Vocals record in mono...but stereo in other apps?

Post Reply
Karmastein
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:50 am
Contact:

Vocals record in mono...but stereo in other apps?

Post by Karmastein » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:57 am

Hi,
Happy New Year.
Just joined.
I can record stereo vocals in Garage Band and BeatMaker 3 on my I pad pro, with my Zoom U 24 audio interface, using one input.
How come only mono recording in Cubasis?
I have tried all input options in Cubasis.
The Zoom is a mono device, but I can record stereo in other apps mentioned.
Thanks,
K

ColinPark
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Vocals record in mono...but stereo in other apps?

Post by ColinPark » Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:22 am

Unless you have a stereo microphone going into a stereo (unbalanced) input, you're getting a mono recording. Most mics are mono, so you get a mono track from that. If you duplicate the mono track, panning one copy left and the other right, it's still mono. Of course, you could do something different with the copy, such as compressing it more aggressively, then it wouldn't be technically mono any more.
Win 10 (64 bit), 3.5GHz i7-4770K, 32GB RAM, Sabertooth Z87, Samsung SSD 850 Pro 512GB, RME fireface UFX, Novation 61SL MkII keyboard controller, Yamaha HS7 monitors. Cubase Pro 10.0.40], HALion 6, HALion Symphonic Orchestra, Dark Planet; Ozone 8 Adv, Neutron 3 Adv, Rx7 Std; Sonarworks Ref 4; Melodyne Studio 4.2.4.001

User avatar
powerobject
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:27 am
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: Vocals record in mono...but stereo in other apps?

Post by powerobject » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:58 pm

The OP is saying he is able to record stereo vocals in other apps using the same hardware but not able to in Cubasis.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3094
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Vocals record in mono...but stereo in other apps?

Post by LSlowak » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:10 pm

Hi Karmastein,

Thanks for your message.

From what I've read the Zoom U-24 comes with 2 mic/line inputs.

Please have a look at the following Cubasis LE tutorial (at around 1:48 minutes), to learn more how to route audio tracks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8t48FZSX60

Depending on your setup and the device in use, you should be able to switch the Audio Inputs from Mono to Stereo.

Hope that helps.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis | Cubasis 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests