XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Laurence Payne
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:14 pm
Contact:

XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Laurence Payne » Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:28 pm

Which is it?

Chris Beuermann

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Chris Beuermann » Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:31 pm

Hello,

Not supported.

Cheers,

Chris

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by neilhunter » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:48 am

Chris,

So, please can you be more specific, and say it WILL run on XP, but isn't supported. Or it won't run on XP.
Say it "isn't supported" suggests that it will run perfectly well, but you won't support it. Am I right?

I saw your message to me saying you didn't test it on XP, but surely you know if XP will work? Or have you put a software block on being able to install onto XP?

Thanks,

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Split » Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:47 am

Unfair question.

C.B saying that it's not supported and didn't come outright and say it doesn't run (in my mind) be a strong indicator that is does run on XP, but the official statement is anything other than W7 is not supported. If C.B was to say it does run on XP and someone found it didn't run on their XP it would open him up to criticism.

Not wanting to speak for C.B I think this is as good an indication as you're going to get.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Viking
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Viking » Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:20 am

Wavelab 7 isn't supported on XP but it runs fine on my system. I would imagine that cubase is a little more demanding on the OS comapred to wavelab but...
Not sure I'm ready to jump to W7 so would love to hear from anyway who has got it running on XP.

edit: :oops: My original post said wavelab 7 IS supported on XP :roll:
Last edited by Viking on Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by neilhunter » Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:37 am

I find it a little strange that XP isn't supported, when probably 80% of the PC machines out there are XP. W7 is still quite new, and lots of people haven't made the move yet. It just seems too early to try to forget XP and move forwards with W7. I can see what they're doing, but it just seems a little premature to me. Cubase 7, yes, in 2013, but not C6 in 2011.

I will however be ordering C6 as I have a "Grace Period" purchase - I only got C5 two weeks ago!!! So I can try C6 on my XP system. If it works then great - if not, I have C5, and then move to C6 when I jump ship to W7 finally!

All the best,

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by GroovinDJ » Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:41 pm

IWBNI someone with inside access could just try it quickly, so that XP users know where we stand.

Obviously it's in Steinberg's interest to do this, as if it works then lots more people will upgrade!
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Quietly » Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:35 pm

GroovinDJ wrote:IWBNI someone with inside access could just try it quickly, so that XP users know where we stand.

Obviously it's in Steinberg's interest to do this, as if it works then lots more people will upgrade!

Yes come on Steinberg I'm not asking you to support it just tell us will it install and work on XP? If the answer is yes I'll buy it now. ;)
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by neilhunter » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:19 am

OK -

I hqave my order in there.....I have XP...and an order for Cubase 6.

I'm the Guinea Pig......i'll try it!! and let you know.!!

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

deadpoet
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:30 pm
Location: Antwerp (Belgium)
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by deadpoet » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:23 am

Same here, I'v ordered C6 and will try on XP. If it doesn't work I don't mind upgrading to W7 but I'll have to add a little ram though.


Herwig

ou81aswell
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by ou81aswell » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:00 am

I still have an older "Just In Case" rig running XP and Cubase 4 and 5 so I'm very interested to see what you pioneers discover.

XP is 10 years old. That's like 2048 human years! Of course there are still plenty of valid reasons for using XP but they'll be sounding tired pretty soon. I haven't used my "Just In Case" rig in over a year.

You can always tell who the pioneers are. They're the ones with the arrows in their backs!
Cubase 6 x64, Win 7, Core I7

Guest

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:29 am

When longhorn was first in beta I has SX running on it fairly stably.

In fact most of the issues came from the driver, so it's really down to how well your manufacturer (and OS) support the media functions.

Viking
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Viking » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:04 am

Aswell, wouldn't the pioneers have arrows in thier chest, or are you suggesting the poeple that follow the volunteers shot them in the back?
I've ordered the upgrade (steinberg shop said outta stock) and will install on XP SP3.
I've been toying with the idea of going to W7 for a few months now,RAM limitations get me fairly regularly. If CB6 doesn't work on XP I'll upgrade the OS... but which W7!!! It's the bitbridge Jbridge thing that worries me most, oh well, we'll see!

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Quietly » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:16 am

neilhunter wrote:OK -

I hqave my order in there.....I have XP...and an order for Cubase 6.

I'm the Guinea Pig......i'll try it!! and let you know.!!

Neil.
Thanks Neil much appreciated. Oh and my problem is not one of just upgrading to Windows 7 http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =81&t=1781
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

dawtuition.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by dawtuition.com » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:53 am

neilhunter wrote:OK -

I have my order in there.....I have XP...and an order for Cubase 6.

I'm the Guinea Pig......i'll try it!! and let you know.!!

Neil.
Respect Neil.... and good luck.

But don’t you just love the condescending attitude from admin here…. “It’s not supported”… I tell you what Stieny, honesty and transparency, it is not difficult.

Does it work on XP! - YES OR NO? cause your support sucks anyway. (They told me once to buy a new PC becasue they could not get Loopmash to appear on my system after 4 months!) Still not fixed... and I paid for support... 5.5.2 still has issues are they ever going to be fixed? NOPE!

easyman
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by easyman » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:54 am

And some of my major hardware that works flawlessly in XP does not have W7 drivers. That's why I donlt want to switch. I'm perfectly happy with XP and my hardware.

Look forward to XP results - keep us posted.

Will there be a demo version that we can try? That seems the easiest route - test first - then buy if it works out.

I believe there was a demo of C5.
take it easy...

dawtuition.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by dawtuition.com » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:11 am

easyman wrote:And some of my major hardware that works flawlessly in XP does not have W7 drivers. That's why I donlt want to switch. I'm perfectly happy with XP and my hardware.

Look forward to XP results - keep us posted.

Will there be a demo version that we can try? That seems the easiest route - test first - then buy if it works out.

I believe there was a demo of C5.
Of course, I never though of the hardware implications going to Win7!

Just thinking, legally if 6 contains fixes to 5.5.2 know issues for which we paid for (XP was supported with Cubase 5 purchase) then is there not some obligation to make those fixes available to XP users using Version 5 who cannot simply up route to Win 7.

Guest

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:13 am

dawtuition.com wrote:Just thinking, legally if 6 contains fixes to 5.5.2 know issues for which we paid for (XP was supported with Cubase 5 purchase) then is there not some obligation to make those fixes available to XP users using Version 5 who cannot simply up route to Win 7.
No.

dawtuition.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by dawtuition.com » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:51 pm

We meet again... lol

Ok! maybe not legally but what a terrible business practice, this cannot be right. I think its about time I got on my high horse. Who is my Euro MEP? They have significant powers over consumer/business protection and trade.

Guest

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:00 pm

Hi

No offence but maybe we need to get real?

It's software we are talking about no?

Software has a lifecycle, and the 5x lifecycle is over and now a new 6x lifecycle has begun.

There is nothing in any EULA that says Steinberg will guarantee that the software will operate in any given state, it is all about risk that the end user must assume, otherwise the software must not be installed.

samicide
Junior Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:32 pm
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by samicide » Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:11 pm

neilhunter wrote:I find it a little strange that XP isn't supported, when probably 80% of the PC machines out there are XP.

I doubt it.
Cubase 9.5

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by neilhunter » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:25 pm

OK, you may be right :? ; Linux is growing, but are people with DAWs still running Windows 2000/ME/98 etc???? I doubt it. To be honest, I don't know what the OS split is with Personal Computers running as DAWs, but I was just making the point that the majority of PCs will still be on XP at the moment I would have thought, meaning that Steiny's decision to make Cubase 6 'unsupported' on XP a little strange at this point in time. Sure, Windows 7 will have a significant % of users by now, and I guess there will be some Vista users running Cubase 4 quite successfully.
The point is, there will be many people not willing to ditch XP for a few more years to come. :)
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:38 pm

neilhunter wrote:The point is, there will be many people not willing to ditch XP for a few more years to come. :)
The point is: they don´t have to, no one forces them. Useless discussion... :roll:
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
neilhunter
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:22 am
Location: West Sussex, UK.
Contact:

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by neilhunter » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:47 pm

The whole point of this thread, was to determine if Cubase 6 will actually run successfully on XP, as Steiny says it'll only 'support' W7 based system - they won't say if it'll run or not definitively. Obviously no-one has tried it out yet as C6 was only announced three days ago, so we have no concrete evidence.
I think the discussion is completely valid, especially if C6 won't work properly on XP systems. However, I and a few others on this thread & others, have ordered our copies, to try it out. We'll let you know our findings when our copies arrive.

Regards,

Neil.
i7-3770 on Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Kingston HyperX 16Gb DDR3-2133, with Samsung 850EVO 250Gb SSD. Windows 10 Pro. Cubase 9.5 Pro, HALion 6, Cakewalk Z3ta+ 2.2, Rapture Pro & Pentagon v1.4, Padshop Pro. Behringer MX602 & Truth B2031A Monitors.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: XP - won't run or merely "not supported"?

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:52 pm

neilhunter wrote:The whole point of this thread, was to determine if Cubase 6 will actually run successfully on XP, as Steiny says it'll only 'support' W7 based system - they won't say if it'll run or not definitively. Obviously no-one has tried it out yet as C6 was only announced three days ago, so we have no concrete evidence.
So well, obviusly Steinberg also did not try it that´s how I understand the words "it´s not tested on XP", so why do you expect them to give a statement like "it will / will not work"...
Still useless discussion IMHO...Especially since there is a 2nd thread with the same content...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests