequencies, but that is where the innate better absorption of the foam takes over. Also, the foam is fairly weighty and stiff of itself. Some Acoustisorb 3 specs. We used the 100mm.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:24 pm

Upgraded my mixing console with the optional meter bridge and got a new groovy rug for the console room:
Attachments
11118628_10152677471205836_8670484265447242398_n.jpg
(90.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
EtnoRazz
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by EtnoRazz » Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:52 pm

Patanjali wrote:
EtnoRazz wrote:Should mention that the lower screen is multitouch ...
Is it working in full multi-touch mode within Cubase? That is, is it using a special driver or mode that enables it to operate like iC Pro and give you true multiple touch foci so you can operate multiple faders at once?

Or is it just giving you what Windows 8.x gives to any non-touch program like Cubase? That is, a single touch that pinches the mouse focus -- the cursor disappears while touching, but reappears at the last touch point when the mouse is moved.
Only single (wierd emulated mouseclick) touch in cubase.. And Cubase seems to have problems when grabing some of the controls using touch. It seems to be related to touch instantly clicking and not doing mouse hovering. So if i move a fader, the fader wont react until i've draged it a certain lenght. But if i trigger a shifttoggle through a touch flick macro, the faders respond instantly.
Software: pro8.64bit, Renoise 2.8, Live9.1, Soundforge9, Win7(ult),So many ScriptTweaks
DawHardware: i5-4690 (4c@3.5ghz) 8gb,evo ssd, Uad1, Emu 1212, Line6 ux2,Behr.ua-202
Ctrls: HannesG23", ipad2, Maudio Triggerfinger,Behr.bcn44, 2*iphone3gs,CustomKeyb.

Outboard: Digitech Studioquad, Samson 4s, Roland SpaceEcho, TC Electronics M-One ,
Behr. Modulizer+Sharc, Zoom 1201fx, + assorted fx and mixers.
Synths: Maudio Venom,Waldorf Blofeld,Clavia Nordmodular,Korg Er1, Syntecno Teebee mk2,
Korg Ms20(old ver),Yamaha Cs10, Yamaha An1x, Roland u20

User avatar
Rotund
Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Rotund » Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:52 am

Still working on the place but I took some photos with the phone...
Attachments
Through the Window.jpg
(191.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Both Racks.jpg
(370.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Main 4 Left.jpg
(205.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Samplitude Pro X2, Studio One 3.5, CD Architect 5.2, RME Raydat, UAD PCIe Quad+Duo.

Outboard:
Moog Model D (Vintage), Sub 37, Minitaur, Slim Phatty, DSI OB-6 Desktop, Prophet Rev2 8 Voice, Roland Integra 7, SE-02, Korg Prologue 16, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo.

User avatar
Rotund
Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Rotund » Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:38 am

Three just wasn't enough...
Attachments
Skateboard Cables.jpg
(180.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Laney in Booth.jpg
(192.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Live Room 1.jpg
(193.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Samplitude Pro X2, Studio One 3.5, CD Architect 5.2, RME Raydat, UAD PCIe Quad+Duo.

Outboard:
Moog Model D (Vintage), Sub 37, Minitaur, Slim Phatty, DSI OB-6 Desktop, Prophet Rev2 8 Voice, Roland Integra 7, SE-02, Korg Prologue 16, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo.

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:47 am

Added a 2nd console which is now cascaded as a slave to double everything. Also added a new monitor stand solution by Vivo.
image.jpg
(108.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by Strophoid » Tue Jun 09, 2015 8:09 pm

Both Rotund's studio and Cmaffia's look very nice!
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by cmaffia » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:14 pm

Strophoid wrote:Both Rotund's studio and Cmaffia's look very nice!
Thanks!
bastudio.jpg
(45.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

TheNavigator
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Studio pics!

Post by TheNavigator » Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:47 pm

Now, after I did a lot of work...

http://666kb.com/i/czf2l5v1kjb211c8s.jpg

sqixz
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 1:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Studio pics!

Post by sqixz » Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:36 am

Strophoid wrote:So, I redid the whole room, because the dinosaur wallpaper kinda had its time, and I needed space for my latest acquisition, a CP5!
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also got a tablet holder for my Surface 2 next to my drumkit, which is great for playing along with tracks or sheet music!

I'm really happy with the result, as I've got a lot more space now. Especially the drumkit is set up a good 40 cm wider than was previously possible. I still need something nice to put on the wall, any suggestions?
Wow! It looks really good


ทันทุกเหตุการณ์ อัพเดตรวดเร็ว ทุกคู่ ทุกแมต ได้ที่นี่ livescore ภาษาไทย

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests