Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post Reply
lordoid
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:26 am
Contact:

Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by lordoid » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:01 am

This bug is known for a few years (reported by a few other users) but still not fixed and It needs to be done:

When Cubasis 2 is set to loop mode (let's say a 4 bar audio loop) and is playing along with external midi sequencers or keyboards it looses sync. Cubasis is drifting with each pass of the Loop Point.

I have tested it with different hardware and Cubasis Versions on several iPads with the same result. Other iPad DAWs run fine.


Report:

1. Summary/Title
(Provide a short but descriptive sentence that summaries the issue or feature request)

ANSWER: Cubasis 2 looses midi sync when using loop points

2. Description
(Provide a detailed description and list the step by step process to reproduce the issue to help the team to understand and reproduce the problem)

ANSWER:
A) Create a audio track and name it
B) Add a sample (drum loop) to the track
C) Turn on the Loop points (any measures)
D) Turn on the midi clock out
E) Choose the used midi out device and midi channel
F) Click Play
H) Let the devices play in sync

3. Expected Results
(Describe what you expected to see)

ANSWER: You would expect the Cubasis to stay in sync with external midi device.

4. Actual Results
(Describe what you actually saw)

ANSWER: Cubasis looses sync. Every new round of played loop points grows the time gap. The problem exists no matter how long the time between loop points is (tested 1-8 measures)

5. Environment
(Count the hardware and software including version numbers being used)

ANSWER:
Hardware: iPad 2018
Operating system: iOS 11.4.1
Software: Steinberg Cubasis 2.5
Midi interface: iconnectivity iconnectMidi2+
External midi gear: Bass Station 2, Novation Circuit, Elektron Digitakt

physicalgear
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by physicalgear » Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:22 pm

Hi everybody,
I recently purchased Cubasis (v2.6) for iPad (running iOS 11.4.1) and one of the first things I've tried is MIDI clock sync to external gear, which to my surprise, did not work properly.
I had to learn that the subject had already been discussed on different forums without a solution, so I've decided to do some research too in order to verify if the problem is caused by Cubasis and not by anything connected.

Describing the issue and the scenario to reproduce it is in fact quite easy:
As soon as you enable Setup > MIDI > Send MIDI Clock, set the left and right locators around a few bars and enable loop playback, cubasis will send 24 MIDI clock messages per quarter bar, but at the transition from the end of the looped section to the beginning, Cubasis will send one MIDI clock message too many.
If you set the loop range to exactly one bar for example, during each loop iteration, instead of sending 96 clock ticks, Cubasis will send 97 clock ticks, causing the infamous audible clock shift that increases with each loop cycle.

I had the chance to test the same setup with two older versions of Cubasis (v1.9.8 running on iOS 7.1 and v2.2 running on iOS 8.4) and only the oldest tested version v1.9.8 worked perfectly, sending exactly 96 clock messages per 1-bar loop.
Version 2.2 on iOS 8.4 already showed the same misbehaviour as the current v2.6.
So apparently the issue was introduced in a Cubasis version between v1.9.8 and v2.2.

I hereby kindly ask the Cubasis dev team to have a look at the code changes done between v1.9.8 and v2.2, some little bugger must have found its way into the code ;)

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3121
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by LSlowak » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:17 pm

Hi all,

As mentioned in similar related topics before, our engineering will evaluate the issue.
However ist is not yet clear, if the issue can be addressed with the upcoming Cubasis update.

@ physicalgear
Thanks for the additional info, which will be shared with our engineers.


Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Mojoswifty
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by Mojoswifty » Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:17 pm

I have same problem with my outboard gear as slaves to Cubasis clock all is good unless I loop a section then clock drifts.

jjur
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by jjur » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:52 pm

Hi,
Did 2.7 update fixes it ?
Just want to know is it worth to install Cubasis back again..

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 3121
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by LSlowak » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:27 pm

jjur wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:52 pm
Hi,
Did 2.7 update fixes it ?
Just want to know is it worth to install Cubasis back again..
Hi jjur,

Thanks for your message.

Unfortunately, we have been unable to address the issue in the current 2.7 update.
Please have a look at the Cubasis 2.7 announcement to find the full list of improvements and fixes included in the update.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

jjur
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by jjur » Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:56 pm

Thank you for response.
Yes, I have read report and I noticed that some MIDI fetures were upgraded.
So just little light of hope appears that it will finally starts working fine with mobile setup.
JJ

seanrieger
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:00 am
Contact:

Re: Bug Report: MIDI timing issue Cubasis Loop Mode

Post by seanrieger » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:11 am

Thanks for acknowledging this bug. I am experiencing it as well and can verify that the steps mentioned above recreate the issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis | Cubasis 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests