cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:48 am

steve p wrote:Calypso,
What do you mean with whine?
Hi steve

I didn't mean to whine with you or against but certainly I understand the problem of being "forced" to upgrade to a higher system just to be able to use Cubase as intended.

I had been using XP a while ago when SX3 was all the rage but moved on when Vista came out and went for a more stable (but slower) AMD system.

There were many bad reports about Vista, and yes I had many crashes but it is quite stable now particularly on SP2, as well in particular with XML service pack updates.

Anyway I too am not keen to move on to W7, at least until a service pack comes out on that system. I know both Vista and W7 use virtually the same audio stack, so as far as support is concerned maybe it is best for all users to at least try the new "paradigm" for wanting of better terms but as you did not list OS specs it is difficult to know.

Cheers :mrgreen:

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Johnny B Richman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:13 am

Win 7 SP1 will bring no new functionality - only collection of security fixes (all already available through MS Update - naturally) thus there is no point at all in waiting for it (this time).
This OS is simply not comparable to Vista at all = it rocks.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:42 am

Johnny B Richman wrote:This OS is simply not comparable to Vista at all = it rocks.
Rubbish.

Vista and W7 are identical in terms of the audio stack, except W7 is more focused on audio in a managed environment.

lights
Member
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by lights » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:54 am

Cubase 5.5.2 x64 on win7 x64 runs like a champ on my system. Totally reliable. Can't speak to C6 because it doesn't arrive for about 24 hours.
-darren
music: www.lightsfadelow.com
follow lights fade low on facebook


i7 980x 18GB RAM; ProFire2626; Win7; everything x64

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Johnny B Richman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:56 am

calypso wrote:
Johnny B Richman wrote:This OS is simply not comparable to Vista at all = it rocks.
Rubbish.

Vista and W7 are identical in terms of the audio stack, except W7 is more focused on audio in a managed environment.
You're hopeless.
OS is not about audio / whatever stack only.
Read posts thoroughly and think about the statements they contain.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:03 am

Johnny B Richman wrote:You're hopeless.
Post reported.

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Johnny B Richman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:09 am

calypso wrote:
Johnny B Richman wrote:You're hopeless.
Post reported.
... and childish.
BTW following your logic "Win 7 = Vista" then how could the SP 1 (with no new functionality) make it "better" anyway?
People like you make my life much funnier.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:24 am

Johnny B Richman wrote:... and childish.
Added to foe list.

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Johnny B Richman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:31 am

It gets better and better.
I feel honored.
My question was naturally ignored.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:37 am

Johnny B Richman

I had decided in my grace to display your post.

As for Service pack releases they are milestones in the development cycle.

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by NYC Composer » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:38 am

As mentioned in another thread, it would seem that Sanctimony, er, "Calypso" -is back again with a new name.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:46 am

NYC Composer wrote:As mentioned in another thread, it would seem that Sanctimony, er, "Calypso" -is back again with a new name.
It would also seem that MAC users have now buttoned down a bit and accepted the new status quo, that they aren't so elite as to require their own forum and can contribute just the same and maybe even do justice to the furthering of Cubase on their preferred system but that is beside the point of this topic which is about 5.5.2 running on a 32 bit system of which we have yet to know exactly what system that is.

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by NYC Composer » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:02 am

It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:08 am

NYC Composer wrote:It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
Post reported.

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Johnny B Richman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:12 am

The club is growing.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

JohnOnKeyz
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by JohnOnKeyz » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:07 am

I've had 5.5.2 for a few months now, and once I got everything tweaked and removed a couple errant plugins, I've had no problems. It may take a little tech knowledge (stuff like disabling services that share memory space, java auto updates, adobe auto update, Win (x) auto updates, and removing any bloatware you can find, etc...).

I won't be moving to 6 for a while yet, but 5.5.2 is ideal here. Instability on your particular system would not be a reason to not upgrade. It's gotta be something in the system (or plugins), not the DAW itself.

I think the final tweaks made for 5.5.2 were actually targeted for 6, and then for some reason it was decided to implement them earlier. In any case, I'm happy. Keep tweakin!
John
(Maryland, USA)
~~~ the Aftereffekt ~~~ - - - - - | | | - - - - - ~~~ Slyd Studios ~~~

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Conman » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:23 am

Cubase my be fairly cheap to buy but you do need a certain outlay for it to run stable. The expense is mainly system resources.
Unless you're a student or composer of works using a basic "band" setup using the latest OS and drivers and hardware for that version (in this case C6 and win7) is pretty much essential for most users. Of course you can use what you want but I wouldn't recommend it.
At this level of powerful, albeit affordable, DAWs there is no mileage in claiming that the "proper" ie: latest OS, drivers etc. are too expensive. To buy a DAW these days without the proper research and budget allowance is pretty unrealistic.
That's not snobbery, it's the way it is. The DAW may not be expensive but the cumulative expense in both time and money and study of the whole system and the way it works is a reality that won't go away by any arguing about it that we may undertake here.
If you're a tradesman or an artist preparation is the key to sound working practises.
In short nobody here is being snobby by recommending W7 and no-one is banning anyone from using XP or Vista if they want to that I can see.
So I really don't see why names are being taken down so they can be shot in the morning. :mrgreen:
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by NYC Composer » Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:19 am

Guest wrote:
NYC Composer wrote:It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
Post reported.
Oh look-my post was reported by"'guest". Jeez Louise.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 835
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Norbury Brook » Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:01 am

Conman wrote:Cubase my be fairly cheap to buy but you do need a certain outlay for it to run stable. The expense is mainly system resources.
Unless you're a student or composer of works using a basic "band" setup using the latest OS and drivers and hardware for that version (in this case C6 and win7) is pretty much essential for most users. Of course you can use what you want but I wouldn't recommend it.
At this level of powerful, albeit affordable, DAWs there is no mileage in claiming that the "proper" ie: latest OS, drivers etc. are too expensive. To buy a DAW these days without the proper research and budget allowance is pretty unrealistic.
That's not snobbery, it's the way it is. The DAW may not be expensive but the cumulative expense in both time and money and study of the whole system and the way it works is a reality that won't go away by any arguing about it that we may undertake here.
If you're a tradesman or an artist preparation is the key to sound working practises.
In short nobody here is being snobby by recommending W7 and no-one is banning anyone from using XP or Vista if they want to that I can see.
So I really don't see why names are being taken down so they can be shot in the morning. :mrgreen:


Absolutely, things move on guys; you can't keep supporting old code/practices for ever. If you want the new features then get the hardware to go with it, otherwise don't upgrade the software,keep what works on the hardware you have. Don't update and then complain it doesn't work on your old hardware,that just seems bananas to anyone who uses a computer regularly. I mean look at apple and whole PPC-intel move, they had to move with the times and that meant inevitably users were forced into new hardware,like it or not,and, as we all know apple hardware isn't a cheap upgrade!!

MC
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 5700XT- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

DaveDaveDave
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by DaveDaveDave » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:37 am

NYC Composer wrote:It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
BTW, is this person also "cramar"? Similar writing style... also appears as "Guest" to me...
Cubase 6.0.3, Wavelab 7, Halion 3.5, Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 3
MC Control/Mix iMac RME UFX

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by HowlingUlf » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:00 am

DaveDaveDave wrote:
NYC Composer wrote:It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
BTW, is this person also "cramar"? Similar writing style... also appears as "Guest" to me...
Funny thing, it seems that everybody who's been guested so far have the exact same behavioral pattern of technical confusion, asskissing of mods and hi post count members, urge to have the last word at any price, inability to logical reasoning, about the same DAW setup. What's even funnier is that they appeared one after another in a long string so when one got guested the next magically popped up with 15-20 post a day ... all of them. Or the same. Let's ask Sherlock Holmes ... ;)

What's tragic is that I have the time to figure all of the above out! :oops: :lol: But next week I can't do that anymore because then I'm busy again! 8-)

no ... make that 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

DaveDaveDave
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by DaveDaveDave » Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:02 pm

HowlingUlf wrote:
DaveDaveDave wrote:
NYC Composer wrote:It seems you are the same dweeb under any number of forum names.
BTW, is this person also "cramar"? Similar writing style... also appears as "Guest" to me...
Funny thing, it seems that everybody who's been guested so far have the exact ...
What's tragic is that I have the time to figure all of the above out! :oops: :lol: ...
:oops: for me too, but man - I can't believe how "they" always get me roped in! :lol: :)
Cubase 6.0.3, Wavelab 7, Halion 3.5, Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 3
MC Control/Mix iMac RME UFX

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Patanjali » Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:40 pm

I think it says a lot that Steinberg has found Win7 worth supporting EXCLUSIVELY so soon after its release (and before SP1!). All their eggs in one basket!

That says a lot for how stable and reliable they think (and probably tested) Win7 is.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

wizardofice
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:56 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by wizardofice » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:37 pm

5.5 on win 7 64 and on vista 64 both very stable. I also have xp but never use it anymore since wavelab 7. XP was always too buggy not only for music but for anything, not a very good os.
Cubase 5.5, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Saphire pro 40, win 7 and Vista 64,

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests