[SOLVED] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Dog and Pony » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:36 pm

I'm having this same problem but it did not materialize until I updated Nuendo to the latest version. Based on that I would think that Steinberg broke something as I was on iOS 10.3.1 and had iC Pro working fine prior to updating to Nuendo 7.1.35.
5 systems with N7, N8, Cubase 9.5, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:46 pm

I only had it immediately after the iOS update. I am using Cubase and there have not been any updates for a while.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:19 pm

I'm running whatever the latest version of Cubase Pro 9 is, and it was working for me prior to the 10.3 update on my iPad.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

glainin
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by glainin » Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:07 pm

Hi all,

I didn't think it was a ios problem and opened a new thread. I see lots of people have the same problem as me. As I mentioned in my post, have you guys tried to connect when Cubase has no open project? Because in my case it works, and as soon as I open a project, it disconnects.

I also submitted a ticket more than a month ago and noone answered, just like other friends here said, this is a paid product and comes from Steinberg. We are the customers, I dont care who fixes it, but there should be a place to submit tickets or call for support. This is very unprofessional, I am vastly disappointed.

I am using teamviewer, it's not ideal but serves my purpose until this is fixed. If it ever is fixed.

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:10 am

glainin wrote:I didn't think it was a ios problem and opened a new thread. I see lots of people have the same problem as me. As I mentioned in my post, have you guys tried to connect when Cubase has no open project? Because in my case it works, and as soon as I open a project, it disconnects.
I can confirm this. Not that it appears Steinberg cares.

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:01 pm

glainin wrote:I am using teamviewer, it's not ideal but serves my purpose until this is fixed. If it ever is fixed.
I'm using RDP (Windows Remote Desktop) for this and it has a setting to play sound on host machine (or something like that). This needs to be set if you're using this RDP. I'm not sure if Teamviewer has this setting/problem or not. Also for this reason, I couldn't use Chrome Remote Desktop.

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:06 pm

I'm able to use RDP as well, and that was initially my remote solution. However, the laptop has a fan, so I went with an iPad approach to avoid that noise.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:02 pm

Microsoft has an RDP client for iPad which is what I use. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microso ... 64092?mt=8

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:04 pm

andydnr wrote:Microsoft has an RDP client for iPad which is what I use. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microso ... 64092?mt=8
That's an interesting thought, thanks.

Have you tested to see if it still works in 10.3?
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:19 pm

ChrisDuncan wrote:
andydnr wrote:Microsoft has an RDP client for iPad which is what I use. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microso ... 64092?mt=8
That's an interesting thought, thanks.

Have you tested to see if it still works in 10.3?
It's working fine from my iPad with 10.3.1. Although I would usually recommend TeamViewer, in this case it's one less thing to install on my DAW since RDP is already built into Windows. By default, it adjusts the resolution of your "monitor" to the client's resolution which is a plus so I'm not dealing with a super zoomed out screen or scrolling around a screen like with TeamViewer.

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:24 pm

andydnr wrote:
ChrisDuncan wrote:
andydnr wrote:Microsoft has an RDP client for iPad which is what I use. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microso ... 64092?mt=8
That's an interesting thought, thanks.

Have you tested to see if it still works in 10.3?
It's working fine from my iPad with 10.3.1. Although I would usually recommend TeamViewer, in this case it's one less thing to install on my DAW since RDP is already built into Windows. By default, it adjusts the resolution of your "monitor" to the client's resolution which is a plus so I'm not dealing with a super zoomed out screen or scrolling around a screen like with TeamViewer.
Excellent, I'll be giving that a try tonight. Thanks!
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:44 pm

andydnr wrote:
ChrisDuncan wrote:
andydnr wrote:Microsoft has an RDP client for iPad which is what I use. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microso ... 64092?mt=8
That's an interesting thought, thanks.

Have you tested to see if it still works in 10.3?
It's working fine from my iPad with 10.3.1. Although I would usually recommend TeamViewer, in this case it's one less thing to install on my DAW since RDP is already built into Windows. By default, it adjusts the resolution of your "monitor" to the client's resolution which is a plus so I'm not dealing with a super zoomed out screen or scrolling around a screen like with TeamViewer.
After connecting, when starting Cubase I get an error that "this Steinberg product does not support basic and high contrast themes," suggesting that I use an Aero theme - but the computer is in fact running an Aero them, not basic / high contrast.

