WL keeps losing Audio Connections

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by bob99 » Sat May 02, 2015 11:50 pm

of course I'm making wild uninformed guesses about leeway that may or may not be true, but I'd love to be corrected with the correct information.
Windows 7, Windows XP

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Arjan P » Sun May 03, 2015 3:34 pm

I think you're right Bob. It's been my impression in the past too, that WL is very strict in interpreting the VST standard (or adhering to the standard at all), where several plugin companies don't take things so strictly and have no problems doing so in other DAWs that are also more lenient - including Steinberg's own Cubase.

But there's also the rendering approach in WL, where a copy of a plugin is taken for rendering. This also doesn't always play nice with plugin companies' expectations in plugin behaviour.

But whatever the causes of problems, hopefully a working solution can be found. I myself have been lucky so far, I guess, but then I also don't use very many 3rd party plugins..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.30 | Cubase 9.0.30 | HALion Sonic 2.0.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

Rat
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Rat » Mon May 04, 2015 1:10 am

WYCA wrote:As others have mentioned, I believe it is correlated with a change of Fs as I can see the RME control panel indicates it "wants" to be one sample rate, but has not physically made the switch. Will try to get a screen shot next time it happens.
WYCA ... One further thing: I have noticed that this seems to happen when I play ... for the first time in a session ... a file that I might have loaded up from a different drive to the session drive. Typically, a reference file at 16/44.1 that lives on another drive. So, when I switch from a session file at say 24/48 to listen to the reference file, that's when the RME typically hangs. But I can't reliably reproduce this. Also, once this 'happens' the system seems fine for the rest of the day.

So, I wonder if the different drives are a contributing factor.

If I discover any other clues I will share them. You don't have any easy job with all those systems.
Regards

Windows 10 Professional (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

WaveLab 9.5 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss, Class A Solid State and Custom Stuff

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by bob99 » Mon May 04, 2015 10:44 am

I tried Wavelab 8.5.20 with RME, on and off for a number of hours, and couldn't get it to hang or disconnect. Switching between all different sample rate files on different drives. Switching is instantaneous. But I'm still using 4-5 year old RME driver and firmware, so that might be a factor.

Win 7 64
Wavelab 8.5.20 32
RME HDSPe AES
RME Hammerfall DSP 3.08.4
Windows 7, Windows XP

Vocalpoint
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Vocalpoint » Mon May 04, 2015 4:10 pm

bob99 wrote:I tried Wavelab 8.5.20 with RME, on and off for a number of hours, and couldn't get it to hang or disconnect. Switching between all different sample rate files on different drives. Switching is instantaneous. But I'm still using 4-5 year old RME driver and firmware, so that might be a factor.

Win 7 64
Wavelab 8.5.20 32
RME HDSPe AES
RME Hammerfall DSP 3.08.4

Pop your RME up to 4.06 and see if the same smooth switching is still there.

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada

Vocalpoint
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Vocalpoint » Mon May 04, 2015 4:15 pm

Arjan P wrote:I think you're right Bob. It's been my impression in the past too, that WL is very strict in interpreting the VST standard (or adhering to the standard at all), where several plugin companies don't take things so strictly and have no problems doing so in other DAWs that are also more lenient - including Steinberg's own Cubase.
I am totally fine with a "strict" implementation but not when the implementation actually stops work in progress. As soon as that occurs - I am off to another host as - at that point - I really do not care how WL is interpreting the vendor's VST scenario - I just want to complete the job, get the invoice out the door and move on to the next one.

I can't see how being so strict as to have the user abandon the app during a project - is a good thing.

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada

WYCA
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by WYCA » Mon May 04, 2015 6:37 pm

Rat wrote:WYCA ... One further thing: I have noticed that this seems to happen when I play ... for the first time in a session ... a file that I might have loaded up from a different drive to the session drive...snip...So, I wonder if the different drives are a contributing factor.
Possibly. All our systems are continually having different project drives mounted through out the day. But I don't feel too strongly about that as a cause since there is not enough correlation. That is, I would expect freezing almost each time there is a boot up, which is not the case.

WYCA
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by WYCA » Mon May 04, 2015 6:41 pm

bob99 wrote:I tried Wavelab 8.5.20 with RME, on and off for a number of hours, and couldn't get it to hang or disconnect. Switching between all different sample rate files on different drives. Switching is instantaneous. But I'm still using 4-5 year old RME driver and firmware, so that might be a factor.

Win 7 64
Wavelab 8.5.20 32
RME HDSPe AES
RME Hammerfall DSP 3.08.4
Dang, bob99, you are a trooper!

I may have neglected to specify that all the AIO and AES-32 cards in our troubled WL8.5 systems are the PCIe version with the latest drivers.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by bob99 » Mon May 04, 2015 8:39 pm

Vocalpoint wrote:Pop your RME up to 4.06 and see if the same smooth switching is still there.
Thanks Bruce, I would, but from everybody's experience here, I think I might wait it out.

So everyone here with problems has newer RME sw than me? And Steinberg and RME still can't replicate?

WYCA, I went to your RME thread https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=21691 and he mentioned "Under XP you most probably used older drivers that never reloaded the devices upon sample rate change". Has anyone here with problems tried de-selecting "reset driver on sample rate change" in Wavelab preferences as a temporary test?
Windows 7, Windows XP

Vocalpoint
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Vocalpoint » Mon May 04, 2015 9:07 pm

bob99 wrote:Has anyone here with problems tried de-selecting "reset driver on sample rate change" in Wavelab preferences as a temporary test?
Yep. I had it both on and off and still did not help anything with my setup.

And I too have PCIe here.

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by bob99 » Mon May 04, 2015 9:15 pm

PCIe here too. Maybe RME and Steinberg haven't tried this recently? Don't really see responses indicating one way or another.
Windows 7, Windows XP

Vocalpoint
Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by Vocalpoint » Mon May 04, 2015 9:19 pm

bob99 wrote:PCIe here too. Maybe RME and Steinberg haven't tried this recently? Don't really see responses indicating one way or another.
I thought that PG replied to me in an earlier thread from long ago saying that he tested WL and RME in house and had no issues?

Found it! here...

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 89&t=76371

I find it odd that he has not chimed into this thread....like at all.

VP
Bruce McDonald
Vocalpoint Studios
Calgary, AB Canada

WYCA
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by WYCA » Tue May 05, 2015 12:48 am

Vocalpoint wrote:
bob99 wrote:Has anyone here with problems tried de-selecting "reset driver on sample rate change" in Wavelab preferences as a temporary test?
Yep. I had it both on and off and still did not help anything with my setup.
And I too have PCIe here.
Having "Reset driver on sample rate change" on or off has had no apparent affect on this issue on our systems.

I have been neglecting this topic over at the RME forum, where it is equally as relevant. I posted there again today with a link to this thread.

jrakarl
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by jrakarl » Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:06 am

WYCA wrote:
Rat wrote:Hmmm ... WYCA on our system the RME (AIO) will allow WL to play again after a short while. No refresh is required.
Sometimes it behaves as you described. But mostly when WL is put into play, its tranport and meters freeze and no sound. We have to wait until it snaps out of it. Hit play again - freeze again. Wait till it snaps out of it (maybe like 30sec). Refresh reliably solves the problem. As others have mentioned, I believe it is correlated with a change of Fs as I can see the RME control panel indicates it "wants" to be one sample rate, but has not physically made the switch. Will try to get a screen shot next time it happens.

Luck?!? Ha,ha, ha... would rather have the engineered solution from WL and/or RME.

There are lots of bugs in this version of WL. Bugs which effect some rather essential/fundamental procedures and are alarming. None the less, WL is an outstanding program for mastering and I believe PG will sort them out. I STRONGLY encourage PG to not wait too long.
This happens to me. Running an Echo Layla 24/96. No plug ins. A single audio file - no playback in Windows (windows 7). This is a massive pain in the arse. I have to move files over to a Mac and run WL on there in order to do any processing.

Was there any resolution to this widespread problem?
Jules Fox
JLF Film & Audio

Sound design; composition; publishing and creative arts

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by bob99 » Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:45 pm

jrakarl wrote:This happens to me. Running an Echo Layla 24/96. No plug ins. A single audio file - no playback in Windows (windows 7). This is a massive pain in the arse. I have to move files over to a Mac and run WL on there in order to do any processing. Was there any resolution to this widespread problem?
Have you tried switching from ASIO to MME in the Wavelab ASIO connections?
Did this work previously in earlier versions of Wavelab or Windows or before Echo Layla?
Are you also using the Echo Layla on the Mac?

JFMatte
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: WL keeps losing Audio Connections

Post by JFMatte » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:26 am

Hi,

I'm reviving this thread because I'm having very similar problems with Wavelab 9 used with an RME HDSPe MADI card (PCIe).

After a while in a session, Wavelab will just stop producing sound, but all the meters and the transport are still working. Just no more sound...

I too been through every possible parameters, I'm usually pretty good at trouble shooting, but this one baffled me. Until I found this thread....

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest