Page 2 of 2

Re: SDK Update / Tango?

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:34 pm
by jul75
Well....I'm running a N6 demo here with a SSL matrix, and what can I say? I miss a real control surface but I love it, I love it, I love it.....
Please steinberg bring me tango and I will be the most happy in my job....

Re: SDK Update / Tango?

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 5:35 pm
by fenderchris
TimoWildenhain wrote:

In the meantime, any 3rd Party using remote SDK is able to update the connection to Nuendo 6, it just means some
efforts are needed. Anyway, we will do our best to help where we can to speed up the process and will keep you informed about the status.

Timo
Hi Timo,

I know you are around, so perhaps you would be kind enough to take a couple of seconds to answer this:

Has anything been done 'to speed up the process'? (certainly nothing has been done to keep us informed).

chris
------

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:34 pm
by fenderchris
SmartAV have released a new version (v.3.2.2) which seems to cover many of the changes in N6.

There are lots of new programmable commands and the EQ seems to be working!

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:53 pm
by jul75
Good news, I would like to see it in action....

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 1:15 pm
by TimoWildenhain
Hello,

yes, this update should solve the problems. We have just discussed the status with Smart AV
and they assured us that it will be the solution.

Thanks,
Timo

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:03 am
by fenderchris
Oh, there you are - welcome back.

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:31 am
by Blueman
It's good to see you comment on this subject Timo, I thought we'd lost you!

The new N6 EQ is now properly mapped to Tango which is a great step forward. What's the situation with the new channel functions in N6 ( Tape/Tube Sat, Comps, trans shaper etc...) Will they be made available in the remote SDK?

Thanks
Andrew

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:32 am
by TimoWildenhain
Hello,

yes I'm still here ;-)
I try to be in the forums (and different topics) as often as possible.
However, I'll go to AES/NY soon which means I need to leave the
forum again for a couple of days...

Thanks
Timo

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:59 am
by fenderchris
Blueman wrote:It's good to see you comment on this subject Timo, I thought we'd lost you!

The new N6 EQ is now properly mapped to Tango which is a great step forward. What's the situation with the new channel functions in N6 ( Tape/Tube Sat, Comps, trans shaper etc...) Will they be made available in the remote SDK?

Thanks
Andrew
This is a quote from an email I received yesterday from SmartAV: "..we have no way of controlling new N6 MixConsole parameters until Steinberg provides us with documentation / new Remote SDK"

At the moment the Tango can only open and close the Racks, so it would be great if the Channel Strip effects parameters were made available in the Remote SDK.

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:20 pm
by TimoWildenhain
Hello,

the channel strip is a different topic. SmartAV - such as any other 3rd party - is using the remote connection kit at their own "risk" as it is not yet an "officially" supported Steinberg SDK. This is a known fact. However, as I stated in previous emails, we will try to help them where can to map the new parameters, even though they're able to do it themselves.
I will push this topic again inhouse.

Thanks,
Timo

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:05 pm
by fenderchris
TimoWildenhain wrote:Hello,

the channel strip is a different topic. SmartAV - such as any other 3rd party - is using the remote connection kit at their own "risk" as it is not yet an "officially" supported Steinberg SDK. This is a known fact. However, as I stated in previous emails, we will try to help them where can to map the new parameters, even though they're able to do it themselves.
I will push this topic again inhouse.

Thanks,
Timo
Hi Timo,

The Channel Strip is exactly what Blueman is referring to, not a different topic. Or would you prefer it if I started a new topic relating to why these new parameters do not appear to be available in the SDK and why the SDK is not yet officially supported by Steinberg even though N6 has been available for some time now?

Can you give any indication as to *when* Steinberg will officially support their own SDK?

I get the distinct impression that this whole issue is on the back burner for some reason; at least there certainly seems to be a nebulous nuage hanging over it!

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:43 pm
by TimoWildenhain
fenderchris wrote:
I get the distinct impression that this whole issue is on the back burner for some reason; at least there certainly seems to be a nebulous nuage hanging over it!
Hello,

that is a good wordplay actually ;-)

The reason why it is taking so long is that the remote control kit is no "SDK" as per common definition. It's rather an implementation on a developer level for those hardware companies not using HUI or EuCon. There are very few companies actually using the remote kit. However, that doesn't solve the problem in your case.
As I said, we need to give it another push on both sides, Steinberg and SmartAV. In the long run I see however the necessity of turning the remote kit into a "real" SDK as we are getting more and more requests for a Nuendo integration with hardware that isn't EuCon compatible.

When back from AES I'll take care of that there will be this "push". That's all I can say from "on the road" so far.

All the best,
Timo

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm
by fenderchris
Thanks Timo,

I was pleased with that one too!

That is encouraging information.

Gute Reise und viele Glueck,

Chris

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:03 pm
by Blueman
That's good news Timo,

I really hope you can push this along, so we can all update to N6 & live happily ever after on Nuage 9 (sorry Chris, can't top your wordplay)

Andrew

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:12 pm
by fenderchris
Blueman wrote:That's good news Timo,

I really hope you can push this along, so we can all update to N6 & live happily ever after on Nuage 9 (sorry Chris, can't top your wordplay)

Andrew
Not bad, not bad at all. :)

For those who may be in the market for one, let's hope it doesn't take nine versions to get it right!

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:14 am
by TimoWildenhain
I'll be at the Yamaha CA booth tomorrow 1:00 pm if some of you guys like to meet.

Thanks,
Timo

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:36 pm
by rav
Any news??

Thanks in advance.

Best regards.

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:55 am
by Keyplayer
So what ever happened regarding the Tango working with N6 (and, hopefully, 6.5)? Does everything work now? Is it safe to consider buying one?

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:33 am
by fenderchris
Keyplayer wrote:So what ever happened regarding the Tango working with N6 (and, hopefully, 6.5)? Does everything work now? Is it safe to consider buying one?
Yes - Tango software version 3.2.3 makes it compatible with Nuendo 6.

It works very well for me, although there are some minor 'focus' issues caused by the focus issues in Nuendo itself. Hopefully Steinberg will sort these out with the N6.5 update.

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:50 pm
by Dog and Pony
What Fenderchris said, it works very well with N6. john.

Re: SDK Update / Tango [SOLVED]

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:37 am
by illusionsong
I just want to add my 2 cents and thank Steinberg for continuing to support third party control surfaces such as Tango. I am a Tango user and truly feel I couldn't live without it. In its price range and beyond I don't believe any other control surface can match it.

Re: SDK Update / Tango [SOLVED]

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:42 am
by fenderchris
illusionsong wrote:I just want to add my 2 cents and thank Steinberg for continuing to support third party control surfaces such as Tango. I am a Tango user and truly feel I couldn't live without it. In its price range and beyond I don't believe any other control surface can match it.
Amen to that.

How about adding some details of your setup in your Profile?