Did you encounter this, and if so do you know how to resolve it?
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:51 pm

ChrisDuncan wrote:Did you encounter this, and if so do you know how to resolve it?
No, but I'm on Win 10.

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:39 pm

Got it sorted. I tested with remote desktop from another PC and got the same results. I know it's been working, but I realized I've never tried to launch Cubase while in an RDP session. So, I started Cubase locally and then connected via RDP and it works from both my desktop and the iPad app.

I'll have to fool around a bit with workspaces to get something optimized for the tablet but this may do the trick.

Thanks again for the idea, I'd completely overlooked that option.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2732
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by LSlowak » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:28 pm

Please see here: viewtopic.php?f=174&t=116603

Thanks,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

andeez01
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andeez01 » Sat May 06, 2017 5:20 pm

DAW Remote HD is my workaround

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Sun May 07, 2017 5:36 pm

andeez01 wrote:DAW Remote HD is my workaround
I took a look at it in the App store and noticed that it hasn't been updated since 2012. It also requires the installation of rtpMIDI in Windows.

That aside, if this supports the full Mackie Control protocol, is there a reason you'd rather use the Cubase app (since you mention DAW Remote is your workaround) than DAW Remote?

Don't see myself spending money on an app that's just a workaround until SB fixes the iC Pro bug, but if it offers better functionality then it might be worth the money.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

buhardilla
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by buhardilla » Wed May 17, 2017 7:47 pm

iOS 10.3.2 released and PROBLEM FIXED!!!! :P
Now CuabseicPro works nice
MacPro 3.3 GHz 6-CoreXeon, 32Gb RAM, OS 10.12.6 / RME PCIe AiO / Softube Console 1
Nuendo 8.3. || Digital Performer 9.5 || Harrison Mixbus 32C || VEP 6

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Wed May 17, 2017 9:50 pm

Hasn't solved it for me. I might try re-installing
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Wed May 17, 2017 9:55 pm

I tried reinstalling the app - it connected for about 5 seconds then failed again. I am not totally surprised - there was nothing I have read in the 10.3.2 update that addresses the wifi issue.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Wed May 17, 2017 10:15 pm

Joss wrote:I tried reinstalling the app - it connected for about 5 seconds then failed again. I am not totally surprised - there was nothing I have read in the 10.3.2 update that addresses the wifi issue.
I tried a variety of other things short of reinstalling the app, with the same problems.

I put full details of my attempts in the thread above that Lars posted if it's useful to anyone else to know what didn't work.

As I mentioned to Lars, I also have a Yamaha TF5 mixer, and neither of their iPad apps have had any connection problems regardless of iOS version, so I think there's more going on than just 10.3.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Wed May 17, 2017 10:21 pm

I read your post. To be fair to the app, it was working fine before and has not been updated for some time. I gather that there are other apps (non-steinberg) that are also affected by the same problem

Part of the issue is that 10.3.2 went beta before the problem surfaced, so I wasn't expecting a solution.

I suspect that we are looking towards iOS 11 in the summer. Depressingly!
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Wed May 17, 2017 10:24 pm

I can see the issue from both sides of the street. As a paying customer it's frustrating to no longer be able to use the software. However, I sling code for a living, so I also understand what the devs are going through.

In the immortal words of Homer Simpson,

"Stupid computers. Stupid Flanders." :)
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by ChrisDuncan » Wed May 17, 2017 10:29 pm

Joss wrote:I gather that there are other apps (non-steinberg) that are also affected by the same problem
The reason I passed along the TF app info to him was the fact that some apps are still working with iOS 10.3 while others are broken by it.

As a professional developer, this makes me think there's more than one way to set up the network code, with the way Yamaha does it being perhaps more robust than the way the apps victimized by the iOS update do it.

Since other apps have survived 10.3 with their connectivity intact, it suggests that a coding solution is possible without waiting on another iOS version from Apple.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Sun May 21, 2017 12:59 pm

ChrisDuncan wrote:Since other apps have survived 10.3 with their connectivity intact, it suggests that a coding solution is possible without waiting on another iOS version from Apple.
I suppose it depends on whether the connectivity side is modular or whether it is intrinsic to the entire app. I suspect that it is the latter since everything about using the app requires a constant update. And there is also the remote software on the host machine too.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

Locked

Return to “Cubase iC Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest