Page 1 of 2

I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:58 pm
by Swi
I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily.

I'm still using protools to do this because it's easier to open protools and bring in the audio from my nuendo session that it is to go through the routine with Nuendo.

I want a "Bounce to Quicktime Movie" option under the file menu that make a quicktime clip of just that one small moment in the reel or episode.

Thanks for listening.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:16 pm
by Chewy Papadopoulos
As always, with this long-standing feature request, +1

Chewy

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:47 am
by gph
+1 !!!! Yes please! PT does it, DP does it. This would be one of the biggest timesavers.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:52 am
by curteye
+2
{'-'}

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:05 pm
by Sophiam
+1
Still using Protools as well for this.
S

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:54 pm
by goodbyenine
Plus 100

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:32 pm
by tomlobotom
Thank you guys for making me try this function after 5 years.
IT WORKS ! --- File/ Replace audio in Video.
(copy your video file first) make audio export and just replace it.
Some Video files make problems, but with QT H264 and 48/24 audio works nice. 5sec for 32sec file.
On all my macks from 10.6.8 to 10.9 with Nuendo 6.06 32/64.
juhu

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:16 pm
by Marsman
Yep this is missing. Used to have it in Digital Performer
Bounce to disk -> Quicktime movie
of the selected range

+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:27 pm
by gph
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:02 pm
by BFred
Seriously, I think it's about time that Cubase have that bounce to movie fonction.

Replace audio in video is useless for exporting a single movie scene. This is an essential tool. Not normal that we need another DAW to do this.

I have to use PT just to bounce a movie scenes also.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:09 pm
by octobersongs
In total agreement. This is just a re-post on Advanced Cubase Users Group.

For those of us working with video, how awesome would it be to be able to bounce the mix of the cue you’ve just finished writing and the dialogue track you’ve been referencing to a Quicktime within the locators in the project window? You know, like you can in Protools and Logic. Seems so practical, and efficient, and obvious.

Does anyone from Steinberg ever respond to these comments?

jc

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:39 pm
by Bruese
Hi,
I always use Format Factory a freeware coding sw .you can render separate Audio and Videofilmes to any wanted Format.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 10:18 am
by drorh4
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Mon May 12, 2014 12:28 am
by f.e
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue May 13, 2014 5:07 pm
by rav
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:24 pm
by indiescore
+1. This is mostly a professional use feature that's a must have for cubase and nuendo, and the lack of it has pushed me into looking at other daws

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:48 pm
by goodbyenine
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:58 am
by gph
Still crying out for this. +99999999999999999999

It drives me nuts having to open QT Pro and Add to Movie at the right spot - or at least the right spot plus two frames because QT Pro in Windows is so shonky.

My tears of laughter are turning to tears of frustration.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:09 am
by GTBannah
gph wrote:Still crying out for this. +99999999999999999999

It drives me nuts having to open QT Pro and Add to Movie at the right spot - or at least the right spot plus two frames because QT Pro in Windows is so shonky.

My tears of laughter are turning to tears of frustration.
Could you expand a bit, on this process?

Thanx!

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:38 am
by Keyplayer
Yep, +1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 2:48 pm
by gph
GTBannah wrote:
gph wrote:Still crying out for this. +99999999999999999999

It drives me nuts having to open QT Pro and Add to Movie at the right spot - or at least the right spot plus two frames because QT Pro in Windows is so shonky.

My tears of laughter are turning to tears of frustration.
Could you expand a bit, on this process?

Thanx!
Hi GTBannah.

Sure. I believe it is a "quirk" of the QT Pro app (on Windows at least)(?).

To pass a preview video with my sound to clients I export the audio from Nuendo, noting the timecode position I exported from. I then open Quicktime Pro, open the original video, go to Show Movie Properties, delete the Sound track from the movie properties, go back to the main movie viewer screen, locate the timecode position I want to drop in at, move the pointer an additional two frames to the right with the right cursor key (if I don't do this step the audio I lay in plays approximately 2 frames early), open in QT Pro the audio I exported earlier, select all and copy, go back to the movie, then Add to Movie, then either select the portion of the movie I want to share, paste into a new MOV, or save as-is, or export to a new format like MP4 or other.

I'm quite adept at doing this now, but I'd much prefer to hit "Export to Video" in Nuendo, given that I do this maybe 10 times a week, more often when working on short material back-and-forth.

Is that enough information on the process GTBannah?

Cheers.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 am
by lalithkr
+1

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:39 am
by tim_heinrich
+1 Logic can do this, too

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:19 am
by GTBannah
gph wrote:
GTBannah wrote:
gph wrote:Still crying out for this. +99999999999999999999

It drives me nuts having to open QT Pro and Add to Movie at the right spot - or at least the right spot plus two frames because QT Pro in Windows is so shonky.

My tears of laughter are turning to tears of frustration.
Could you expand a bit, on this process?

Thanx!
Hi GTBannah.

Sure. I believe it is a "quirk" of the QT Pro app (on Windows at least)(?).

To pass a preview video with my sound to clients I export the audio from Nuendo, noting the timecode position I exported from. I then open Quicktime Pro, open the original video, go to Show Movie Properties, delete the Sound track from the movie properties, go back to the main movie viewer screen, locate the timecode position I want to drop in at, move the pointer an additional two frames to the right with the right cursor key (if I don't do this step the audio I lay in plays approximately 2 frames early), open in QT Pro the audio I exported earlier, select all and copy, go back to the movie, then Add to Movie, then either select the portion of the movie I want to share, paste into a new MOV, or save as-is, or export to a new format like MP4 or other.

I'm quite adept at doing this now, but I'd much prefer to hit "Export to Video" in Nuendo, given that I do this maybe 10 times a week, more often when working on short material back-and-forth.

Is that enough information on the process GTBannah?

Cheers.
Sorry for the late response! I've been on other stuff for a while.

Just reading that made me DIZZY! It is so roundabout!

I came over here from Pro Tools because of unpredictable , un-explainable error messages and, more topically, erratic refusal to import audio from video files.

The "bounce to video" function is indeed a necessary and professional "basic" feature; and this is coming from a mere hobbyist post person at this time.

Re: I need to make quicktimes quickly and easily

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:01 am
by Mattinay
or even if not quicktime (which is a wrapper with costs to license) - an open standard such as mpeg 4. Just discovered this thread. I agree, quite a significant feature gap to not have such a basic ability for handling vision-in-bounce.