Record effects output to a separate audio track

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
Steve.Turner
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:26 am
Contact:

Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by Steve.Turner » Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:39 pm

Scenario:

- Guitar recorded dry to an audio track in mono signal
- Send to FX channnel with a reverb applied
- Want to have the REVERB effect recorded to a separate audio track
- Want to be able to render the reverb effect separate to the guitar signal
- Want to be able to solo the reverb sound without the original guitar input

I get how to record audio and create an fx channel then send the audio to the fx channel

I just cant work out how to then record the reverb effect as discrete audio to treat as a new independent sound
Cubase 10.5 PRO, AI TP QC Controllers
i7 8700k, 32GB DDR4, WIN 10
Maschine Mk2, Komplete 12 Ultimate
Motu 828es, Motu 8pre, JLM Mic Pres, JLM Compressors
Loads of Eurorack gear, Moog Subsequent 37, Korg Minilogue XD
Custom Strat, DC30, Pedals and more pedals, Ceriatone DZ30

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by Strophoid » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:14 pm

It's actually very easy.
Set the output of the fx channel to 'no bus'.
Create a new audiotrack to record your reverb on, and simply set the fx channel as input of that audio track.
Arm the audio track for record, play through the entire song et voila :).
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Steve.Turner
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:26 am
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by Steve.Turner » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:15 pm

Ahhhh of course. Thanks.

I have some fun planned for the easter weekend now.
Cubase 10.5 PRO, AI TP QC Controllers
i7 8700k, 32GB DDR4, WIN 10
Maschine Mk2, Komplete 12 Ultimate
Motu 828es, Motu 8pre, JLM Mic Pres, JLM Compressors
Loads of Eurorack gear, Moog Subsequent 37, Korg Minilogue XD
Custom Strat, DC30, Pedals and more pedals, Ceriatone DZ30

jordiguzman
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by jordiguzman » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:48 pm

Hi, in Cubase 10 pro is not possible make this.
When I play the song for record, bounce, (in my case is the voice) the new audiotrack get the track of entire voice plus fx,not the fx single.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3968
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:42 pm

Show a screen shot of your routing.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

jordiguzman
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by jordiguzman » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:24 pm

Here it is. The track 'Voz' is routed to fx channel 'Reverb Voz' and the audiotrack 'Reverb Voz record' get the audio from the fx channel. Both channels have the same sound: the voice plus the reverb.
Image

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3968
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:15 pm

It's a bit hard for me to see what's going on because the resolution of the image is low, but it looks to me based on what you write and what the meters show that you're doing the following:

Audio track - output to -> FX channel -> Audio track (for recording).

If your reverb is now NOT set to 100% dry then of course you get both a part of the original signal (dry) and the reverb (wet). In order to ONLY get the reverb your reverb has to be set to 100% wet.

If you don't normally work this way then I'll just add that in order to get the balance between wet/dry you would route like this:

Audio track - output to -> main outputs
Audio track - SEND to -> FX channel
FX channel - output to -> reverb record audio track
Reverb record audio track - output to -> main outputs

Now, if you do this you set the balance between dry original audio and reverb either a) by adjusting the faders on the respective channels, or b) by adjusting the send level (or both).
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

jordiguzman
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by jordiguzman » Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:23 pm

Oh my...I'm a dumb.
I don't know for one magical reason I thought that the FX channel only output the signal in wet.
Thanks very much.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3968
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Jul 19, 2019 5:01 pm

np
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

PleaseDontBanMe
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 4:00 am

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by PleaseDontBanMe » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:33 am

Steve.Turner wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:39 pm
Scenario:

- Guitar recorded dry to an audio track in mono signal
- Send to FX channnel with a reverb applied
- Want to have the REVERB effect recorded to a separate audio track
- Want to be able to render the reverb effect separate to the guitar signal
- Want to be able to solo the reverb sound without the original guitar input

I get how to record audio and create an fx channel then send the audio to the fx channel

I just cant work out how to then record the reverb effect as discrete audio to treat as a new independent sound
Strophoid wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:14 pm
It's actually very easy.
Set the output of the fx channel to 'no bus'.
Create a new audiotrack to record your reverb on, and simply set the fx channel as input of that audio track.
Arm the audio track for record, play through the entire song et voila :).
You can also create dummy VST Connections outputs that aren't assigned to anything.

Robingardner
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by Robingardner » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:04 pm

Hello all!

I have a Lexicon hardware effects unit (or if you call it "outboard gear" or whatever ppl call these).

It's a Lexicon MX400XL with "Dual Stereo"

With this "reverb-unit" I can use two stereo FX channels (External FX) at the same time, which is pretty cool! :)

Below I try to explain how I added the hardware reverb on my drums - Snare & Toms (also, screenshots are from Cubase Pro 10).

1) First I setup the Audio Connections of the hardware in Cubase. I call them "Lex A" and "Lex B".
2) Then create two FX channels and insert the External FX on those.
3) Then making the Sends from those FX channels to the instruments I want the Reverb-effects on. And now I can hear the reverb when playing the drums in Cubase. But now I wanna move onto recording those effects on Audio Tracks in Cubase...
4) First I remove the "Output routing" to "no bus" on the FX channels.
5) Then I create two Audio Tracks in Stereo and add the "Input routings" from Lex A and Lex B and the "Output routings" to Master.
6) Then I just arm those two Audio Tracks and press Record in Cubase and let it record through-out the whole song to the end (it has to be in "real time").

That's about it! I'm also adding screenshots you can have a look at to decide what to do!

I'm also adding a two links to YouTube-videos where you can hear the drums with and without the Lexicon effects (on the Snare & Toms). I'm using EZDrummer 2 as the drum sound, though I havn't worked much on it yet… Just to give you some audio examples of the effects using this hardware unit (Lexicon MX400XL).

1) With Lexicon-reverb effects: https://youtu.be/Sz6e8-ZhktI
2) Without Lexicon-reverb effects: https://youtu.be/52o9mC6lF-Q

/Many regards from Robin Gardner.
Attachments
Lexicon MX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (both External FX inserted).jpg
Both FX channels
(72.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lexicon MX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (Insert External Lex A).jpg
Insert External FX
(151.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Recording LexiconMX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (Audio Connections).jpg
Audio Connections
(80.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Computer, OS, RAM & Hdd: Acer (Predator Orion 9000) fulltower computer. Win10 Home, 64-bit. Intel core i-7, 16GB RAM. 256 GB SSD.
Audio Interface: Steinberg UR824
DAW: Cubase Pro 10
USB: All kinds up to SS (super speed).

Robingardner
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Record effects output to a separate audio track

Post by Robingardner » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:07 pm

Here are the rest of the screenshots…

/Robin Gardner
Attachments
Lexicon MX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (recorded on Audio Tracks).jpg
Recorded the Lexicon FX channels to Audio Tracks
(112.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Recording LexiconMX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (MixConsole).jpg
MixConsole in Cubase
(169.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lexicon MX400XL in Cubase 10 Pro (Sends to Instruments).jpg
Sending FX channels to Instruments (Snare & Toms)
(160.91 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Computer, OS, RAM & Hdd: Acer (Predator Orion 9000) fulltower computer. Win10 Home, 64-bit. Intel core i-7, 16GB RAM. 256 GB SSD.
Audio Interface: Steinberg UR824
DAW: Cubase Pro 10
USB: All kinds up to SS (super speed).

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests