Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by JACKnight » Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:00 pm

Hi,

I'm wondering if using a 2nd comp to run heavy sampling apps via VST System Link is still an good option, or if there's something better now.

Thanks

Jack
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.0, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 9.5.50

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by TabSel » Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:35 pm

Vienna Ensemble pro?

User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by JACKnight » Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:00 pm

Hey....very interesting looking app...

But that still doesn't address the needs of the other vst's or samplers such as Kontakt or Halion.

Thanks for that though...gonna check it out
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.0, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 9.5.50

Eddie Stealth Studio
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:55 am
Contact:

Re: Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by Eddie Stealth Studio » Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:08 am

i've got fx teleport which works. although i've never actually got around to using it on a real session. you just need a gigabit network card in master and slave pc and your fx and instruments show up. i'm fairly sure the technology is used by cakewalk in sonar for their 64 bit bridge; the graphics look extremely similar...
support is poor to non existent but i think the product is still for sale (i got it about a year ago).
i've succesfully teleported BFD2 and wizooverb w5; both of these are cpu hogs.
ed
Stealth Recording Studios, Glasgow UK
0141 554 9244

veetguitar
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by veetguitar » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:50 am

Vienne Ensemble Pro works with all kinds of vst (au) instruments.

User avatar
JACKnight
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Is VST System Link still a going concern?

Post by JACKnight » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:40 pm

Yup...right you are...

Took the time to view the vids....seems like a great way to go

Thanks for that!

Jack
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX1050ti / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / Fireface 802-ADI-8pro / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 10.5.0, Nuendo 8.3.20, Wavelab 9.5.50

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests