Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
peterandu
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:22 am
Contact:

Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by peterandu » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:03 pm

Cubase is the best in function among DAWs. Have anyone here compare the audio quality of Cubase to Pro tools, Ableton or logic pro. To my ears, all the other DAW is much better in sound qualities. It is noticeable when doing mixing. If you export the individual track from cubase to any of the three DAWs for mixing, it sounds much better. I wonder whether Steinberg has find this issue and has any plan to improve it.

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2974
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by peakae » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:42 am

There has been done many comparison tests over the years.
The conclusion, they all sound the same.
They come with different plugins, they don’t sound the same .
The audio engines do, there is really only one way to sum multiple tracks if you are not using algorithms to emulate analog behavior.
You really can’t use your ears to determine a difference, ears are far to unreliable.
On the gearslutz forum, there has been many discussions about that topic. I would suggest joining one of them there.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Manike
Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Manike » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:44 am

peterandu wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:03 pm
It is noticeable when doing mixing.
If it is noticeable you've got a problem within how you've set up cubase - a common one is using control room and not muting the stereo outs outside of the control room so you get two signals playing at once.

As said - different plugins sound different but the engines sound the same.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.15 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

peterandu
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:22 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by peterandu » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:30 pm

peakae wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:42 am
There has been done many comparison tests over the years.
The conclusion, they all sound the same.
They come with different plugins, they don’t sound the same .
The audio engines do, there is really only one way to sum multiple tracks if you are not using algorithms to emulate analog behavior.
You really can’t use your ears to determine a difference, ears are far to unreliable.
On the gearslutz forum, there has been many discussions about that topic. I would suggest joining one of them there.
Thank you.

peterandu
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:22 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by peterandu » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:31 pm

Manike wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:44 am
peterandu wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:03 pm
It is noticeable when doing mixing.
If it is noticeable you've got a problem within how you've set up cubase - a common one is using control room and not muting the stereo outs outside of the control room so you get two signals playing at once.

As said - different plugins sound different but the engines sound the same.
Thank you.

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Gentoo » Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:02 pm

I'll just say, not being able to hear a difference is not the same as there not being a difference.

Manike
Member
Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Manike » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:11 am

They null so there is no difference
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.15 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by -steve- » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:24 am

Manike wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:11 am
They null so there is no difference
precisely... and that's the end of the story! :P
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:57 am

-steve- wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:24 am
Manike wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:11 am
They null so there is no difference
precisely... and that's the end of the story! :P
I was going to reply, but this actually says it all!

The only difference you'll hear is caused by the plugins used.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

Elien
Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Elien » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:18 pm

Well, Cubase has a superior sound quality. It is spicy, crunchy, mellow - and automatically adapts the falvour to the desires of the user. ;o)

Just kidding.

There is not difference.

And to add: If there WERE a difference - it would be by far hidden by all other factors you influence during your recording and soundcreation. Todays audio processing on the deep level is far away from accoustically relevant dimenstions - an absolute sonically stable foundation for whatever you intend to do.
Cubase 10.0.2 on Win 7 ultimate 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, 2x Matrox Graphics Card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap 4. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 10 Ultimate, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by greggybud » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:56 pm

Elien wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:18 pm
Todays audio processing on the deep level is far away from accoustically relevant dimenstions - an absolute sonically stable foundation for whatever you intend to do.
You mean to tell me 0's are still 0's and 1's are still 1's?? :shock:
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

xerix
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:13 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by xerix » Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:11 am

I remember setting up the EXACT mix on Cubase/logic/protocols

Cubase and logic sounded similar A/B.
Protools had this "shine" to it.
Buy this was 3 years ago, there all probs the same now

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Winter Rat » Sun Jul 21, 2019 10:48 pm

Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Yes I do it every morning. It's hard to come to any real conclusion so far.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

PleaseDontBanMe
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 4:00 am

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by PleaseDontBanMe » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:36 am

Check your pan laws. They could be different from DAW to DAW.

There's been a decades old myth, that somehow, SAW Studio has a sound to it that is noticeably more pleasing than all the DAWs, me thinks it's the LSD alternate universe GUI.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1277
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by matjones » Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:07 am

Winter Rat wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 10:48 pm
Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Yes I do it every morning. It's hard to come to any real conclusion so far.
Me too!

Every morning...... i find it helps to keep me regular :lol:
Cubase 10.0.20 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Stephen57 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:38 pm

Manike wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:11 am
They null so there is no difference
+1
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2283
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:26 pm

Cubase has been around for 30 years; I prefer the vintage warmth that only properly broken-in bits can produce.

I'll get my coat ....
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8891
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by -steve- » Thu Aug 15, 2019 12:27 am

MrSoundman wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:26 pm
Cubase has been around for 30 years; I prefer the vintage warmth that only properly broken-in bits can produce.

I'll get my coat ....
Yes, I totally agree. The older programs just have that je ne sais quoi - a warmth, a depth- it can't be measured or proven- you just gotta believe.

I wasn't wearing a coat when I arrived... was I?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1633
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Contact:

Re: Has anyone compare the audio quality between Cubase and Protools?

Post by Scab Pickens » Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:08 am

Shoe.

























































It's just a really strange word (to me) and I thought I'd ...




I often tap my shoe while driving, creating a sort of lurching and pulsating sensation.


Cubase 5.5 was the most fattestest, hella-supa-dopest sound engine ever. Fattestester, hella-supa-dopester than all the rest.

Thank you. Good night. We love you all.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests