Master tuning

Post Reply
Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:37 pm

Hi all.

Bratwurst. No, that was 20 years ago in this forum.

Where do I change the tuning in Cubasis 2? I make all my music in another tuning than 440 so where do I change it?

Some regards - Knastratt
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:40 am

Hi Knastratt,

Thanks for your message.

There is no global tuning parameter available in Cubasis.

Audio and MIDI tracks can be transposed via the similar named function, located in the top sub menu bar.
The included Cubasis instruments come with appropriate tuning options.

Hope that helps.

Best wishes,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:50 pm

Are we talking Cubasis 2 for IOS now? I can’t seem to find it...

Thanks for replying, though. Cheers!
Bratwurst

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:07 pm

We are talking changing from 440 hz to i.e. old orchestral 409 hz etc. And we are talking in real time so I may play along a 409 hz performance.

Cheers!
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:00 am

Knastratt wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:07 pm
We are talking changing from 440 hz to i.e. old orchestral 409 hz etc. And we are talking in real time so I may play along a 409 hz performance.

Cheers!
Hi Knastratt,

As mentioned above, Cubasis does not feature global tuning changes.

Best wishes,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:24 pm

I cannot find the instrument tuning either. I can transpose but not tune. Can you tell me where I tune - not transpose, please.
Bratwurst

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:50 pm

So where are ”The included Cubasis instruments come with appropriate tuning options.”?
Bratwurst

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Fri Sep 06, 2019 6:01 pm

In my account they direct me here and here I get no answers.
Bratwurst

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Sat Sep 07, 2019 11:29 am

I thought Steinberg quit the silent treatment but apparently not.
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:29 am

Hi Knastratt,

Cubasis comes with a "Transpose" feature located under Setup/Keys / Pads.
The Micrologue synth included in Cubasis comes with pitch controls in semitones and cents.

As previously mentioned, there is no global master tune available in Cubasis as of yet.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:25 pm

So Micrologue is the only instrument that has cents tuning? What happened to ”the included instruments come with appropriate tuning”?
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:43 am

Knastratt wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:25 pm
So Micrologue is the only instrument that has cents tuning? What happened to ”the included instruments come with appropriate tuning”?
Hi Knastratt,

My previous wording was misleading here.

MicroSonic and the MiniSampler does not come with dedicated tuning controls.
Instead, tracks using one of these instruments can be transposed in semitones/octaves via the global transpose function.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:27 pm

So - being promised Cubasis 2 ”is a great companion for your Cubase 10 rig” in the advert is a lie. Seems like 550 SKr was spent for vapoware. Can you understand my frustration? Even a 10 bucks recorder can be tuned.
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:51 am

Knastratt wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:27 pm
So - being promised Cubasis 2 ”is a great companion for your Cubase 10 rig” in the advert is a lie. Seems like 550 SKr was spent for vapoware. Can you understand my frustration? Even a 10 bucks recorder can be tuned.
Hi Knastratt,

Thanks for your message.

I'm sorry to hear that the unavailability of a master tune feature is preventing you from using Cubasis.

To my knowledge, this feature is not common for lots of DAW's (especially on iOS), but maybe I'm wrong here.
Additionally we're not promising anything in this direction, so please do not call us liars.

Please note that Apple handles all App Store purchases.
If you're unsatisfied with the app, please get in touch with Apple and ask them for a refund.

Thanks,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:43 am

You twitch like a maggot. I can live without having global tuning. That is NOT the problem. The problem is that of all instruments in Cubasis only Micrologue has tuning. That is like having an orchestra but only allowed to tune one instrument. Do you understand what I am asking/*quiz* off with? Or do I need to explain it in another way?
Bratwurst

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:52 am

Nevermind. Is there going to be tuning of the other instruments in Cubasis in the near future or should I investigare other solutuions?
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:52 am

Knastratt wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:52 am
Nevermind. Is there going to be tuning of the other instruments in Cubasis in the near future or should I investigare other solutuions?
Hi Knastratt,

Thank you for your message.

There are no plans to introduce further tunings to the existing Cubasis instruments as of yet.
Could it be of any help for you, to use 3rd party instruments in this case, to be connected via Audio Unit?

Best wishes,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Knastratt
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by Knastratt » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:51 am

Yeah, that could be a solution. Inelegant, but working.

Thanks!
Bratwurst

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2842
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Master tuning

Post by LSlowak » Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:59 am

Knastratt wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:51 am
Yeah, that could be a solution. Inelegant, but working.

Thanks!
Hi Knastratt,

Thanks for your feedback.
Glad to hear, this might be a feasible solution for you!

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests