Mono Wav in AAC?

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
Flohre
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:06 pm

Hi there,

i also posted this question in the german forum...perhaps here has somebody a solution.
I created a watchfolder which should convert incoming audio files into "mp3" and "AAC".
When i put a stereo file in the folder everything works. But when i put a mono file in the folder, there pops up a window, that tells me, the aac codec cannot handle this format!
Can Mono-files (Wav, Aiff, etc) really not be converted into AAC?

Hope somebody has an answer :-)

Best regards from munich
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 8.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX, UAD quad, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by PG » Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:20 pm

AAC can create mono files, but not in all formats. What is the format of your input file? And what settings to you set for AAC?
Philippe

Flohre
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre » Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:41 pm

Hi PG,

thank you for your reply...here´s what i want to convert

Source File : Wav, 24bit, 48khz, mono

wanted destination AAC-File(Settings in Wavelab):Type: AAC, Name: m4a, Channels: like input, Samplerate: like input, Encoder: MP4 HD-AAC 24 CBR 256 kbs, Metadata: copy from source

What do you think? Should this work?


best regards
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 8.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX, UAD quad, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by PG » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:57 pm

MP4 HD-AAC 24 CBR 256 kb
Use something lower than 256 kb. In HD mode, this won't make a difference (lossless) but that will please the encoder.
Philippe

Flohre
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre » Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:42 am

Hi PG,

thank you for your reply!
You were right...bringing the Bitrate lower to 112, 128 kb/s solves the problem.
I saw afterwards that i wouldn´t benefit from higher rates anyway (regarding the filesize)

Thank you and best regards
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 8.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX, UAD quad, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

ZIK0650
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by ZIK0650 » Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:28 pm

Hello,
I have the same problem with a stereo file "Wav, 24bit, 48khz, stereo"
This file comes from an another machine under cubase.

The file is transfered in a second machine via an usb key.
Wavelab opens the files without problems.

I can do my job and save after that.

The "save under" AAC with the same sample rate with 24 bits resolution, Stéreo channels and 128kbps/crb kills wavelab

Wavelab is killed! and shut down. Windows 10 64bits is angry!

Same problem at 112kbps, 96kbps.

I have to use "freac" to convert my file "Wav, 24bit, 48khz, stereo" directly to AAC 128kbps! And the file plays!

Where is my mistake?

Regards

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2103
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by bob99 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 7:45 am

ZIK0650 wrote: Where is my mistake?
Are you using Wavelab 8.5.31, the hotfix?
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads.html
Which type of AAC? - LC? HD?
Works ok here on Windows 10 Redstone.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2103
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by bob99 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:28 am

ZIK0650 wrote: Where is my mistake?
Unless you're on Wavelab 9, in which case it should be fixed in the latest 9.0.30 update:
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads.html

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest