Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Rick Cutlip
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:22 pm
Contact:

Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Rick Cutlip » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:54 am

Why are Windows XP, Windows Vista and Mac OS X 10.5 no longer supported?
To ensure the best user-experience we only support officially the latest operating systems available.

Will someone please tell me what this means? Does it mean C6 will not work with XP? If so.... what do I need to do? I have a Sweetwater Creation Station I had built specificaly to use with Cubase. XP with SP3.

I have already ordered the C5 to C6 upgrade....I certainly hope this is not true. :shock:
Sweetwater Creation Station loaded with XP, Two Presonus Firestudio projects.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:58 am

Rick Cutlip wrote:
Why are Windows XP, Windows Vista and Mac OS X 10.5 no longer supported?
To ensure the best user-experience we only support officially the latest operating systems available.

Will someone please tell me what this means? Does it mean C6 will not work with XP? If so.... what do I need to do? I have a Sweetwater Creation Station I had built specificaly to use with Cubase. XP with SP3.

I have already ordered the C5 to C6 upgrade....I certainly hope this is not true. :shock:
:roll: obviously it´s quite clear what this means: Win XP is no longer supported but might work. If it does: good, if not: use C5 or upgrade your OS - in any case, XP is not supported. This has been announced on the old forums already. Check the forum, enough threads about this already, and the system requirements before buying next time...
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =81&t=1800
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =81&t=1818
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Bernard Focquet » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:09 pm

Rick Cutlip wrote:Will someone please tell me what this means? Does it mean C6 will not work with XP? If so.... what do I need to do? I have a Sweetwater Creation Station I had built specificaly to use with Cubase. XP with SP3.
That means that if you're lucky C6 will work on your config but don't expect any official support from Steinberg in case of troubles.
Anyway you'll have to consider one day an update/upgrade (hardware/OS) of your PC config as well.
That's the way things are going.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Rick Cutlip
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Rick Cutlip » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:35 pm

What OS is being recommended?
Sweetwater Creation Station loaded with XP, Two Presonus Firestudio projects.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Quietly » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:46 pm

Rick this horse has almost been flogged to death but from what I can gather it does work on XP but is only tested on Windows 7 for PC. It's called progress but the bummer for us Yamaha hardware owners with mLan is that Yamaha will not produce drivers for Windows 7. If I could afford it I would love to throw my 01X through Yamaha's shop window ;)

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =81&t=1818
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

Guest

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Guest » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:09 pm

it does work very stable on xp sp3 but you need netframe 3.5 sp 1.5 to make it stable , ive been running it now for 24 hours nearly non stop with 46 tracks going , loads of fx ,really pushing it and i have not had one glitch ! aaahh but i must add i never loaded up the vsti's as i don't use them so id say if for any reason it crashes it will be to do with the vsti's

regards
john

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Quietly » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:11 pm

filterfreak wrote:it does work very stable on xp sp3 but you need netframe 3.5 sp 1.5 to make it stable , ive been running it now for 24 hours nearly non stop with 46 tracks going , loads of fx ,really pushing it and i have not had one glitch ! aaahh but i must add i never loaded up the vsti's as i don't use them so id say if for any reason it crashes it will be to do with the vsti's

regards
john
Nice one John thanks.
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

Guest

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Guest » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:19 pm

Quietly wrote:
Nice one John thanks.
no prob , i can fairly say not one hickup ,the only thing i had to do was manually install it from its installer as every time i clicked on the auto load the page would come up but it would not let you install ,but saying that its installed perfect , reads all last project settings ,midi devices work ,hit points ,elastic pro is just so dam good ,i would go as far to say it seems even more stable than 5.5 at first use !

regards a very happy

john

Viking
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Viking » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:43 pm

+1 for what John said re the install. Otherwise all seems fine

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Quietly » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:48 pm

Viking wrote:+1 for what John said re the install. Otherwise all seems fine
Are you using VST's as John isn't although I can't imagine VST's being a problem?
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

Viking
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Viking » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:24 pm

I am using VST's. Not much playing around yet. I did manage to poof CB6 the other day. I had a project with the Grand 3 loaded plus a few audio tracks with many edits, comps etc. I went to the pool whislt the project was playing selecting all the audio files and went to select elastique pro... poof! It may have been something to do with RAM but I haven't been able to reproduce it whilst playing the project. It's fine when it's stopped

Guest

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Guest » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:45 pm

Viking wrote:I am using VST's. Not much playing around yet. I did manage to poof CB6 the other day. I had a project with the Grand 3 loaded plus a few audio tracks with many edits, comps etc. I went to the pool whislt the project was playing selecting all the audio files and went to select elastique pro... poof! It may have been something to do with RAM but I haven't been able to reproduce it whilst playing the project. It's fine when it's stopped
you only switch to elastic pro when in stop mode ,otherwise strange things will happen but thats not a bug ! ;)

regards
john

paulgade
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by paulgade » Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:38 pm

Seems to be working after taking Johns advice on manual install and netframe. So fingers crossed it all looks good.

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by neilhunter » Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:01 pm

Rick Cutlip wrote:

Will someone please tell me what this means? Does it mean C6 will not work with XP? If so.... what do I need to do? I have a Sweetwater Creation Station I had built specificaly to use with Cubase. XP with SP3.

I have already ordered the C5 to C6 upgrade....I certainly hope this is not true. :shock:

I've just received my C6 copy, and it seems to run fine on my XP 32 bit SP3 system.

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

User avatar
Keres
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Keres » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:16 am

Hi neilhunter -
neilhunter wrote:
I've just received my C6 copy, and it seems to run fine on my XP 32 bit SP3 system.
Is this without netframe - whatever that might be? (pardon my ignorance)
C6.0.7/ CC121/ XP 32 SP2/ 2xDelta 1010

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by neilhunter » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:38 am

I've never heard of Netframe.
I've just installed Cubase 6 on an XP based machine, and it works fine. That was the original point of this thread.

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Bernard Focquet » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:08 am

.Net Framework is a set of Microsoft Runtime libraries that are required to run an application depending on the development tool used to compile them.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Guest

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Guest » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:35 am

Bernard Focquet wrote:.Net Framework is a set of Microsoft Runtime libraries that are required to run an application depending on the development tool used to compile them.

Cheers,
Bernard
exactly that ,but sometimes when you install sp3 netframe 3.5 does not get installed ,ive learned from experience on that one but iv'e been told that it is the basic runtime that you get with sp3 so most people already have it , im just making the point that 3 other users have gone through the pain of finding this out , files missing on sp3 ,crashes and so on ,that is why i made a point of saying "to make it very stable " you require nf3.5 sp1.5 to replace the missing files ,but never the less what ever xp configuration you get it running on is all good as it allows us die hard xp users to pick and choose , me i just updated all sp's to make it run stable and i tell you what its absolutely spot on i can't believe how stable it is for a .0 and non supported product , 3 days now and not a glitch

regards
john

Rick Cutlip
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows XP not supported anymore?????

Post by Rick Cutlip » Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:16 am

Thanks guys. Feel better now!!!!!
Sweetwater Creation Station loaded with XP, Two Presonus Firestudio projects.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests