keyboard command assignment

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
kamalski
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:01 am
Contact:

keyboard command assignment

Post by kamalski » Fri May 10, 2013 2:58 am

under Markers the key shortcut "I" and then "S" creates a CD marker point.
when i want to assign that function to a different key shortcut I can not find the command that i want to change in the list.
a similar problem arises with other pre assigned key shorts.
any insight?

thanks
http://www.artofaudio.com.au
PC: AAVIM TECHNOLOGY PXS 6K
OS: Win10 64bit (update blocked!)/ MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/ CPU: Intel i7 6850K - 3.6 GHz/
RAM: 32 GB PC4 21300 Quad-Channel DDR4/ GrFx: NVIDIA Quadro NVS
monitor: 2x SONY Bravia 42"/ 2x UAD-2 OCTO DSP card/ RME Fireface UFX

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by PG » Fri May 10, 2013 6:49 am

I don't see what you mean. Please give an accurate example.
Philippe

kamalski
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by kamalski » Fri May 10, 2013 1:17 pm

hi phillipe.
the key short to create a CD track marker is "I" and then "S".
i open the key command assignment page to assign a different key short to that function.
but if i search for the "create CD track divider" command nothing shows. if i search for the existing key short "i" nothing shows.
so i am unable to reassign a new key command.
http://www.artofaudio.com.au
PC: AAVIM TECHNOLOGY PXS 6K
OS: Win10 64bit (update blocked!)/ MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/ CPU: Intel i7 6850K - 3.6 GHz/
RAM: 32 GB PC4 21300 Quad-Channel DDR4/ GrFx: NVIDIA Quadro NVS
monitor: 2x SONY Bravia 42"/ 2x UAD-2 OCTO DSP card/ RME Fireface UFX

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by PG » Fri May 10, 2013 1:29 pm

You must call this function:
2013-05-10_14-22-24.png
(58.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

kamalski
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by kamalski » Sat May 11, 2013 1:20 pm

very helpful phillipe. that worked great. thanks!
i wonder why the key commands are not part of the "options/customise commands" menu at the top, but a sub function in the marker tab.
i have the same problem re-assigning the command for "toggle loop playback" = "/" to a different key as i can not find the entry under customising commands.
so far i discovered 2 locations from where to customise commands: 1. in the main Options pull down and 2. under Functions in the Marker tab. are there other hidden locations for more key commands?

while getting into WL8 i also encountered a couple of other oddities:

1.when i place a plugin into the master section the plugin window stays always hidden behind the various floating meters that i placed on my right monitor (the left monitor is for the main window) and i have to hide the floating window to be able to see the plugin GUI.

2.when i use the "show/hide floating meters" button at the top it hides all open floating meters except the "loudness meter" which i have to separately hide by pressing the dedicated button.

3.in WL6 i was able to sort plugins in self created folders according to my needs. now it seems i can not do that anymore and have to adopt one of the given groupings like "vendor" or "type" with very strange results.

thanks
http://www.artofaudio.com.au
PC: AAVIM TECHNOLOGY PXS 6K
OS: Win10 64bit (update blocked!)/ MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/ CPU: Intel i7 6850K - 3.6 GHz/
RAM: 32 GB PC4 21300 Quad-Channel DDR4/ GrFx: NVIDIA Quadro NVS
monitor: 2x SONY Bravia 42"/ 2x UAD-2 OCTO DSP card/ RME Fireface UFX

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by PG » Sat May 11, 2013 1:39 pm

For the Loop shortcut, see:
2013-05-11_14-37-27.png
(46.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1.when i place a plugin into the master section the plugin window stays always hidden behind the various floating meters that i placed on my right monitor (the left monitor is for the main window) and i have to hide the floating window to be able to see the plugin GUI.
Is your Master Section floating? or inside the Control Window?
2.when i use the "show/hide floating meters" button at the top it hides all open floating meters except the "loudness meter" which i have to separately hide by pressing the dedicated button.
Right. This will be corrected in 8.0.2
3.in WL6 i was able to sort plugins in self created folders according to my needs. now it seems i can not do that anymore and have to adopt one of the given groupings like "vendor" or "type" with very strange results.
You can do this in WaveLab 8, and mode. Have another look.

Philippe
Philippe

kamalski
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: keyboard command assignment

Post by kamalski » Sun May 12, 2013 7:31 am

1.when i place a plugin into the master section the plugin window stays always hidden behind the various floating meters that i placed on my right monitor (the left monitor is for the main window) and i have to hide the floating window to be able to see the plugin GUI.
Is your Master Section floating? or inside the Control Window?

>>yes, the master section and meters are all floating.

"3.in WL6 i was able to sort plugins in self created folders according to my needs. now it seems i can not do that anymore and have to adopt one of the given groupings like "vendor" or "type" with very strange results.

>> yes, i figured it out. always nice to have a little brain gymnastics when you have the time. would be good to have an easy tutorial somewhere though.....
http://www.artofaudio.com.au
PC: AAVIM TECHNOLOGY PXS 6K
OS: Win10 64bit (update blocked!)/ MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7/ CPU: Intel i7 6850K - 3.6 GHz/
RAM: 32 GB PC4 21300 Quad-Channel DDR4/ GrFx: NVIDIA Quadro NVS
monitor: 2x SONY Bravia 42"/ 2x UAD-2 OCTO DSP card/ RME Fireface UFX

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest