[R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Read only! Use this forum for an overview of collected issues.
Locked
mightymike
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:09 am
Contact:

[R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by mightymike » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:01 am

I'm getting crashes if I use UAD Plugins (namely the Fairchild plugin), open it up and then try and close the mixconsole on Nuendo. Annoyingly it doesn't happen all the time!

Tried it on 2 different systems and get crashes.

The workaround is I never close the mixconsole window. Out of habit I do (in an attempt to keep the desktop clean).
Not sure if it's a gui related issue with UAD. However, since I stopped closing the mixconsole window, it has incredibly stable.
System 1: Mac Pro; Two 2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon; 64GB Ram; Dual AMD D700; 2x Apollo 16; OSX 10.10.1

System 2: Hackintosh; Mac Pro 2006 case mod; GA-z77MX-D3 TH; i7-3770k; 32GB Ram; Apollo (Thunderbolt); UAD Quad Satellite; OSX 10.8.3

Bassman
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:44 am
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by Bassman » Mon Apr 22, 2013 5:53 pm

I work with two UAD-1 cards (32Bit plugins), bridged with Steiny included Bridge (have jbridge also, but don't use it for UAD) and have no problems.
Quadcore 3Ghz / 12GB RAM
3 x 250GB HD + 1 x 1 TB HD
1 x UAD-1 / MaXiO XD
Win10 (64Bit) / Nuendo 7 (64Bit) / WLab 9
Bassists come most deeply !

riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by riwe » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:01 pm

mightymike wrote:I'm getting crashes if I use UAD Plugins (namely the Fairchild plugin), open it up and then try and close the mixconsole on Nuendo. Annoyingly it doesn't happen all the time!

Tried it on 2 different systems and get crashes.

The workaround is I never close the mixconsole window. Out of habit I do (in an attempt to keep the desktop clean).
Not sure if it's a gui related issue with UAD. However, since I stopped closing the mixconsole window, it has incredibly stable.
Which version of the UAD are you using? I'm using the latest UAD 64Bit plugins with N6 64Bit and have no problems so far. Also with the Fairchild compressor.
N 6.5.35 (32Bit & 64Bit) + NEK | WL 8.5.20 (64Bit) | W7 Pro x64 | 16 GB RAM | RME HDSP MADI | RME Firefcae 800 | UAD-2

mightymike
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:09 am
Contact:

Re: [ISSUE] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by mightymike » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:36 pm

I'm using the latest version but also using an Apollo quad via thunderbolt with a uad quad via firewire.

Maybe has something to do with drivers for apollo.
However, I'm happy to just leave the mixconsole window open and get on with work!
System 1: Mac Pro; Two 2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon; 64GB Ram; Dual AMD D700; 2x Apollo 16; OSX 10.10.1

System 2: Hackintosh; Mac Pro 2006 case mod; GA-z77MX-D3 TH; i7-3770k; 32GB Ram; Apollo (Thunderbolt); UAD Quad Satellite; OSX 10.8.3

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [CO] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by TimoWildenhain » Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:13 am

Hello,

I can confirm the issue. We're currently in contact with UAD to analyse the reason behind the problem.

This issue is marked with internal number R-6465 and will be added to the collected issues forum very soon.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

mightymike
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:09 am
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by mightymike » Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:31 am

Thanks Timo! You"re a star!
System 1: Mac Pro; Two 2.7GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon; 64GB Ram; Dual AMD D700; 2x Apollo 16; OSX 10.10.1

System 2: Hackintosh; Mac Pro 2006 case mod; GA-z77MX-D3 TH; i7-3770k; 32GB Ram; Apollo (Thunderbolt); UAD Quad Satellite; OSX 10.8.3

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by TimoWildenhain » Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:38 am

mightymike wrote:Thanks Timo! You"re a star!
:D
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

Juice
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by Juice » Tue Jun 04, 2013 11:33 pm

Hello,

I am a new user to Nuendo 6, I also have several UAD plugings that I like to use but, I'm also getting crashes every time I load SSL channel and the tape plugins.

Just upgraded to 6.0.4 and no luck still crashing. :(

Is there a fix to this

Best
Julius
Nuendo 6.0.5 32/64bit
Nuendo 3
Cubase 3
Mac OSX 10.6.8, 6GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ram
SSL X-Desk
SSL MADI AX

gph
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by gph » Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:22 am

+1 on wanting this resolved.

For those who haven't seen the UAD suggested workaround it is here: http://www.uaudio.com/support/uad/compa ... tions.html
Q: Will UAD version 7 work with Steinberg Cubase 7 and Nuendo 6?

A: We are working directly with Steinberg to resolve a Cubase 7 and Nuendo 6 issue with UAD Powered Plug-Ins and we currently do not recommend using these hosts with any version of UAD software. UAD Powered Plug–Ins version 7 is fully qualified with Cubase 6.5 and Nuendo 5.5.

The issue: Sample rate and/or buffer size errors can occur when using UAD plug-ins and Cubase 7/Nuendo 6 is set to anything other than a sample rate of 44.1 kHz and an I/O buffer setting of 1024. After the error occurs, the UAD plug-in does not process audio and "disabled" does not appear in the UAD Toolbar, so there is no way to determine if the plug-in is functioning (other than listening to it).

Note: If Cubase 7/Nuendo 6 are constrained to use only the 44.1 kHz sample rate AND the 1024 I/O buffer size, UAD Powered Plug-Ins may work, but again these hosts are unqualified and are not supported.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3328
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:10 pm

Have any of you tried the proposed "solution" to this? I think it's found at the uad forum. Something about putting actual .dll files of the plugs where "pointer .dll" files currently are.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

gph
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by gph » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:14 pm

Hi Lydiot - I haven't tried. Do you have a link to the DLL "solution"?, please.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3328
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:32 pm

gph wrote:Hi Lydiot - I haven't tried. Do you have a link to the DLL "solution"?, please.
I did a quick search now but can't test it because I'm working. Anyway, the links I found are:

http://uadforum.com/general-discussion/ ... post118361

http://uadforum.com/general-discussion/ ... post118695


If you try this out and it works, please let us all know.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:54 pm

I am losing my mind here with UAD/N6 problems. Seems the new adventures keep popping up... various errors leading to my Satellite disconnecting from Nuendo (usually, but not always in association with the iZotope RX2 spectral editor) and buffer issues as described in UAD's "Cubase7/N6 not qualified hosts" notice.

My workaround as of today: take UAD's notice at face value, at least during the editing process. I'm pulling all UAD plugins from the project and using N6's native stuff (de-esser, vintage compressor, brickwall limiter) as stand-ins, . May or may not bring UADs back for the mastering stage.

For what it's worth, I've been working on an almost daily basis with tech support at UAD in effort to identify what's going on over here. Though we have not solved any problems, the level of engagement has been humanizing and rewarding.

I hope this unhappiness gets figured out quick.

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by TimoWildenhain » Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:17 pm

Hi Chewy.

thanks for the information. We're working on this already.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [R-6465 ] UAD plugins and mix console

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:33 pm

TimoWildenhain wrote:Hi Chewy.

thanks for the information. We're working on this already.
Yes... that's what UA told me! Looking forward to having that fixed.

For what it's worth-- and I just passed this info on to the UAD, problems for me (primarily disconnection/jamming up of UAD Satellite) apparently go away after switching back to 32-bit. At least I haven't had a crash since trying it out this morning.

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

Locked

Return to “Collected Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest