SDK Update / Tango [SOLVED]

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
jul75
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango?

Post by jul75 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:34 pm

Well....I'm running a N6 demo here with a SSL matrix, and what can I say? I miss a real control surface but I love it, I love it, I love it.....
Please steinberg bring me tango and I will be the most happy in my job....

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango?

Post by fenderchris » Tue Oct 08, 2013 5:35 pm

TimoWildenhain wrote:

In the meantime, any 3rd Party using remote SDK is able to update the connection to Nuendo 6, it just means some
efforts are needed. Anyway, we will do our best to help where we can to speed up the process and will keep you informed about the status.

Timo
Hi Timo,

I know you are around, so perhaps you would be kind enough to take a couple of seconds to answer this:

Has anything been done 'to speed up the process'? (certainly nothing has been done to keep us informed).

chris
------
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved

Post by fenderchris » Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:34 pm

SmartAV have released a new version (v.3.2.2) which seems to cover many of the changes in N6.

There are lots of new programmable commands and the EQ seems to be working!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

jul75
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by jul75 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:53 pm

Good news, I would like to see it in action....

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by TimoWildenhain » Mon Oct 14, 2013 1:15 pm

Hello,

yes, this update should solve the problems. We have just discussed the status with Smart AV
and they assured us that it will be the solution.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:03 am

Oh, there you are - welcome back.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Blueman
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:46 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by Blueman » Wed Oct 16, 2013 10:31 am

It's good to see you comment on this subject Timo, I thought we'd lost you!

The new N6 EQ is now properly mapped to Tango which is a great step forward. What's the situation with the new channel functions in N6 ( Tape/Tube Sat, Comps, trans shaper etc...) Will they be made available in the remote SDK?

Thanks
Andrew
Nuendo 8.3.15
Windows 7 pro 64bit on i7-2600k @ 3.50Ghz/16G RAM
Smart AV Tango Controller plus 12ch extension bay
RME HDSPe madi

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by TimoWildenhain » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:32 am

Hello,

yes I'm still here ;-)
I try to be in the forums (and different topics) as often as possible.
However, I'll go to AES/NY soon which means I need to leave the
forum again for a couple of days...

Thanks
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:59 am

Blueman wrote:It's good to see you comment on this subject Timo, I thought we'd lost you!

The new N6 EQ is now properly mapped to Tango which is a great step forward. What's the situation with the new channel functions in N6 ( Tape/Tube Sat, Comps, trans shaper etc...) Will they be made available in the remote SDK?

Thanks
Andrew
This is a quote from an email I received yesterday from SmartAV: "..we have no way of controlling new N6 MixConsole parameters until Steinberg provides us with documentation / new Remote SDK"

At the moment the Tango can only open and close the Racks, so it would be great if the Channel Strip effects parameters were made available in the Remote SDK.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by TimoWildenhain » Wed Oct 16, 2013 2:20 pm

Hello,

the channel strip is a different topic. SmartAV - such as any other 3rd party - is using the remote connection kit at their own "risk" as it is not yet an "officially" supported Steinberg SDK. This is a known fact. However, as I stated in previous emails, we will try to help them where can to map the new parameters, even though they're able to do it themselves.
I will push this topic again inhouse.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:05 pm

TimoWildenhain wrote:Hello,

the channel strip is a different topic. SmartAV - such as any other 3rd party - is using the remote connection kit at their own "risk" as it is not yet an "officially" supported Steinberg SDK. This is a known fact. However, as I stated in previous emails, we will try to help them where can to map the new parameters, even though they're able to do it themselves.
I will push this topic again inhouse.

Thanks,
Timo
Hi Timo,

The Channel Strip is exactly what Blueman is referring to, not a different topic. Or would you prefer it if I started a new topic relating to why these new parameters do not appear to be available in the SDK and why the SDK is not yet officially supported by Steinberg even though N6 has been available for some time now?

Can you give any indication as to *when* Steinberg will officially support their own SDK?

I get the distinct impression that this whole issue is on the back burner for some reason; at least there certainly seems to be a nebulous nuage hanging over it!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by TimoWildenhain » Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:43 pm

fenderchris wrote:
I get the distinct impression that this whole issue is on the back burner for some reason; at least there certainly seems to be a nebulous nuage hanging over it!
Hello,

that is a good wordplay actually ;-)

The reason why it is taking so long is that the remote control kit is no "SDK" as per common definition. It's rather an implementation on a developer level for those hardware companies not using HUI or EuCon. There are very few companies actually using the remote kit. However, that doesn't solve the problem in your case.
As I said, we need to give it another push on both sides, Steinberg and SmartAV. In the long run I see however the necessity of turning the remote kit into a "real" SDK as we are getting more and more requests for a Nuendo integration with hardware that isn't EuCon compatible.

When back from AES I'll take care of that there will be this "push". That's all I can say from "on the road" so far.

All the best,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:23 pm

Thanks Timo,

I was pleased with that one too!

That is encouraging information.

Gute Reise und viele Glueck,

Chris
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Blueman
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:46 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by Blueman » Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:03 pm

That's good news Timo,

I really hope you can push this along, so we can all update to N6 & live happily ever after on Nuage 9 (sorry Chris, can't top your wordplay)

Andrew
Nuendo 8.3.15
Windows 7 pro 64bit on i7-2600k @ 3.50Ghz/16G RAM
Smart AV Tango Controller plus 12ch extension bay
RME HDSPe madi

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:12 pm

Blueman wrote:That's good news Timo,

I really hope you can push this along, so we can all update to N6 & live happily ever after on Nuage 9 (sorry Chris, can't top your wordplay)

Andrew
Not bad, not bad at all. :)

For those who may be in the market for one, let's hope it doesn't take nine versions to get it right!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 962
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by TimoWildenhain » Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:14 am

I'll be at the Yamaha CA booth tomorrow 1:00 pm if some of you guys like to meet.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

rav
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by rav » Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:36 pm

Any news??

Thanks in advance.

Best regards.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:55 am

So what ever happened regarding the Tango working with N6 (and, hopefully, 6.5)? Does everything work now? Is it safe to consider buying one?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by fenderchris » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:33 am

Keyplayer wrote:So what ever happened regarding the Tango working with N6 (and, hopefully, 6.5)? Does everything work now? Is it safe to consider buying one?
Yes - Tango software version 3.2.3 makes it compatible with Nuendo 6.

It works very well for me, although there are some minor 'focus' issues caused by the focus issues in Nuendo itself. Hopefully Steinberg will sort these out with the N6.5 update.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango? Possibly Solved!

Post by Dog and Pony » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:50 pm

What Fenderchris said, it works very well with N6. john.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
illusionsong
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango [SOLVED]

Post by illusionsong » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:37 am

I just want to add my 2 cents and thank Steinberg for continuing to support third party control surfaces such as Tango. I am a Tango user and truly feel I couldn't live without it. In its price range and beyond I don't believe any other control surface can match it.
J.P.

Computer: Mac 12 Core OS 10.75
Interface: RME Madi Fx
Converters: Orion / Burl B 80
Master Clock: UA 2192
Control Surface: Smart Av Tango
DAW of Choice : Nuendo 5.5 / Wavelab 8

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: SDK Update / Tango [SOLVED]

Post by fenderchris » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:42 am

illusionsong wrote:I just want to add my 2 cents and thank Steinberg for continuing to support third party control surfaces such as Tango. I am a Tango user and truly feel I couldn't live without it. In its price range and beyond I don't believe any other control surface can match it.
Amen to that.

How about adding some details of your setup in your Profile?
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest