Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by LSlowak » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:55 pm

Thanks for providing a proper bug report, tuquoque.

I will make sure to discuss the topic within the team.
As of yet, I have no information when we can provide a solution for the problem.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:04 pm

You're welcome, Lars. But I can't wait three more years and as I said, I'm happy with latest Garageband now. Just wish I could somehow get my money back for buying a product I have no use as it doesn't work.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by LSlowak » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:23 pm

tuquoque wrote:
Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:04 pm
You're welcome, Lars. But I can't wait three more years and as I said, I'm happy with latest Garageband now. Just wish I could somehow get my money back for buying a product I have no use as it doesn't work.
Since app purchases are handled exclusively by Apple, please get in touch with Apple regarding your refund request.
Hope that helps.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:14 pm

Thanks for the tip! I did that and will get my 55 euro back in few days. Didn't know you can ask for refund from Apple. Please, post back to this forum when the bug is fixed. I'll reconsider Cubasis then. Thanks!

lordoid
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:26 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by lordoid » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:26 am

Hey Steinberg Team,
any news on this subject??
I ran into this problem when I used cubasis for the first time. This is a major bug and should be solved.Pleeeeease.
Greetings,
Stefan M

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2748
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by LSlowak » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:14 am

lordoid wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:26 am
Hey Steinberg Team,
any news on this subject??
I ran into this problem when I used cubasis for the first time. This is a major bug and should be solved.Pleeeeease.
Greetings,
Stefan M
Hi lordoid,

The issue is planned to be re-evaluated by our engineering, to check, if it can be addressed in the next Cubasis update.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:48 pm

LSlowak wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:14 am
lordoid wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:26 am
Hey Steinberg Team,
any news on this subject??
I ran into this problem when I used cubasis for the first time. This is a major bug and should be solved.Pleeeeease.
Greetings,
Stefan M
Hi lordoid,

The issue is planned to be re-evaluated by our engineering, to check, if it can be addressed in the next Cubasis update.

Best,
Lars

C’mon :j Over three years has passed since the original poster wrote about the bug and over a year since you said to me the bug will be fixed. LOL

mm70
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by mm70 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:37 pm

tuquoque wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:48 pm
LSlowak wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:14 am
lordoid wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:26 am
Hey Steinberg Team,
any news on this subject??
I ran into this problem when I used cubasis for the first time. This is a major bug and should be solved.Pleeeeease.
Greetings,
Stefan M
Hi lordoid,

The issue is planned to be re-evaluated by our engineering, to check, if it can be addressed in the next Cubasis update.

Best,
Lars

C’mon :j Over three years has passed since the original poster wrote about the bug and over a year since you said to me the bug will be fixed. LOL
Give it a lonestar rating at the app store. This will not solve the issue but maybe helps others not to burn good money...

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Sat May 25, 2019 9:07 am

Hi. Would like to buy Cubasis 2. Is this problem finally fixed in new version?

John1289
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by John1289 » Sat May 25, 2019 9:39 am

tuquoque wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 9:07 am
Hi. Would like to buy Cubasis 2. Is this problem finally fixed in new version?
Unfortunately no.but other that that, it’s one of the best DAW you could get on the iOS platform.

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Sat May 25, 2019 3:02 pm

Ok, thanks for replying. I’ll keep on waiting for the fix 😄

John1289
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Poin

Post by John1289 » Sun May 26, 2019 4:01 pm

tuquoque wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 3:02 pm
Ok, thanks for replying. I’ll keep on waiting for the fix 😄
😂 if I were you,I’d still purchase.its one of the best on the platform.the UI in my opinion is the best on iOS hands down.
Especially on the iPad Pro 11 inch it just looks beautiful.
Easy to navigate no multiple windows to dive in.
Straight forward app.
the loop timing issue is important yes,but there are workarounds.
I’m pretty sure the will get to the bottom of the issue.

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Sun May 26, 2019 6:20 pm

Thanks, I’m good with GB and other apps I have. I like the Cubasis interface but I use synced looper when I’m jamming or composing. Can’t do that with Cubasis because of bug. It’s useless for me.

User avatar
Hiltmann
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by Hiltmann » Mon May 27, 2019 9:17 am

Hi tuquoque,

Thank you for your exemplary bug description.

>Cubasis looses sync. Every new round of played loop points grows the time gap. The problem exists no matter how long the time between loop points >is (tested 1-8 measures)

That's right, this problem is known to us and is already in our bugbase. We are working on a solution.

best
Jan
Jan Hiltmann, Test Engineer - Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

mm70
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by mm70 » Mon May 27, 2019 11:20 am

Working on a solution for 2 years and more?
This thread has been started 5!!! Yeats ago. And 2!!! Yeats ago this issue has been acknowledged by Steinberg.
So the term "working on" does not apply??

User avatar
Hiltmann
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by Hiltmann » Mon May 27, 2019 12:27 pm

Hi, mm70,

I understand your anger and this problem has been known for a long time.

> So the term "work on" doesn't apply?

We are definitely working on a solution and sometimes it takes longer than we want.

Regardless of that, it's not in my hands how long it takes.

But on this point you have my support.

Greetings
Jan
Jan Hiltmann, Test Engineer - Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

tuquoque
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue when using Loop Points

Post by tuquoque » Tue May 28, 2019 5:47 am

I've seen this same problem in several soft and hardware sequecencers during my years. It usually happens because the software reads and/or buffers the track data before it starts to play back. In some apps this causes delay. Good luck with your work!

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest