Cannot change the time signature?

Post Reply
LuizGuitar
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:15 am
Contact:

Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LuizGuitar » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:29 am

Hi,

When I bought Cubasis my idea was be able to write songs on the road, make a very simple pre production and later throw it all inside Mac Cubase to finish the idea.

But I notice there is no way to change the time signature of a song between two bars, or even change the tempo in the middle of the song (gradually or at least suddenly).

This is very frustating for a software with this level (and price), because it's not a technical limitation, it's a musical restriction.

I hope to see this basic feature available soon, otherwise I wasted $50.

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by crohde » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:12 am

Hi Luiz,

At the moment it is not possible to change the tempo or time signature in a project.
This is however on our feature request list.
Of course we would like to have all features of Cubase in Cubasis now but please note that Cubase has had a development time of 25 years already and we just started with Cubasis! :)
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Akamarko
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Akamarko » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:36 pm

I had a piece I did recently that starts in 5/4 and then half way through changes to 4/4 time. The only solution was to record some basic rhythm tracks in 4/4 time in GarageBand, export it and then import into Cubasis and place on beat 1 of the first bar after the 5/4 section. Then added the rest of the instrumentation. Turned out fine.

But I agree, time change and tempo change over time is very much needed. Especially tempo change to give a more natural human feel to sequenced tracks.
iPad 2, iPhone 5, Mac Mini
iRig Keys, iRig Mic, iRig guitar, You Rock Guitar (midi guitar) Mobile In Guitar, GarageBand, Alchemy, Sunrizer, Cubasis, Music Studio, Amplitube, Mobile POD, MultiTrack, bs-16i, SampleTank, AudioBus, AmpKit, JamUp XT, G2M
Epiphone Les Paul Special GT
Music For iPad

LuizGuitar
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LuizGuitar » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:02 pm

Carlos,


I have my feet on the ground and know you can't rewrite a solid and old application, porting it to a more limited hardware, with all features, in few time. This is the reason I can understand the absence of features like VST, automation, time stretching/pitch tuning and others. I think it's easy to live without automation on your iPad, at least when you get home you can discharge your project into your computer and finish the edition+mastering. Same thing VST.

But with a musical limitation, I can't even start a song, just if I totally ignore the bars and record the songs out of metronome. But MIDI tracks will become weird.

The point is, I can't understand the role of Cubasis in this world yet, can't write songs on the road, can't make a final production replacing the desktop (and it should never try to). I think it would be nice to choose a direction and focus on it. I was very amazed the first time I open Cubasis, but soon I realized I don't have how to do anything from the beginning to the end. This is a little disappointing when you've spent a lot of money in an app.

Cubasis future seems to be brilliant, but today, it's aimless. No much more than amateur Garage Band, but with a much higher price.

My opinion, sorry, I don't want to offend. I am really anxious for change this opinion.

jansendirk
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by jansendirk » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:07 am

Hi Everyone,

Is there any new Development regarding this Feature? I just bought cubasis for ipad a While ago and cannot seem to find a proper way to capture Song ideas with Different Time signatures and Tempo changes, which is quite limiting.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:54 am

jansendirk wrote:Hi Everyone,

Is there any new Development regarding this Feature? I just bought cubasis for ipad a While ago and cannot seem to find a proper way to capture Song ideas with Different Time signatures and Tempo changes, which is quite limiting.
Hi jansendirk,

You've commented on a topic from Jan 2013, and Cubasis has evolved drastically since then.
"Tempo Track" is on our list for a future update.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

sacksmusic
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by sacksmusic » Fri Jun 17, 2016 2:29 am

So for the time being [Cubase 8.5] time signatures cannot be changed in the middle of a song?
If that's true that is a severe limitation to any sequencer.
Or am I missing something on how to do it? [I cannot change the "position" on my time signature track, so any change I make is always global]

User avatar
Ricardo Garcia
Member
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Ricardo Garcia » Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:54 am

Hi sacksmusic,

you are writing in the CUBASIS forum.

Best,
Ricardo
Ricardo Garcia, Steinberg Apps Support
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

mikeradcliffe7
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by mikeradcliffe7 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:12 pm

How do you change time signature to 6/8 as it will only allow 6/4?

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:54 am

mikeradcliffe7 wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:12 pm
How do you change time signature to 6/8 as it will only allow 6/4?
Hi,

As of yet, Cubasis allows to change time signature between 2/4, 3/4, 4/4, 5/4, 6/4 and 7/4.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

mikeradcliffe7
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by mikeradcliffe7 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:52 pm

Hi thanks for confirming. This is ridiculous as this is such a basic requirement. As this along with not being able to glue audio tracks and a very awkward dubbing system please can you arrange for a full refund of this software. I purchased an iPad Pro on the basis that this would be an viable alternative to Logic Pro. As this is not the case I am now having to repurchase a MacBook and Logic and sell the iPad. Mike

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:15 am

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your message.

As stated earlier tempo track/time signature support is on our feature list for future updates.

Cubasis gets updated on a regular basis, and we do our best to fulfil as many as possible user-requested features/improvements per update.
The app is driven by a very small but skilled team, some bigger feature requests - which applies for tempo track/time signature support - might take longer in the process.

To glue audio tracks, simply press the freeze button in the track list, which creates a new track below the original track.
In this context, please make sure to set the "Unfreeze Deletes Audio Track" option located in Setup/Arranger accordingly.

If you decide to part with Cubasis, please get in touch with Apple, who handle all app purchase matters.

Hope that helps!

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

agaland
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by agaland » Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:25 am

Hi Lars,

Any news on the tempo / time signature track feature? any ETA by any chance? I understand about the team being small, but even if it's a "big feature", it could have been planned as part of the main release, and not in an update, or very early, but not after a 2.0 version. This is actually a very common feature that everyone is using quite often…
I own Auria Pro, which has it. I could just use it, but I like using Cubasis whenever I'm working on a project on the go that I'll have to import into my Cubase later; one of the main reasons I've actually purchased Cubasis.
Anyway, please let us know.

Cheers!

ryanshirlow
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by ryanshirlow » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:59 am

I’ve managed to fake time changes by using the freeze track function on my my midi tracks and then stretching or shrinking the resulting components. Far from ideal, but it works, in a punk sort of way for simple projects, especially if you have only a few time changes per project. To change time signature it would be necessary to freeze various parts of the track and mess around a bit but it should be possible. Its a nuisance rather than a total road block. I agree that I hope to see this functionality in a future upgrade this year.

Steph33
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Steph33 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:25 pm

Hello Lars,
Any news on this? I’m on the verge of purchasing Cubasis, as I read that the UI gives a better experience than Auria Pro. However, my daughter’s first song includes a couple of lines ending in a bar of 3/4, in what is otherwise 4/4 time. So, changes in time signature seem to be needed right from the start of a person’s song writing and it will be a deal breaker ifor me if it’s not in an imminent update.
Stéphane

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:15 pm

Steph33 wrote:
Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:25 pm
Hello Lars,
Any news on this? I’m on the verge of purchasing Cubasis, as I read that the UI gives a better experience than Auria Pro. However, my daughter’s first song includes a couple of lines ending in a bar of 3/4, in what is otherwise 4/4 time. So, changes in time signature seem to be needed right from the start of a person’s song writing and it will be a deal breaker ifor me if it’s not in an imminent update.
Stéphane
Hi Stéphane,

Thanks for your message.
Tempo track/time signature support is on our list, but definitely takes some more time.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Don Craig
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Don Craig » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:06 pm

This is a fundamental feature for actual musicians. It has been requested for years now. It’s especially frustrating to see that less-necessary developments occur with each version/update, such as integration with hardware toys. Simply saying that it’s on the list is not enough for those of us who bought in at the outset believing that such a critical ability would be the top priority.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:36 am

Don Craig wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:06 pm
This is a fundamental feature for actual musicians. It has been requested for years now. It’s especially frustrating to see that less-necessary developments occur with each version/update, such as integration with hardware toys. Simply saying that it’s on the list is not enough for those of us who bought in at the outset believing that such a critical ability would be the top priority.
Hi Don,

As mentioned earlier, tempo track and time signature both remain on our list for future topics.
Due to the complexity, it still will take a while until it becomes available in Cubasis.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Don Craig
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Don Craig » Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:02 pm

Time signature change has been a feature of much more primitive sequencers/DAWs since, we’ll I won’t date myself. Do other iOS programs enable this? It’s been a goes-without-saying feature of Cubase since...
Please make looong-time users like me (I do a lot of theatre work from conductor’s score) happee happee by instituting time signature functionality, and while you’re at it, tempo change mapping as another absolutely necessary feature for making sophisticated music. (Think of the Pink Floyd song in 7/4 time for what I’d be willing to pay for these features).

EinnorGoks
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by EinnorGoks » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:23 pm

Hello!
I’m joining in to what other users have been saying. I’m after a 6/8 time signature. I hope there will be an upgrade to solve this issue soon.
Ronnie

Miguel de la Torre
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: Southend-on-Sea, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Miguel de la Torre » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:30 pm

I hope there will be an update soon to add these features. I am also after a 6/8 time signature and would like to have tempo changes within some of the pieces I will be playing. Any idea when these features will be added to Cubasis?

wilcofan
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by wilcofan » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:01 am

You have a customer here waiting to buy Cubasis the moment time signature + tempo changes become available.
Cubase Pro 10 | Windows 10 | HP Envy 15 | RME UFX II

Snardash
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by Snardash » Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:22 am

Ive been also wanting to buy Cubasis, specially with the offer thats going on right now
Is the feature now available?

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change the time signature?

Post by LSlowak » Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:12 am

Snardash wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:22 am
Ive been also wanting to buy Cubasis, specially with the offer thats going on right now
Is the feature now available?
Hi Snardash,

Thank you for your message.

The feature remains on our list for future updates.
At this moment I have no further information, when it will become available.

For further information what has been added to the app, please have a look at our Cubasis Version History.
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests