cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
steve p
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:14 pm
Contact:

cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by steve p » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:17 pm

I've been using Cubase for more than 20 years, starting with Cubase 1.0 on an Atari ST520. Always been updating my hardware and software along the way.
At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far. It seems that Steinberg comes up with new versions every once in while with new features but also becomes more and more slow and unstable. As the operating systems became more and more rocksteady, we can not blame this anymore.
Compared with SX3, wish I never upgraded. 5 takes ages to start up, crashes often and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes. Tried other pc's, so quite sure this is a software issue. Never had so many corrupt projects because of a crash! Not to mention the valueable time lost doing work again because data could not be recovered!
So, can not really convince myself to spend again more money (this grace period of 1 month really is a joke) to upgrade again to something with new flaws and defects with still my good old SX3 available. Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
Progress, at what cost?

User avatar
John Purser
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by John Purser » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:22 pm

Using C6 on Vista Home Basic WTF (and yes, I do use it for a living) and I'm not experiencing any more problems than I had with 5.5.2 and that was very useable for me
Cubase 10.0.15 | Halion 6 | Windows 10 home v1903 | 64 bit | Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz |16GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (MSI) |
Steinberg UR28M -w- Steinberg USB Driver V1.9.9 | Using Softube and Waves plugin

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by HowlingUlf » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:27 pm

strange ...
the general consensus so far seem to be that C5.5.2 was reasonably stable and C6>C5.
For me 5.5.2 was rock solid on one old and one new computer, and C6 is maybe even better?
maybe it's because it's a newer installation?
too bad won't work out for you! :(
But I very much doubt it's the software?
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:28 pm

steve p wrote:I've been using Cubase for more than 20 years, starting with Cubase 1.0 on an Atari ST520. Always been updating my hardware and software along the way.
At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far. It seems that Steinberg comes up with new versions every once in while with new features but also becomes more and more slow and unstable. As the operating systems became more and more rocksteady, we can not blame this anymore.
Compared with SX3, wish I never upgraded. 5 takes ages to start up, crashes often and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes. Tried other pc's, so quite sure this is a software issue. Never had so many corrupt projects because of a crash! Not to mention the valueable time lost doing work again because data could not be recovered!
So, can not really convince myself to spend again more money (this grace period of 1 month really is a joke) to upgrade again to something with new flaws and defects with still my good old SX3 available. Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
Progress, at what cost?
If you can´t convince yourself to upgrade - simply don´t upgrade... Most people here are probably not even interested in knowing why, apart from that it´s obviously the same reasons like in all those other "why upgrade?" posts - gets boring...
Obviously something isn´t working for you, that is for others, for whatever reasons...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:36 pm

steve p wrote:I've been using Cubase for more than 20 years, starting with Cubase 1.0 on an Atari ST520. Always been updating my hardware and software along the way.
At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far. It seems that Steinberg comes up with new versions every once in while with new features but also becomes more and more slow and unstable. As the operating systems became more and more rocksteady, we can not blame this anymore.
Compared with SX3, wish I never upgraded. 5 takes ages to start up, crashes often and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes. Tried other pc's, so quite sure this is a software issue. Never had so many corrupt projects because of a crash! Not to mention the valueable time lost doing work again because data could not be recovered!
So, can not really convince myself to spend again more money (this grace period of 1 month really is a joke) to upgrade again to something with new flaws and defects with still my good old SX3 available. Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
Progress, at what cost?
hi steve

i felt the same, been a long time user of cubase and never upgraded from sx3 to c5 till 1 week before c6 so managed to get the upgrade to c6 at grace period upgrade , had the worries of" will it or won't it" run on xp ,and yes sx3 was very stable that is why i never upgraded ,but i tell you this much for an unsupported os xp is doing very well indeed ,no issues with c6 at all apart from the little bug of xml's ,
so if you are looking for the new features of c6 it is more stable than 5.5 cause even in that 1 week i had issues with it ,but i haven't with c6 so its up to you if your willing to take the risk and use xp or vista with c6 untill you decide one day to upgrade to 7

regards
john

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:40 pm

another XP whine it would seem

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:45 pm

calypso wrote:another XP whine it would seem
looks that way !

steve p
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by steve p » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:09 pm

Calypso,
What do you mean with whine?

uarte
Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by uarte » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:15 pm

steve p wrote:At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far.
I don't have C6 yet (waiting for the delivery this coming week), but the only reason why I felt comfortable enough to buy it now was because C5.5.2 has been extremely stable for me, and it seemed like Steinberg really did well with it. I am taking a leap of faith with C6 that their quality control has been working well lately. (And I want to use all thsoe new features!) As for C5.5, I've had grueling 15-hour sessions with 100-track, 2-hour long projects with huge numbers of plugins, running without a single hiccup. If anything, C5.5.2 has been the best Cubase I've used so far. If you're experiencing stability problems with it, I'd suggest a top-down review of hardware, drivers, plugins, etc. just to make sure you're not overlooking some other subtle issue that might be impacting you.

Of course, our usage patterns could be completely different, and you might be exposing some serious bug in a feature that I don't use very often, but I work Cubase pretty hard in some sessions and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, as long as they're up to date with drivers, plugins, etc.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Patanjali » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:37 pm

The way everyone is talking out C6, it sounds like Steinberg's 'Win 7'!
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by neilhunter » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:25 pm

steve p wrote:..... Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
Progress, at what cost?
C6 will run in XP (it just isn't supported by Steinberg on that OS).
You can of course get 32bit W7, to ensure your VSTi's will all work too, but there is also a VSTBridge to help with 32bit VSTi's on a 64bit OS if you go that way.

Regards,

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

crofter
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by crofter » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:37 pm

I'm enjoying Cubase 6 immensely, rock solid, mind you I've never had many problems with any version of Cubase although in the past I've used the SL or Studio versions if that has anything to do with it.

Tarkio
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Tarkio » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:43 pm

This is the first I've heard of 5.5.2 being unstable. You must have some compatibility issues. It's rock solid for me, but I'm running Snow Leopard on a Mac Pro with tons of Kontakt 4 and Omnisphere multis and all memory servers enabled. These are huge sessions. I only hope 6 is as stable.

mindastray
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by mindastray » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:35 pm

John Purser wrote:Using C6 on Vista Home Basic WTF (and yes, I do use it for a living) and I'm not experiencing any more problems than I had with 5.5.2 and that was very useable for me
Me neither (on Win7 64-bit). Nothing wrong EVER. Ppl seem to just forget to upgrade their iron among the software. I guess some of them try to use C6 on the same crappy PC that they used Windows 95 in :D Software-issue MY HAIRY A** ! Purchase a decent piece of hardware and off you go.
__________________________
Tommi Tiihonen
Rock Works Studio
Producer, webmaster, gig promoter, graphics designer
--------------------------
WEB:
www.rockworksstudio.fi

mindastray
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:46 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by mindastray » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:45 pm

Like HELL is 5.5.2 unstable ! I bet your computer is - meaning the hardware of course.

Ppl seem to just forget to upgrade their iron among the software. I guess some of them try to use C6 on the same crappy PC that they used Windows 95 in :D Software-issue MY HAIRY A** ! Purchase a decent piece of hardware and off you go.

I have a PC with a sh*tload of huge software and the only reason that I got a bluescreen for, was the tweaking of the processor(s) core frequency too high (from the default 2,8GHz to 3,66GHz) and I lowered it a bit and there's nothing wrong.

Cubase 5.5.2 hasn't collapsed ONE TIME. Not once. And I use a lot of it, and squeeze every bit (well, almost) of the features out of it. It's probably the most stable software that I have, along the Adobe Creative Suite 5. And been using Cubase 6 like a maniac for 5 days now and not a single problem; It even brought in all the settings to the smallest detail from C5.5.2 and there was basically nothing huge that I had to do starting to use C6.

The only thing was the VST2 3rd party plugin paths that I needed to add. But the transition was sooo seamless and smooth that I have to give 10 full points to Steinberg of Cubase6 and also of it being completely stable even as an initial version! Seems like Steiny really put some value of properly testing their software before releasing - as opposed to some vendors that just wanna publish their SW A.S.A.P. and then releasing new updates two times a week.

I've been working with PC's since the year 1990 and have seen this kind of "it's unstable" jargon since the day one. Had to write out my opinions about that. Sorry if I offended some sensitive soul.
__________________________
Tommi Tiihonen
Rock Works Studio
Producer, webmaster, gig promoter, graphics designer
--------------------------
WEB:
www.rockworksstudio.fi

samicide
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by samicide » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:48 pm

steve p wrote: 5 takes ages to start up, crashes often and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes. Tried other pc's, so quite sure this is a software issue. Never had so many corrupt projects because of a crash!
I've never had a single corrupt project with 5.5.2. C5 is rock solid and I probably haven't seen a crash since C4 except when I exceeded the ram limit.
steve p wrote: old SX3 available. Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
the key word here is *old*
Cubase 9.5

User avatar
sturgeon
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by sturgeon » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:58 pm

5.5.2 has been totally stable here.
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, IC Pro, W10 Pro x64, Xeon X5675 (4gHz Hexa Core 12 Thread), Asus P6T, 12 GB 1600 MHz Corsair Triple Channel RAM, Samsung EVO 840 SSD x 1, 2 x SATA300 HD, EMU 1616m PCIE. Coolermaster V 700W PSU, ATI R5 230 2GB Passive GPU. 2 x 22" Benq Monitors, Focusrite VRM

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by neilhunter » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:15 pm

steve p wrote: At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far. It seems that Steinberg comes up with new versions every once in while with new features but also becomes more and more slow and unstable.
What is your PC's spec? CPU, chipset in particular. OS?
Some basic things: have you cleaned your PC out recently - I mean HD programs and system clutter? Is your CPU cooler and fan working and the fins clean? Is your system cool and not spiking in temperature in any way? :?:
Some people are shocked to see how much dust and rubbish gets inside a computer with the fans? :o
Have you tried a program called System Mechanic. I use it to good effect. :D
I find it strange that you are experiencing v5.5 problems, when everyone else is rock-steady. Tell us more about the system you run it on.

Cheers,

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

Andreas
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Andreas » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:32 pm

calypso wrote:another XP whine it would seem
The only member who is whining on the forums are you.
Geeez.. You whine in almost every topic.
Dont reply if you dont have anything better to say

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Conman » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:47 pm

Sounds to me like you need to find another 5.5 / 6 user near you to help configure your machine. Two heads are better than a forum for fixing this sort of thing.
I know from my own problems it can take ages to sort out this sort of thing and it's usually a silly fix.
I also find, that unless you're fishing for that one-off solution that might turn up, forums are the last place to be to solve the problem. All you get is loads of bile on your head and a bit more depressed about it. However a forum might be just the place to find someone local who's system is working. So ask.

I believe it's fixable but it can't be done from here in a hurry.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2199
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by HowlingUlf » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:09 pm

XP corrupted over time so a fresh operation system install usually did wonders.
I don't know how many times I've reinstalled XP and win98 was even worse haha.
But for a while after that they usually run kinda smooth.
Win7 is MUCH better and my DAW boot with only audio stuff is a little snappier than my other boot labeled LAB is maybe kinda bogged down by all sorts of crap haha :oops:
Hard to tell though, it could be imaginary, and I'm not using the same programs on both so ...

A fresh OS is a good tip, me thinks, if you haven't already tried that?
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:24 pm

im actually looking forward to upgrading to 7 when the money situation allows me to renew hardware that becomes obsolete (not all of us are millionaires) but till then (i speak for myself of cause) im just glad that i could on this present os take advantage of the new features that are in c6 ,this shouldn't be a "move over to 7" snobbery thing like some people are making it out to be ! somre people have other issues and yes some people over the years have been unlucky by choosing the wrong system to run cubase and lost stability but mine hasn't , but as they say "if it aint broke don't fix it ",
as we speak im installing 7 x64 on a new drive BUT i know i can't work with it for some time until the drivers for my hardware catch up ,so the only thing to do is stay working with the best system possible to me which happens to be a very stable xp .

sorry gone on a bit of a rant some people are just getting pro "anti xp "

regards
john

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1361
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by greggybud » Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:02 pm

steve p wrote: and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes.
1. Make sure you don't turn off your outboard MIDI interface/patch bay until you have closed Cubase. This is probably obvious to you, but if you turn off your interface, for example the MOTU MIDI timepiece AV, BEFORE you close Cubase...Cubase will never close.

2. If it's intermittent, a plug-in could be causing this. Does this happen with no plug ins installed other than the Cubase factory plugs? If it always shuts down perfect with just the factory plugs, then I would guess one of your plugs is causing the problem.

5.5.2 has been just fine with me on my year old XP computer that is dedicated to audio with no internet, games, or other non-audio programs. My only recent issues have been mouse freezes due to small electro static charges...
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

egelmett
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:38 am
Contact:

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by egelmett » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:17 am

mindastray wrote:Like HELL is 5.5.2 unstable ! I bet your computer is - meaning the hardware of course.

Ppl seem to just forget to upgrade their iron among the software. I guess some of them try to use C6 on the same crappy PC that they used Windows 95 in :D Software-issue MY HAIRY A** ! Purchase a decent piece of hardware and off you go.

I have a PC with a sh*tload of huge software and the only reason that I got a bluescreen for, was the tweaking of the processor(s) core frequency too high (from the default 2,8GHz to 3,66GHz) and I lowered it a bit and there's nothing wrong.

Cubase 5.5.2 hasn't collapsed ONE TIME. Not once. And I use a lot of it, and squeeze every bit (well, almost) of the features out of it. It's probably the most stable software that I have, along the Adobe Creative Suite 5. And been using Cubase 6 like a maniac for 5 days now and not a single problem; It even brought in all the settings to the smallest detail from C5.5.2 and there was basically nothing huge that I had to do starting to use C6.

The only thing was the VST2 3rd party plugin paths that I needed to add. But the transition was sooo seamless and smooth that I have to give 10 full points to Steinberg of Cubase6 and also of it being completely stable even as an initial version! Seems like Steiny really put some value of properly testing their software before releasing - as opposed to some vendors that just wanna publish their SW A.S.A.P. and then releasing new updates two times a week.

I've been working with PC's since the year 1990 and have seen this kind of "it's unstable" jargon since the day one. Had to write out my opinions about that. Sorry if I offended some sensitive soul.

+1 ;)
MacBook Pro: (15-inch, Mid 2012), 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB - Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB, MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5, built-in audio (mainly).
Generic PC: Intel i7-8600K @ 4.9MHz, 16GB RAM 3200MHz, Nvidia 1030GT, Windows 10 Pro (Whatever version...they keep updating behind my back), Steinberg UR44 Interface, Cubase 9.5

Guest

Re: cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

Post by Guest » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:35 am

5.5.2 is EXTREMELY stable for me.....the most stable I have ever had with Cubase......and I've been using it since the Atari days also. Windows 7 64-bit probably has something to do with it since it is also extremely stable....best Windows OS ever IMHO.

I also use J-bridge with my 32-bit plug-ins that have not gone 64-bit and everything works great.....and I have over 100 vst's instruments and FX installed.

To the OP- If 5.5.2 is that unstable for you, I'm afraid it is a deeper issue with your DAW.

Good luck getting it sorted out.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests