Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Neil_C
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Contact:

Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by Neil_C » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:22 am

Hi guys,

My old Microsoft Intellimouse Optical USB doesn't work with Windows 10 Pro: the extra buttons aren't working as they did in Win7.

Any suggestions for a new mouse? I like the extra buttons on the mouse which I use for scrolling left and right....

Thanks,
Neil
Cubase 9.5.2 with Windows 10 (x64)Pro
Intel(R) Core (TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.6GHz (Carillon AC1)
32GB RAM
RME Babyface Pro
Novation 25SL MkII (no automap loaded)
Sibelius 7.

ColinPark
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by ColinPark » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:48 pm

I did a lot of research on finding the best mouse. Considerations included durability, extra buttons (gaming mouse), control over the sensitivity (dpi), not looking garish (a mood influence issue), and reasonable cost. my solution was the Steel series 3 (Rival 300) in white. I've not tried to reassign the side buttons, but I'm pretty sure it can be done.
Win 10 (64 bit), 3.5GHz i7-4770K, 32GB RAM, Sabertooth Z87, Samsung SSD 850 Pro 512GB, RME fireface UFX, Novation 61SL MkII keyboard controller, Yamaha HS7 monitors. Cubase Pro 10.0.40], HALion 6, HALion Symphonic Orchestra, Dark Planet; Ozone 8 Adv, Neutron 3 Adv, Rx7 Std; Sonarworks Ref 4; Melodyne Essential 4.2.2.004

Stealth
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by Stealth » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:55 am

ColinPark wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:48 pm
I did a lot of research on finding the best mouse. Considerations included durability, extra buttons (gaming mouse), control over the sensitivity (dpi), not looking garish (a mood influence issue), and reasonable cost. my solution was the Steel series 3 (Rival 300) in white. I've not tried to reassign the side buttons, but I'm pretty sure it can be done.
Just curious, what key commands do you have assigned to the extra buttons? I'm looking into getting a gaming mouse for Cubase too.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, OSX Mojave 10.14, Cubase 9.0.4

ColinPark
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by ColinPark » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:55 am

I haven't defined any. I just like the idea of it. I was thinking in terms of transport controls when I decided to get it, perhaps previous/next marker or locator. Start(=play) + stop was another candidate. Or even previous marker + start. I haven't really got around to it. The transport controls seem to be the worst detour in my workflow.
Win 10 (64 bit), 3.5GHz i7-4770K, 32GB RAM, Sabertooth Z87, Samsung SSD 850 Pro 512GB, RME fireface UFX, Novation 61SL MkII keyboard controller, Yamaha HS7 monitors. Cubase Pro 10.0.40], HALion 6, HALion Symphonic Orchestra, Dark Planet; Ozone 8 Adv, Neutron 3 Adv, Rx7 Std; Sonarworks Ref 4; Melodyne Essential 4.2.2.004

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 715
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:25 pm

Most Logitech mouses can be configured to perform specific tasks to each button. But lets be honest, there are so many different commands to consider and a mouse can have only so much buttons to conveniently work with? I strongly advise you to investigate in a remote control device or start contemplating on how to arrange key commands in Cubase?
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by -steve- » Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:58 pm

I have a Kensington Expert Trackball which has four buttons, plus the lower two and upper two when pressed simultaneously, for a total of six functions.

I've been using it for years and years, and have experimented with different ways to use the buttons, and I always come back to this simple config:
LL: click
LR: double-click
UR: right-click
UL: ctrl-click
lower two: middle-click
upper two: unassigned, to hard to reach.

Anything more specific, like transport commands ended up being too specific, and would get in the way eventually. But ctrl-click and double-click are super useful. So, yeah, like Nickeldome is saying, horses for courses. ;)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Neil_C
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Looking for a new mouse (with assignable extra buttons)

Post by Neil_C » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:47 pm

Thanks guys - interesting to share ideas.
Looks like my current mouse (14 years old) needs replacing in order to work in Win10. It does work in Win7... but my main system has moved on.
Cheers,
Neil
Cubase 9.5.2 with Windows 10 (x64)Pro
Intel(R) Core (TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.6GHz (Carillon AC1)
32GB RAM
RME Babyface Pro
Novation 25SL MkII (no automap loaded)
Sibelius 7.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests