Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
BigDog
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:48 pm
Contact:

Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by BigDog » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:57 pm

In preparation for Cubase 6 i am upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7.
my only question is should I go 32 bit or 64 bit.
my specs are as follows:
Q6600 quadcore.....intel dg33xb mobo...3g ram....WD sata drives.....MR816x....CC121
UAD-1 pci.........axiom 49....BFD2.......ViOne

thoughts,....ideas?

thanks
Windows 7 HP 64 bit/Q6600 quad core PC...6g ram
Cubase6...HSO...UAD1..MR816x/CC121../Axiom 49
ProteusX.....ViOne........BFD2......

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by JMCecil » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:07 pm

If you are going to buy W7, you might as well go x64. I'd upgrade my memory if I were you though. That's really the biggest advantage, and you are going to take a hit on the OS usage of your 3GB. W7 uses significantly more than XP.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by Bernard Focquet » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:26 pm

I would go for Win7x64 bit even if you plan to stay with Cubase 6 32 bit and take that opportunity to add more memory to your system.
The only restriction to a 64 bit OS installation is that you'll mandatory need 64 bit device drivers for all hardware devices you have. Older hardware devices may not have 64 bit drivers available.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Tones2
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:14 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by Tones2 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:44 pm

If your devices have 64 bit Windows 7 drivers, definitely go 64 bit. There's really no reason NOT to.
Tony

I still want to move frozen VSTi parts, even in the new forum!

dcspears
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:05 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by dcspears » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:14 am

I just made that same upgrade. I went win 7 64x. I used windows 7 advisor to check my hardware for 64 compatibility. I then downloaded the appropriate drivers.

I chose to do a dual install. I have Win xp 32 on and win 7 64x on two different harddrives.

I found the upgrade to be painless. Took me about 10 man hours of install to get the rig up and running.


I had the intention of flipping back and forth (xp32 and win 7) but haven't. I've booted into xp only once since this install 2 weeks ago.

Of course, all of this was done in anticipation of cubase 6 which should be arriving in a few days.

go 64bit with windows. as for cubase 5.52, I use 64 bit flawlessly.

I haven't had to use the bridge software (my main pieces are virus ti 64 bit 4.1.5, geist 64 bit, dcam works fine, stylus rmx is fine, kontakt player 4 runs fine, and dimension pro is fine)

The only plug that I havent installed is the reaktor player (which does not run well in 64 bit daw).
win 7 64x
Cubase 5.5 64x
Steinberg Mr816x
Virus Ti
Giga ex58- ud3r
12 gb of gskill ram
core i7 920 stock

User avatar
Hopetown
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by Hopetown » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:42 am

Hey folks,

I'm looking to upgrade from Vista-U64 to Win7. I'm definitely doing 64bit since I'm already using a 64bit OS, but I'm wondering which one people have gone for? I have a dell laptop that came with home premium 64 and it runs fine. I think I remember reading that the Business class is more streamlined than full on Win7-Pro.

Just curious what others have done. Also where did you buy it? Probably gonna go for an OEM on ebay, but again, curious what others did.

My plan is do a clean install. Reformat the system drive and everything.

Thanks!
Pier Giacalone
Hopetown Sound Recording Studio
Doylestown, PA
http://www.hopetownsound.com

Nuendo 10.2 : 27" 4.2ghz 5K Imac (i7), 32g RAM | OSX 10.14.6 : Lynx Aurora (n) 24 Ch TB | Wavelab 10

dcspears
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:05 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by dcspears » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:05 am

I went with win 7 64x home edition. Got it from newegg.



I understood that there is a 16gb ram limit on this version but my motherboard ex58 ud3r also has a 16gb limit.




Ill be on windows 8 and the latest motherboard/CPU when I'm running out of 12gb ram.
win 7 64x
Cubase 5.5 64x
Steinberg Mr816x
Virus Ti
Giga ex58- ud3r
12 gb of gskill ram
core i7 920 stock

User avatar
Hopetown
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from XP sp3 to Windows 7 32 or 64 bit

Post by Hopetown » Tue Feb 01, 2011 6:30 am

Newegg has an OEM of W7Pro64 for $139. I think that's where I'm headed. The home versions don't have XP mode I think which may come in handy.
Pier Giacalone
Hopetown Sound Recording Studio
Doylestown, PA
http://www.hopetownsound.com

Nuendo 10.2 : 27" 4.2ghz 5K Imac (i7), 32g RAM | OSX 10.14.6 : Lynx Aurora (n) 24 Ch TB | Wavelab 10

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests