Midi routing from track record to another track

Post Reply
ejoo
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:50 pm
Contact:

Midi routing from track record to another track

Post by ejoo » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:19 pm

Hi,
the following setup:
There are two midi-tracks with Steppolyarpunit as a midi-effect - one for the chords (1), the other for the bass (2). It is possible and working to invoke the next pattern via midi CC21 + number, if send from the tracks midi-record.

The idea:
I wish to sync the two Steppolyarpunits by creating a separate track (3) just for the CC-Signals and route the midi to the chord- and bass-track, so they always change the pattern the same way and I have to edit just once.

The problem:
routing via virtualmidi from recorded midi on track (3) to track(1) and (2) shows no result. Neither via network session. It works via Audiobus. but that seems like overkill for this little task.

The question:
Can I somehow route midi from track (recorded) to another track without the need of an external app?

Thanks in advance

ejoo
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi routing from track record to another track

Post by ejoo » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:15 pm

Well, I accidently stumbled upon an app solving this task without the huge impact of audiobus. Midi Tools from Victor Porof seems to close this gap.

I load it as an "Instrument" on track(3), set it up (destination and channel) and the signals send from there can then be routed into other channels by selecting "virtual midi" and the correct channel. Yay.

That is a big improvement for me, because the routing settings to audiobus got lost every time I closed cubasis or even when sending cubasis into the background.

Of course it would still be nice, if cubasis wouldnt need extra apps for this. But my Problem is no solved with very little effort.

John1289
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi routing from track record to another track

Post by John1289 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:27 am

ejoo wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:15 pm
Well, I accidently stumbled upon an app solving this task without the huge impact of audiobus. Midi Tools from Victor Porof seems to close this gap.

I load it as an "Instrument" on track(3), set it up (destination and channel) and the signals send from there can then be routed into other channels by selecting "virtual midi" and the correct channel. Yay.

That is a big improvement for me, because the routing settings to audiobus got lost every time I closed cubasis or even when sending cubasis into the background.

Of course it would still be nice, if cubasis wouldnt need extra apps for this. But my Problem is no solved with very little effort.
Hello there.nice info.could you please make a video showing the setup?

NoonienS
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Midi routing from track record to another track

Post by NoonienS » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:05 pm

The best way to do this using Midi Tools from AudioVeek is to use the Bus utility. In the following video the dev himself shows how to do this in Cubasis. He’s showing how set up instrument layering, but I would believe you could use the same setup, as long as Midi Tools Bus is setup before the StepPolyArp units.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?time_contin ... ajzgTXj6WQ

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests