Using a browser and Cubass at the same time

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
hornplayer2
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:04 pm
Contact:

Using a browser and Cubass at the same time

Post by hornplayer2 »

Hello,

I have sheet music on file on my computer, normally accessible by Windows Explorer as a viewer.

When I am running Cubase and want to record something, as soon as I hit record and then call up the sheet music in an explorer window Cubase stops recording. I can't have the music up on my screen and must either look helplessly as the recording process continues, or look at the sheet music while the recording stops.

I don't want to have to memorize an entire score note for note just so I can record on cubass. Any suggestions? I have never had this problem before with any other DAW.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Using a browser and Cubass at the same time

Post by Stephen57 »

Try going to Studio, Studio Setup and where it says "release audio driver when in background" (or whatever that is) uncheck it. I'm not sure if this will work or not, but if I've not tried that, see if it works.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a browser and Cubass at the same time

Post by fgimian »

Otherwise it could potentially be your audio interface. What sort of audio interface are you using and what OS?

On Windows, most allow you to run their ASIO driver along with Windows audio playing back. But there are ways around it if yours doesn't. My (very) old Echo Layla3G didn't do multi-client at all IIRC. Focusrite does ASIO + Windows audio but not ASIO + ASIO. RME does everything ... because it's RME :)
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest