SSL Nucleus 2 or Avid S3 for Nuendo.

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
miguelnunes
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

SSL Nucleus 2 or Avid S3 for Nuendo.

Post by miguelnunes » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:17 pm

Hi,

Im planning to buy a new daw controller to increase my film mixing workflow.
Ive narrowed down to these two choices according to my budget.
Any input on how the S3 performs with the Eucon on Nuendo 7/8?
On one side, I can take advantage of the 2 pres on the Nucleus ( don't care about the ones on the S3), on the other side, the S3 seems to be a more customisable environment increasing workflow speeds.

Ill appreciate any kind of user input regarding the hardware in question,

Thanks.

miguelnunes
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: SSL Nucleus 2 or Avid S3 for Nuendo.

Post by miguelnunes » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:03 pm

no one?

User avatar
braincoral
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:20 pm
Location: on the faders
Contact:

Re: SSL Nucleus 2 or Avid S3 for Nuendo.

Post by braincoral » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:46 pm

I can't speak for the S3 or Nuendo, but my Nucleus 2 doesn't play well with Cubase 9.5 Pro. The default Cubase/Nuendo profile doesn't do what it says on the tin. I can't make head nor tail of it really.

I edited the default profile and managed to get it to at least open a VSTi window but that was it. COuldn't manage to edit any of its parameters.

I can change insert FX but not edit the parameters.

The scribble strips are all laid out in a weird way.

I gave up at that point. Not at all intuitive, which is what a control surface needs to be.

It's seamless with Logic Pro. Totally opposite experience. everything works. Everything is on a knob or fader. All plugin params come up on VPots, and the scribble strips are excellent.

Sorry I can't be of more help
Cubase Pro 9 | Mac Pro 5,1 OSX 10.10 | 2x 3.46Ghz Xeon Hex Core CPU | 18Gb DDR3 | UAD Apollo 16 | UAD Quad PCI-e | Toft ATB24 | Lots of outboard | Studer A80

Enough is too little; too much is enough

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests