BIOS Set Up

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
titchyblackcat
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Contact:

BIOS Set Up

Post by titchyblackcat » Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:50 am

I hacve an Intel DQ77CP and i5 3470 motherboard
I'm having glitsches when playing a project and editing at the same time.
Is there a way to set up the cpu part of the motherboard (Hyperthreading etc) ?
Also i'm using the i5 graphics should i buy a PCI-E orAGP card ?
Cubase Pro 10 Wavelab 8 LE
Win 7 64 bit. Intel DQ77CP Motherboard with i5 3470 3.4Ghz Ram ddr3 8 GB
M-Audio 2496 Soundcard

Dragon96
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: Middle East
Contact:

Re: BIOS Set Up

Post by Dragon96 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:02 am

I think you should increase the buffer size of your sound interface
Adel Al Agha عادل آل آقا
Singer, Music Producer & Trainer
https://radionama.com
Image

titchyblackcat
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BIOS Set Up

Post by titchyblackcat » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:57 pm

OK Thanks
I've just read some articles on the Steinberg site about pc components
So, should i use ASIO guard or disable hyperthreading ?
Cubase Pro 10 Wavelab 8 LE
Win 7 64 bit. Intel DQ77CP Motherboard with i5 3470 3.4Ghz Ram ddr3 8 GB
M-Audio 2496 Soundcard

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: BIOS Set Up

Post by Nickeldome » Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:39 pm

If the average load on the performance meter in Cubase doesn't display extreme utilization and the overall real-time peak isn't getting near to red all the time but you get spikes anyway that result in pops and clicks it might help to optimize your bios settings. Look for cpu power settings and switch off all power saving options like c-states and speedstep. Also turning off turbo mode so the cpu runs stable at the stock speed can help stabilizing things. You can try if switching off hyperthreading helps but this is not always the case for every configuration. And make sure you have your power settings in windows set to high performance or use the Steinberg powerscheme. You can also play around with asio guard and see if that helps.
On the other hand if you notice a fairly high average load the best thing to do is to increase the buffer size of your audio interface until you won't get the clicks anymore. When mixing the increased latency won't matter. Only with playing/recording real time.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

titchyblackcat
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BIOS Set Up

Post by titchyblackcat » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:37 pm

Thanks I'll try that tomorrow
Cubase Pro 10 Wavelab 8 LE
Win 7 64 bit. Intel DQ77CP Motherboard with i5 3470 3.4Ghz Ram ddr3 8 GB
M-Audio 2496 Soundcard

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests