What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Jaytexx
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Contact:

What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Post by Jaytexx » Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:21 pm

Happy me! I just landed a new composing gig giving me the oppertunity to finally go 64 bit.

I'll need a new DAW with lots of RAM, and of course I'll be buying Windows 7 64 bit. But what version of Windows 7 should I choose for optimal use as a DAW?

Maybe I don't need the most expensive version? Or maybe I do?

Any recommendations?

I'd sure like to hear about your experinces with Win7 64 bit and Cubase (I should probably upgrade from C5 to C6 also?)

Cheers
----------------------------------------------------------------
Intel Core i5-3570K CPU 3.40 GHz, Asus P8z77-v lx Motherboard, 32 Gb RAM, 2 x WD HD, MAudio Delta Audiophile 2492, M-Audio MIDISPORT 2x2

Win7 64, Cubase 8.5 64 bit, Halion3.5, Spectrasonics Stylus RMX, Omnisphere, Trilian, Kontakt 5, Halion Sonic SE.

nexis
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Post by nexis » Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:54 am

I use Windows 7 Pro 64 bit and it works great! Hope this helps.

nexis
Cubase 10.5 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 Separate TB Drives, BluRay Burner Dual Monitors

Guest

Re: What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Post by Guest » Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:58 am

Here are the specs for all editions of W7.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... _windows_7

User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Post by GroovinDJ » Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:12 pm

I'd say that it'd make sense to choose the one with the smallest footprint that still has the features you need.

i.e. don't buy the fattest bloated version just because it's the 'top' one, if you don't actually need any of the extra functionality.

From what I've seen, the 'extra' stuff in the 'top' version(s) is mainly related to business usage - security/encryption/large network... so not really relevant to studio use.

Oh, and if you're going 64 bit - make damn sure that all your hardware and software supports 64 bit!
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: What version of Win7 64 bit should I choose?

Post by Bernard Focquet » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:05 pm

GroovinDJ wrote:From what I've seen, the 'extra' stuff in the 'top' version(s) is mainly related to business usage - security/encryption/large network... so not really relevant to studio use.
Pro, Utimate and Enterprise support more physical memory up to 192GB and up to 2 Physical CPUs, other releases support less memory and are limited to one physical CPU.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest